1998 Ford Escort ZX2 Sport 2.0 from North America


I love this thing


The vents would close by themselves when the A/C was turned on.

When sitting at a red light, sometimes the car would stall out.

It started running like a whipped dog so I replaced the fuel injectors, then it ran fine.

The dealership basically refuses to fix anything.

General Comments:

I love my little car.

It is very fast on the takeoff, I have put a few modifications on it.

I could not have asked for a better car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

14th Feb 2005, 07:18

My 1998 ford escort runs fine and it has 152,002 miles and that's why I like my zrx.

1998 Ford Escort GT 1.6 DOHC from UK and Ireland


Good car for looks and tuning


Nothing had or has gone wrong with it since I bought it.

For a 1.6 GT limited edition though, it is slow from 0 to 60, but has good mid range torgue all the way up the gears. Does tend to loose revs between gear changes.

It has good comfortable seats and leather interior with white dials and all the other usual styling for a GT or GTi.

General Comments:

The 1.6i GT does not handle too well on its own springs, so they were changed and handling really improved. The original shocks are not able to handle the lowering, bushings started to soften and there was a little play in the movement of the shocks as a result. Cracking and banging noises can be heard driving into and out of corners. Problem solved by upgrading the bushings and replacing the shocks.

Oversized steering wheel is a pain in the ass and with no height or rack adjustment, it had power assisted steering so there is no need for the big steering wheel.

If I was to buy another Escort it would have to be an RS model as the Honda 1.5i SOHC I have would leave this one for dust.

Otherwise a good car, but really does not deserve the GT badge. A standard Zetec engine and coloured coded bumpers, white dials, alloys and leather interior does not class it as a GT if it does not have the BHP and torque to match the older XR3i models. I have raced against an 89 XR3i and it was lacking grunt even though there was 9 years between the cars. The 8 valve XR3i had a stronger and better engine in my opinion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2001

21st Aug 2001, 13:20

It's not a 1.6, it's a 1.8.

14th Dec 2002, 19:19

Ford did actually make a 1.6 gti, but they are quite rare and therefore unheard of.

1998 Ford Escort Si 1.8 from UK and Ireland





General Comments:

The car goes really well compared to my old 1.1 Fiesta. The best thing about it is the colour - bright red, well smart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 Zetec from UK and Ireland


The first GTi from Ford - spot on!


Replaced brake discs & pads.

New near-side lower suspension arm.

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned. Well done to Ford for their first ever GTi model car!!

Handles very well and looks great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

4th Dec 2003, 16:15

I own a 3 door Ford Escort 1800i Zetec, limited edition "Formula 1, nr 363/500". A sharp-looking, styled car, unlike most escorts, which handles great and can keep up with most 2 liter cars, despite it's modest 85KW/115HP. But I don't understand why you call it a GTi! This car has an DoubelOverHeadCamschaft-engine with directly injected fuel, but no turbo. So why call it a GTi?

10th Dec 2003, 16:49

A GTI doesn't need a turbo, GT stands for Grand Tourer and the I is for injection. i.e. How the engine is fueled.

7th Nov 2005, 08:16

Does'nt deserve a gti badge,

1998 Ford Escort LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland




Transmission, gearbox chewed itself up at 38000 miles. One does not expect to replace a gearbox at this interval!

General Comments:

Very harsh clutch.

Dreadful gear box failure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2001

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 Sport 2.0 Zetec from North America


Neat little car that needs more power



General Comments:

I have auto-crossed the car with absolute domination in the 2L and under stock class at my local autocross club.

I have set 2 hill-climb records with it for the stock class of the Northwest Hillclimb Association.

I have used the car at drivers schools and track days for serious club (Cobra, Viper, Audi, etc.) events and it has NEVER been an embarrassment (oh yeah, I am a performance driving instructor, too). Unfortunately, the 104 MPH speed limiter keeps the fun down. Porterfield carbon-kevlar brake pads took car of the poor stock brakes and have given exceptional service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

23rd Feb 2003, 18:15

I would like to say I don't understand why this fellow thinks the ZX2 hasn't enough power. I just got one, and it flies with the wind! I am about to have installed, a new muffler system which should serve to increase it's performance even more. I guess if you've flown a 707, a ZX2 would prove to be "slow".

Thank you.

7th Nov 2006, 23:12

Somewhere in the center console you'll find a single green (I believe) wire. Clip it to disable the speed limiter. If I remember correctly the wire is just looped back through the console from the computer.