1993 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 7 of 21

1993 Ford Escort LX Wagon 1.9 SEFI from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 SEFI Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired127000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Great reliability with low running cost!

Faults:

I do brakes, oil, filters, and grease regularly.

New clutch at 115000.

Left strut broke at 134000.

Right strut broke at 140000.

Cooling fan failure that neither I nor mechanics can figure out (does not affect motor performance).

Heater core dying at 145000.

Starter motor wearing out at 145000.

General Comments:

This is a great student car with high reliability and moderate comfort.

These motors will run forever with basic maintenance.

Though horsepower is low, supplement with a stick shift.

Gas mileage is 35mpg overall. Straight highway driving has been as high as 40 for me. I highly recommend Escorts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2006

1993 Ford Escort CLX 1.8 16-valve DOCH from Finland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 16-valve DOCH Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Recommendable at least for the first car

Faults:

Rear windscreen wiper does not always engage, when I use it.

Drivers electric seat heater does not work.

Otherwise, it has been totally reliable.

General Comments:

I bought the car in January 2006 and I have been driving it since April 2006, when I got my driving license. I am 18, you see.

I am very fortunate to own this car which is not too old or too new. It looks very good for its age and I personally like it. Also, I have heard my friends commenting it in a positive way.

The car is 3-door model and the colour is metallic green. It does not have any rust spots and it has been rust protected every four year. It has been also washed and waxed often.

The cars MOT is due to soon and it remains to be seen how good condition the chassis will be.

The car handles quiet good, for as far as I can tell, and the interior is roomy. Interior materials are good for a car of this age, and the dashboard is easy to use, no special gimmicks here. What I really like is the interior colour which is beige and quiet impressive, in my opinion. A Downside is that you have to keep an eye out to its condition.

All in all, it's a good place to be at.

The car was bought in new by an old gentleman, who did not have it a long, because he died and it was inherited by his son. The person from whom I bought the car had bought it from the brother and now it is in my possession.

The engine has enough power for my needs. Fuel economy is just average for 1.8 litres, but I think it could be a lot worse than that.

Right now, I am very pleased to my Escort and hope that it will serve me in a good way. Faults have been less annoying than I would expect, and they can be fixed easily. To sum up, Escort is a good transport to my needs as a first car. If you are looking a second-hand car, take count the Escort because as a car, it is not as bad as you could think.

I Will report if anything goes wrong with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2006

24th Jun 2007, 13:59

UPDATE: I have been driving the car over a year and half after I made the review. The car is and has been performing flawlessly and I am more than pleased with my car, as I was over a year ago.

I have driven the car over 10,000 km in a year and it has 127,000 on the clock right now (June 2007). It has been totally reliable and has exceeded my expectations more than once. It still has no visible rust and the chassis is also in good condition regarding the rust. Interior is also in good condition.

I have been noticing that it will use quiet lot of petrol, and althought I havenĀ“t bothered to test the consumption, I would suspect that the average is somewhere 7-8l/100 km.

I am still very fond about my car and I hope to squeeze quit a lot of miles from it from years to come.

7th Oct 2010, 03:06

Update: Yesterday, I took my car to a car mechanic to be serviced before I take it to its annual MOT inspection that we have in Finland. It seems that my car has developed a lot of faults and it is going to cost somewhere around 1000 euros to fix those.

My car is worth 1000 euros or maybe even less, but it seems that I have to scrap it in December this year when the MOT is due. This is really irritating because the car has been really reliable to this point, never had anything other than regular service done to it.

I am really sad to see it go.

17th Nov 2010, 07:40

Update:

The car doesn't need lots of repair work, so I think that it's spared for at least some time, for now.

24th Oct 2013, 14:04

Original owner here!

I sold the car in the beginning of 2012 to a girl who just got her driving license. She needed a car to commute to study in the Helsinki region. I got 1000 euros for it and bought a 2004 three door Nissan Almera.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 82 reviews