1997 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 17 of 18

1997 Ford Escort Si Sport 1.6 Zetec (Tuned) from Norway

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Zetec (Tuned) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired81340 kilometres
Most recent distance99200 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

It's a really good car

Faults:

Had to change brakes, when I tuned the engine.

I was involved in an car accident, and my Escort was crunched in the front.

General Comments:

After I changed the air filters (K&N) and chipped the car, it really started to be fast. I don't know how many HP I have got now, but the car is faster than before.

For best performance use 195/50R15 Dunlop R9000 tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2001

26th May 2001, 11:20

How much does it cost to chip the car, can all Si's be chipped? I just bought one and think it's OK, but it could do with a bit more get up and go.

1997 Ford Escort CLX 1.6 from Turkey

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 kilometres
Most recent distance87000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Applause

Summary:

I really recommend an Escort

Faults:

I had problems with a by-pass ventilator.

On the 49,000th kilometer the clutch broke down while I was driving at 160 km/h.

I had to change the brake-discs because of the cracks on the surface.

I still have problems with the by-pass ventilator and oxygen sensor.

Fuse box has some problems.

Some accessories like A/C, rear-screen and wind-screen wipers may stop working without any reason.

General Comments:

In spite of all the serious problems I had and high costs of servicing, it is really a good car (still looks more attractive than the Focus).

Suspension and handling characteristics are really good and its torque is high on low revs.

I am planning to buy an XR3i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2001

7th Sep 2001, 12:17

Hi, I own an Escort CLX 1.4i 1997, I have it over a year with no real problems.. but over the last few weeks I have noticed what sounds like a hollow sound coming from the back right hand wheel... I've only recently got a new exhaust on it so it's not that.. have you any suggestions..???

Row.

6th Feb 2002, 16:41

My catalytic converter went with only 29,000 on the clock of a '97 model. Very disappointed at Ford's response.

1997 Ford Escort Si 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

Best value Escort available

Faults:

Rear and front nearside wheel bearings needed replacing at 40K.

Front suspension bushes at 32K.

Otherwise fine.

General Comments:

A reliable solid car, good driving position, suspension provides a firm but sporty ride, excellent seats in the Si.

Performance is OK, but I think it's breathless under hard acceleration.

Cabin rattles more with age and cold weather.

Scheduled servicing reasonable, but as with all franchised dealers, watch for those little extra jobs, which can double the service charges.

Just get in and drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2000

8th Jun 2004, 07:42

I have a 95 ford escort Si 1.6 and find it a brilliant car, except it is starting to give a lot of trouble. diagnostics chip is gone which is the worst. bout 700 new. apparently ford knew there was a problem with these, but continued with this model for the si for 3 months, because of this this is the only ford I will ever buy.

2nd Jul 2004, 07:45

I have a 95 si, and it is my second escort I find nice to drive although a tad sluggish. at 58,000 miles it now needs a new fuse box and possibly immobiliser. although it has these problems I would recommend it; Jay.

8th Mar 2005, 05:21

I agree with everything said on previous comments, but beware I had an accident in mine at 85,000 miles and although the airbag light went off on starting the aurbag did not deploy at 40MPH glad I wasn't going any faster.

24th Sep 2006, 10:19

I have owned previous escorts and currently have a 96 Si. Performance wise from the 1600 isn't bad, but isn't great. Interior very nice and exterior has obviously been worked on. Smooth ride until I needed new rear shocks/springs and front lower arms. Keep them serviced and they seem fine would definitely recommend!

18th Feb 2007, 02:49

Great car, had it 3 months though, and its starting to cost loads to keep on the road. 85k on the clock and needs a new clutch also wheel bearing rumble is evident. Even so, still impressed with this sporty economy estate.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 76 reviews