1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8i from UK and Ireland


An Escort marvel?


Nothing at all apart from my tyres being slashed by some idiot.

General Comments:

Lovely and quick, but not as good as my Cavalier GSi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

8th Oct 2003, 18:18

Currently own an escort Gti, its not a bad all rounder, but I think it could do with a little more power, although it does compete with some of the faster "Hot hatches".

Verdict 8 out of 10.

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland


A low insurance GTi - with good looks


No faults to date. BUT, the gear-box has just started rattling in neutral.

The only fault is there's a damned rattle inside the dash which resonates at 50mph!

General Comments:

Half leather seats are great!

Looks faster than it really is, but corners *great*.

Insurance costs for me (20 years old) are great. Compare the insurance for this with a Golf GTi (group 10 against 16!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2001

22nd Aug 2001, 10:56

Mine also "resonates" at about 45-60 mph, great car though, one up on my old XR3i!

Iain Plimmer.

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 DOHC 16v Zetec from North America


Great performance with nice looks for AMAZING price


Small brake problems...

A/C had small problems, but the warranty fixed it free of charge.

General Comments:

This is a great car. I am customizing this car to be a show car, it has great style.

Intake and exhaust system works great and I love taking Honda's off the line! GREAT CAR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


A good, reliable car for the money


Absolutely nothing, but have had to replace the brake pads and discs on the front.

General Comments:

The performance on these cars can be vastly improved by fitting a free flow air filter such as a K&N. With one fitted the engine revs so much more freely. They only cost about 50 quid and last the lifetime of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

5th Apr 2001, 12:18

I also have the same model, I have also recently replaced the front disks and pads!!! LOL - And I also have a piper-cross air filter kit sitting on a shelf in my garage!!! Can anyone tell me if after fitting this - if the mixture or anything will need to be altered with a computer??? And are they easy to fit - the instructions seem very vague!


1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


This car is the best car I have ever owned


I've had a few things wrong with this car, in the past but everything seems OK now.

Here is a list of what I had wrong with my car at first:

1. Lack of power.

2. Brake judder at motorway speeds.

3. Noisy steering rack.

4. New gearbox.

5. Smelly heater.

General Comments:

All of these faults have been sorted out now by my local Ford dealership, I gave them 8/10 for their service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2000

10th Jan 2001, 16:59

Very sporty and eye catching for the price!

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 from North America


I think buying this car was a great decision and I don't regret it one bit


I've had absolutely no problems with this car so far. I've taken it on road trips and never once worried that there might be a problem.

General Comments:

I think if driven like it's supposed to be and not like a race car, this car gets great mileage and won't let you down.

I love my little car and brag about it to everyone, even my boyfriend loves to drive it. It's very easy to manuever and a lot of fun to drive on the highway.

I live in Colorado and this puppy can pull the passes with the best of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2000

1998 Ford Escort ZX2 2.0 Zetec from North America


Great small car, as long as you're short


The climate control cable would come loose when changing the temperature. This has been replaced and I have had no other problems since.

General Comments:

The car has a good amount of power with the Zetec engine (even with the automatic transmission) around town and on the highway.

Handles well and is steady at high speeds (e.g. 80 MPH).

Also, the climate control is extremely effective in summer and winter, although there is no air recirculation capability.

Unfortunately, the engineers who designed the seats must have been very short. The reason is that the seats are terrible for me (I'm 6' tall), to the extent where I had to have them remodeled and needed a chiropractor after having the car for 6 months.

Aside from that aggravating problem, the ZX2 has been an excellent car and I would recommend it as long as the seats are comfortable to you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

4th Aug 2002, 23:14

Man, I own a 98 Ford ZX2 and I'm 6 foot 2 inches tall, and I've had no problems with it. I put the seat all the way back, but I don't have to, I just like it that way. I can comfortably drive it w/o being all the way back. I had absolutely no problems. Might be your mattress, get a serta man, LISTEN TO THE SHEEP!!!

31st Mar 2004, 18:04

I have had my escort for a year now and I am six foot and I don't have any problems what so ever. Just put the seat back a little bit and you won't have a problem. I love my car and yet I am only 16 years old and I plan on keeping it throughout college.

12th Jun 2005, 18:19

I am 6'2" and I hit my head when entering the car commonly. This car was the worst investment of my life. problem after problem. I have now 107K miles on it, but the problems started at 38K. I have spent a lot of money maintaining it. Luckily I am a motor head and do most of the work myself. Word to the wise, sell it quickly. The trade in value drops in a hurry.

21st Apr 2006, 18:39

Well everyone on this site seems to be complaining about the seats. REPLACE EM. Check out www.teamzx2.com for instructions, but it's the easiest thing you can do if you're tall. Get the seats out of a 92-94 Mazda MX3 (V6 if you can).

They sit 3 inches lower and hug your body better. They are worth every penny.