1998 Ford Escort Reviews - Page 27 of 28

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance78678 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta Si

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

It has needed 3 new clutches due to clutch judder.

It has had a new n/s lower arm.

It needed a new gearbox because the diff bearing had gone so they changed it all under warranty.

It has had a fault with the power steering pump leaking.

General Comments:

Generally it has been a very good car.

I like cruising in the car because it's the body kit that makes the car.

I will possibly be modifying the car later on in the year when the warranty runs out, the first thing will be a good Magnex exhaust system.

I will be keeping the car for quite some time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2000

1998 Ford Escort Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A good car for the money

Faults:

Nothing serious, the rear parcel shelf had a habit of popping out on its own but my Ford dealer fixed it (eventually)!

General Comments:

Definitely the best car I've had so far. My particular car has more extras than normal: electric sunroof, air con, remote central locking and CD autochanger so I'm pretty happy!

Suspension setup is excellent - holds the road well, and the steering & gear change are good. Could be a bit quicker though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2000

1998 Ford Escort GTI 1.8 16V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16V Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Very impressive all round

Faults:

New gear selector.

General Comments:

Good all round car with good handling. Big step up from my last car so I feel the benefits more.

Insurance was shockingly high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2000

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Great car for the money... A little quicker would be nice!

Faults:

Nothing!

Actually there was a really annoying whistling from the air vent(?) when new but it went away!!

General Comments:

A fantastic car for the money. Great looks, great drive (sticks to the road like...), air con...

My only gripe is with performance. I had a 2.0 Sierra prior to this car and although the Escort is faster(?) it really needs to be pushed. I was actually quite disappointed when test driving the car (where you feel guilty going much over 4K revs :-> ).

The car does kick in after 4.5 K in most gears though (The benefit of 16V I presume).

If anyone can tell me a bit more history about the car I would appreciate it (I know it's got a different exhaust to the Si and the suspension/steering MUST be better... Anyone know the full facts?... craigp@email.com if you do

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2000

18th Nov 2005, 04:47

Suspension on GTi is the same as the Si, so are brakes.

30th Dec 2005, 05:48

I am thinking about buying an Escort GTi. Any tips of what to look out for when buying one? Also, has anyone got the full spec on one of these cars 'ie' 0 to 60 etc...

31st Dec 2005, 17:58

Hi mate I've had a dozen Escort GTis. Things to look out for; rusty rear arches, silver go the worst. Floor the car and make sure the 16v is responsive; listen out for wheel bearings. Look if air con works, and also look for rust under the rear spoiler; these are the key areas for rust.

Spec list.

0-60 7.8 seconds

Top speed off the clock 140mph

Air con

Half leather

Full body kit

Rear spoiler

White dials

Electric seat (drivers)

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

High performance bargain

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

GTI has value for money, all the gadgets, still very quick and loads of space in the back.

Looks to die for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2000

1998 Ford Escort GTi 1.8 16V petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 16V petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Persistant clutch judder, third clutch now in 22,000 miles (all thankfully replaced under warranty).

General Comments:

Excellent value, superbly equipped car for the price, best car I've ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 1999

1998 Ford Escort Ghia X 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Have had to replace the steering rack after 13,200 miles done under warranty. Apart from that only headlamp bulb's and windscreen wipers.

General Comments:

Generally a troublefree car to own and drive, only a few niggles.

1) Engine rev's excessivly at low speed when the clutch is depressed.

2)The handling could be a bit better.

3)The stereo is not powerful enough for my taste.

The car is responsive, being a 16v Zetec engine, most of the grunt is between 3800 and 5200 revs, but there is enough low down torque to keep me happy. The manufacturer publishes 0-60 in 9.2 sec, I have done it in 8.0 sec.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 1999

1st Dec 2000, 19:38

Further to the previous comments, I have decided to get rid of this car.

The gearbox blew up whilst my wife was driving (only 25,000 miles done, gave her a whiplash injury). Had to replace the gearbox and clutch. More trouble than it's worth. Next time I will buy a Japanese car.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 128 reviews