1997 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 18 of 18

1997 Ford Escort Si 1.8i 16V petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8i 16V petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11595 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta 1.1LX

Summary:

A good high-speed car with a crap dealer

Faults:

Door strips have fallen off.

Dealer took the locking wheelnuts off before I picked it up so I only had 3 wheelnuts on each alloy.

Exhaust backbox had a huge hole in the bottom of it.

General Comments:

I love the car! Do not get me wrong, I absolutely love this car but the dealer was absolutely crap. I bought the car and the dealer didn't want to know after the finance was paid. The service dept were brilliant and did everything in their power to help me out. I complained to Ford Customer Services in Halewood who gave the Sales Manager a good kicking and got the problems sorted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

1st May 2001, 03:43

Write Ford about your Dealer.

1997 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta XR2i

Summary:

1.8 GLX with spoiler and GTi badge + costs

Faults:

Fuel filter.

New clutch.

Brakes seem to wear rapidly.

General Comments:

I was disappointed with this compared to my previous car, I thought that a GTi would be quick but it was hardly faster than my XR2i.

Also the handling was disappointing, it has firmer springs than a standard Escort but the ride height is same, lots of wallow through corners. My mate has a 1.8 16v GLX, and apart from the alloys and spoiler there was not much difference.

Considering the high insurance cost I would not say that this was a bargain, you pay a GTi premium for just a bit quicker than a family saloon.

If you want a proper GTi from Ford get an RS2000, now that is a "hot" hatch

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2000

1997 Ford Escort 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Generic crap, avoid this car if you can!

Faults:

Tires wear unevenly, car stalls all the time in traffic. Insides are falling apart.

General Comments:

It was cheap and now I see why.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th August, 2000

1st May 2001, 03:44

This problem is common is specific regions. Write Ford and tell them all about it.

4th May 2009, 18:27

I have a 97 2.0 Escort that has run great for a year. Then all of a sudden my speedometer does a dance and the car dies. Changed the battery and the alternator, but it drains dead in the morning. Has 137000 miles and this is the first big problem. Any clues?

11th May 2009, 17:59

I brought my car to the garage and found the draw on the battery was the radio! I guess when my alternator blew it also blew the fuse on the radio, but not completely so it was going to ground. Or maybe the radio just went bad. All fixed I hope.

3rd Jun 2009, 17:59

Well, it WASN'T the radio. It was a BAD ALTERNATOR. Not only one, but two!

1997 Ford Escort 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles

Summary:

Thank god for the warranty

Faults:

Head gasket blown twice now, front rotors warped causing front brakes to go out constantly.

Electrical short in wiring harness causing A/C to malfunction.

General Comments:

Thank god for the warranty, I'm getting rid of this thing as soon as I can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

1st May 2001, 03:45

Write Ford before you sell the car to someone. Tell them about your car and your dealer.

22nd Feb 2009, 19:07

Your head is warped if your head gaskets keep going. Unless it's caused by constantly overheating due to low coolant/air lock.

1997 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

The best car I have ever had

Faults:

Replaced the brakes.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car that I have ever owned or have ever driven. I love my car, I liked it so much that I just traded it in on the new ZX2 S/R, I hope that the reliablity comes with me.

Great car, better than all the cars in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

1997 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0L Zetec VCT from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0L Zetec VCT Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance40500 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird STD

Summary:

A great performing economy car

Faults:

Nothing but regular maintenance.

General Comments:

This car is great.

0-60 in 8 seconds (manual transmission) is enough to beat most cars in its class in a drag race, if you're into that sort of thing. Very confident handling and excellent brake feel. The shifter is a little notchy, but it's never hard to find and hit the gears. Very sporty design. Variable camshaft timing allows the engine to produce most of its torque at low rpm, so it pulls great throughout its entire range.

Tall drivers (6'0 or taller) might feel a little uncomfortable driving this car, though.

Excellent cargo space due to split-folding rear seats.

Good gas mileage (26/33 EPA). I've gone up to 310 miles with one gallon left in the tank once (12.8 gallon tank).

Stay away from the automatic, though. Fords are known for having problematic automatic transmissions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2000

1997 Ford Escort LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A complete bloody nightmare

Faults:

There is a fault with the automatic gearbox on Escorts of this year, so much so that they are no longer made. The car creeps forward in 'drive', and revs itself when you are not touching the pedal, this is not classed as dangerous by Ford, just a 'known fault'. This fault can be temporarily rectified at a cost of almost £1200 to the owner, although in the end, Ford did eventually pay half, they also stated that this problem will 'probably re-occur'. When I bought the car in March no-one knew anything about this fault, but now that I am trying to sell the whole world seems to know, and no-one will touch it with a barge pole.

BEWARE - DO NOT BUY A LATE REGISTERED FORD ESCORT WITH AN AUTOMATIC GEARBOX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2000

25th Sep 2003, 21:37

Umm, automatics are supposed to creep forward. The engine idles at around 500-1000 rpm and this puts "just" enough force on the torque converter to make the car very slowly creep forward unless you put the brakes on lightly. Have you never driven an automatic before or what?

As for the revving, are you sure it isn't a sticky throttle cable? Or a dirty fuel filter. Surging (revving) can happen just as easily in any other car with any other engine.

1997 Ford Escort Cabriolet 1.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.8i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Just had general servicing (which is a huge rip off).

Also had to have damage repairs by a Ford recognised repairer, nothing but loads of hassle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 76 reviews