1995 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 28 of 29

1995 Ford Escort Encore 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Big waste of money

Faults:

Brakes squeak all the time, this is very annoying.

Two weeks after I bought the car the alternator overcharged the battery and broke (the dealer tryed to force me to pay for the battery).

Uneven tire wear.

Air bag light keeps flashing.

General Comments:

Ford dealers need shooting! They are unhelpful, arrogant and they always blame the owner for the various faults which occur with the car. I will never get a car from a Ford dealer again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2000

25th Dec 2000, 13:34

I've just bought an Escort Encore, and while I agree Ford dealers are less than useful, the car is faultless! Reliable, comfortable, and a sensible price to buy and insure. I would recommend it very highly to anyone.

10th Aug 2002, 17:09

I also agree about Ford dealers they are arrogant, unhelpful and unfriendly, but my Escort is the best car I have ever bought, it is reliable, comfortable and a pleasure to drive and own.

7th Oct 2005, 12:26

Your brakes squeak because you are using a low quality brake pad.

Unfortunate about the dealership.

Uneven tire wear, you need an alignment.

The air bag light keeps flashing because there is a spring (with a current) in the steering wheel that makes contact with the air bag; when the spring gets sticky (loses contact) the light comes on.

I hope these help you fix your car.

1995 Ford Escort LX 1.6 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra TDS

Summary:

Not bad for a family car

Faults:

So far I am on engine number 2 after the first one packed up after only 79,000 miles.

Gearbox selector bracket snapped, a quick job with a welder fixed that.

Water pump packed in.

Driver's door lock stopped working and the driver's seat side lumbars have collapsed.

General Comments:

Not a bad car if not a bit flat in the low revs. Soon sorted it with an exhaust, Superchip and induction kit - now it will give things like VTRs a good seeing to. After about 4500rpm it flies but not good for off the traffic lights runs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th August, 2000

7th Jun 2004, 22:24

They do fly after you get them up there, but be careful, I took my car up there one too many times and I blew a cylinder, but mines a 1995 5speed and only has 119 horse power, and it starts red lining at 6000rpms, so yours probably sits higher I'm not sure though, glad your having fun with yours, mines in the shop getting a knew cylinder or whatever it is. lol. ;)

1995 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

It has done rather well

Faults:

Water pump went out at 100,000 miles, timing chain acted bad at 110,000 miles, wipers malfunctioned after a winter storm at 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has been a good car and is quite excellent on mileage at 30mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

1995 Ford Escort RS Cosworth 4x4 Lux Bored out to 2.1 litre 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission Bored out to 2.1 litre 16v
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Only things being stolen like wheel nut covers, indicators (side) and the Cosworth badge. That's it.

General Comments:

The best car I have + Dad, uncles, mates have ever driven considering it has 536.9 bhp and a 0-62 time of 3.5. It is also the bestest looking car in the world especially with 18 inch Rondell wheels. Buy one, you will never regret it until you see the insurance bill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 1999

16th May 2002, 07:38

Agree, the Cossie is probably the best looking car I have seen - especially with those Rondells!

Performance figures look amazing, 0-60 in 3.5 - scary!

The Escort Cosworth is king.

1995 Ford Escort LX Sport 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 1.9
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

-Ignition Switch failed @ 60,000 miles

-Seat Belt (motorized) intermittent failure

-Premature tire wear @ 30,000 miles

-RR window defroster switch failed @ 55,000 miles

-Nasty vibration in front end that dealer cannot identify

-Oil pan leaking @ 85,000 miles

-Finish on aluminum wheels peeling @45,000 miles

General Comments:

You might get the impression from the list of things that went wrong that this is a bad car. Quite the opposite, except for that vibration, it has been dead reliable. The Ford dealer body leaves a lot to be desired. The product is great but when entering the dealership is only slightly more desirable than having a root canal, Ford has a real problem. I wish that the car was smoother, quieter, and a little quicker. I love the gas mileage and the manueverability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 100 reviews