1995 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 27 of 29

1995 Ford Escort GT 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Summary:

Inexpensive, reliable, and surprisingly quick

Faults:

The climate control lever does not move past floor selection. It feels like its path is being obstructed or the cable isn't long enough... know what I mean?

General Comments:

I had a new 1989 Ford Escort GT and loved it in my college days. I purchased this 1995 GT from the original owner who was 80 years old and had been running synthetic oil on the motor since it was new.

For a small car it's great. Not a vette by any means - the 5 speed manual and 1.8 L combo is surprisingly peppy - and at 2500 or so she moves along pretty good. I have taken her to 90 MPH and the car still wants to go - it feels most comfortable (and safe) below the 80 MPH range. Overall it's a cheap to buy, cheap to operate, cute litte car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

8th Mar 2004, 13:05

I think the Ford Escort GT 1995 is a good car. I personally think that it is a good car to race when you set it up right. My car works great and it rides really well.

27th Apr 2004, 19:44

Hey just wanted to tell you that the climate control lever is adjustable. my hot to cold lever wouldn't go all the way hot, since I adjusted the wires, it goes all the way hot and now its AC is even colder. just buy the service manual from auto zone.

7th Apr 2008, 14:04

Just 90? It'll pull it's way to 115 and still call for more (though the engine will hit the rev limiter soon after that :-).

7th Aug 2008, 01:36

115? Mine goes all the way to 200km/h (125mph). And it still wants to go just a bit faster. Your gearing must be different in the U.S. to hit the limiter so soon.

1995 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Precis

Summary:

Reliable transportation and great value

Faults:

No malfunctions have occurred, but there is a very slight leak from the oil pan which I noticed prior to purchasing the car, it has not become significantly worse during the past year.

The radiator developed a minor leak at 85,000 which was quickly remedied with some powdered sealant lubricant.

General Comments:

This vehicle is in showroom condition and rides better than our 1999 Mercury Villager van, an attribute which may be attributable to these Pep Boys house brand radials which are made by Cooper.

I remain perplexed as to why these struts have not required replacement, maybe it has something to do with the car's light weight.

Ford should have dumped these automatic seat shoulder restraints long ago, but that feature is a carry over from the Mazda heritage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

1995 Ford Escort LX Sport 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Piece of junk

Faults:

Alternator failed at about 40,000 miles.

Gear shift lock broke at about 54,000 miles. had to use the manual override every time I wanted to drive.

The engine TOTALLY BROKE at 58,000 miles. It had regular maintenance, oil changes, tune-ups, etc. But at 58,000 miles, it died while I was on the freeway. Crank shaft or piston _broke_, and I was faced with replacing the engine or the car. I chose to replace the CAR.

General Comments:

I think this car sucks. I had it nearly 6 years, 58,000 miles and it died on me. Cars these days really ought to last longer than that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

1995 Ford Escort Cosworth 2.0 turbo 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6978 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A pocket rocket

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car toped out at over 165mph at a track day last year thanks to its 540bhp. It also hits 60 in 4.1secs so I've no complaints other than the cost of the conversion - £25,000+. The wife won't see this will she?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

23rd Jul 2001, 03:35

Who cares about the wife when you've got a 540 Cossie?

Good lad!

7th Nov 2003, 11:59

Yet another XXXX who's killed an Escort Cosworth. Words can't express how much I hate people like you.

1995 Ford Escort GT 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 kilometres
Most recent distance115000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Fast, economical car

Faults:

Nothing so far, but it's fairly new (to me)...

General Comments:

All things considered, this car is great. It has a good amount of pep (especially after 4K RPM), high-torque, quick response engine (for beating those Honda's!), great styling (with the exception of the orange reflectors on the back), almost perfect comfort, and a relatively low running cost. Also, there is a lot more cargo space than you would think from looking at the car.

Unfortunately, the fuel economy is a bit higher that what I would expect for the car(about 10L/100km). I think I need to take it in for a tune-up, perhaps they can pinpoint something that's causing this.

Also, when travelling at high speeds (and accelerating, but this is a good thing!), the car tends to be very noisy.

The seats are a bit hard, as well.

There is a flat spot between first and second gear because of the automatic (yuck) transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

29th Dec 2000, 04:13

Driving at high revs and then complaining about the consumption?????

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 100 reviews