1996 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 10 of 14

1996 Ford Escort LX 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Great Everyday Car

Faults:

Radiator developed a leak around 60,000 miles. I had it replaced and haven't had any more problems.

Driver's side automatic seatbelt broke in the forward position. My dad and I got one from a junkyard stuck in the back position so I at least have a seatbelt even if I have to pull it over my head.

Clip for the lap belt on the driver's side broke.

I got the timing belt and water pump replaced at 90,000 just as a precaution.

General Comments:

I love this car. I've taken it on long trips with no problems. I do have to make sure I watch my speed on long trips or I easily go 20 to 30 miles over the speed limit.

It has great city gas mileage.

It does lose a lot of power when I use the air conditioning.

I love how much space the hatchback gives me. It's amazing what you can pack into this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

3rd Aug 2004, 11:02

I purchased my 1996 Ford Escort Wagon in 1999. It had a little over 39,000 miles on it. It now has almost 126,000. The speedometer is not the greatest, a sensor in the gas tank went bad, and few other odd things are wrong, but I have no complaints. In the past 3 years I have put a new radiator and timing belt in it. These are the only major things I have had done to it, beside standard maintenance.

It just recently started loosing power going up hill, but the garage does not think it is the clutch, so I am trying to find out what it is. I only happens occasionally.

All in all, I love it.

1996 Ford Escort RS2000 2 Litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2 Litre petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55 miles
Most recent distance58 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A reliable quick road rocket!

Faults:

Worn front lower wishbones.

New battery, as previous had come to the end of its life.

New front brake discs and pads due to excessive wear.

General Comments:

Very quick for a naturally aspirated engine.

Handles very taught and confident.

Interior is typically classy with recaro seats and swooping dash..

This production year, yields more refinements that previous incarnations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2003

1996 Ford Escort LX from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance163000 miles

Summary:

A nightmare on wheels

Faults:

The car did not come with any hazard lights.

The alignment of the car will not stay fixed.

Rear window defroster is slow to react.

Trunk does not open easily, and there is no lever to pop the trunk.

The speedometer would wave wildly at speeds above 45mph.

The "Check Engine" and "Check Coolant" lights are always on.

The seat belt stuck on driver's side.

When idle and applying the brakes, the car rattles and vibrates.

Gas Gauger would waver like the speedometer.

General Comments:

The car was adequate as a first vehicle for new drivers.

The car handles well in city or highway traffic. However, it has trouble going up hills.

The car was very economical in regards to gas mileage.

The interior of the car was very comfortable for a two door.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2003

27th Sep 2007, 23:49

Wow I really don't think you know what you are talking about... it didn't come with hazard lights? what sort of in bred monkey did you buy it from?

1996 Ford Escort LX 1.9 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired106500 miles
Most recent distance108250 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A small sporty box

Faults:

First, I had a clutch put in it.

Second, My timing belt snapped.

Then, The air conditioner hoses blew off.

Recently, I had another clutch put in it because my brother drove it and burnt the clutch clear to the rivets.

Along with that, the flywheel was shot.

General Comments:

Good gas mileage.

Car is quick and handles nice, but could be more stable in the turns. The car caould take bump a lot easier also.

Great interior. Maybe 3-4 burn holes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2003

1996 Ford Escort Mexico 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A good reliable all rounder

Faults:

Alarm

Ball joint.

General Comments:

A good all round mile eater which wasn't caused me any major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

1996 Ford Escort Cabaret 1.8TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8TD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 100

Summary:

Cheap and a good performer

Faults:

Driver's side electric window has stopped working.

No other faults :-)

General Comments:

For a diesel car it is no slouch and rarely sluggish, and it also holds its own against petrol cars I've driven for my company. Acceleration right through the gears is very good, and cruising at 50mph in 5th and then slightly giving the engine some juice brings a reassuring whistle from the turbo and a nice increase in speed. Very cheap runner, easily around the 45-50 mpg for me and I'm hardly a slow driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 53 reviews