1999 Ford Expedition Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1999 Ford Expedition EB 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carToyota RAV4

Summary:

Don't buy this car

Faults:

Everything you can think of. It makes a noise like you are running over road bumps. It has made this noise for 50,000 miles and made it while it was still under factory warranty and now nothing. Will not buy a ford again. Honda or Toyota, and everyone wonders why people are buying foreign cars. Built Ford Weak. When I have friends ride with me, they are like, what the hell is that noise?

General Comments:

Lots of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th December, 2006

1999 Ford Expedition XLT from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Its great!

Faults:

Front heater isn't working.

Side-board running lights stay on - even after engine is off and car is locked.

Minor oil leak.

It is a gas hog... with the cost of fuel these days it can get expensive.

General Comments:

This is one of the best cars we have ever owned! it is very roomy, having 3 kids from ages 4 - 13 we couldn't be more pleased, the third row seating is great to keep the kids separated during road trips. My husband and I looked at many cars before deciding on the Expedition, we aren't mini-van people so this was a great alternative for our family.

The only thing that has gone wrong in the 4 years we have owed it is the front heater won't blow warm air (this just started happening) the rear one works just fine.

And the side-board running lights stick from time to time, normally they fade off after 15 minutes, but now they stay on 30-45 minutes.

It did have a very minor oil leak which was an easy fix.

I would highly recommend the Ford Expedition!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2006

30th Jan 2010, 01:53

Can I get any suggestions on what to do about lights staying on (floor board); it keeps killing my battery.

16th Feb 2010, 15:45

I had a similar problem. Figured out that it's a door switch. Don't know which one but I used WD-40 on ALL the door switches. Opened and closed each about 6 or 8 times after I sprayed them and problem solved!

1999 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 5.4 Triton from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.4 Triton Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance294900 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Very nice card, very pleased

Faults:

The Alternator went at about 280,000 miles and the idle air control went at about 250,000 mile. I replaced them both with ease. The transmission's overdrive gear stopped working at 290,000.

General Comments:

This car has been VERY! good to me and very reliable. It is one of the most comfortable cars I've ridden in. This thing tows like a dream too. The only problem is low gas mileage. I get about 14 city and 19 HW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

1999 Ford Expedition XLT 4.6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Great overall vehicle for the money

Faults:

Spark Plugs, alternator, ABS light sensor, rear seal leaking.

General Comments:

If you are up for a rougher ride and need room this vehicle is great! It was great for boys to throw all the gear in the back. We hauled our ultra-lite camper 5,300 gvwr to the beach, but wouldn't attempt the mountains due to lack of power (we have the hubby's Chevy HD for that). I thought it was a comfortable ride, but hubby always complained about the seat belts tightening on him and the fact of it being a Ford. On a good day, on the highway with the wind blowing in your directions you might get 14 MPG:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2005

1999 Ford Expedition XLT triton V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission triton V8 Automatic
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Very big very roomy just doesn't run worth a crap

Faults:

Threw a rod at 100,000miles.

Replaced three coil packs on top of spark plugs at $80 a pop. one within 1 week of replacing it the first time.

Steering wheel gets real tight when I turn sharp.

Front a/c does not work, but rear does. front blows out hot air while back air is freezing.

General Comments:

If anyone knows what is causing the a/c to do this please let me know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2005

15th Mar 2011, 14:17

Coil packs are normal wear items, they are generally expected to go about 100,000 miles, though it all depends on your driving style, etc. Sometimes they go way longer than that. They can be found for less than $40 a piece if you know where to buy them.

The power steering could have air bubbles in the lines or the fluid could just be nasty, I would just drain and bleed it to make sure any air and worn fluid gets out of there.

The AC could be any number of things. I'm not sure if there is separate refrigerant for the front and rear units, but if there is, it probably just needs more R134 up front. Also possible that the temperature control switch is bad.

These are all very minor issues and I wouldn't say it runs like crap just because of this.

17th Jun 2012, 02:53

The front A/C needs the blend door actuator replaced. It switches the "hot and cold". The coil pack should have been under warranty if it failed as soon as you say it did.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 27 reviews