1994 Ford Explorer XT 6 cylinder. from North America


Absolutely loved that SUV and wish I still had it


Best vehicle I have ever owned.

NEVER saw the inside of a shop except for one warranty recall on the rear window hardware.

Husband did regular maintenance like new brake pads, turning rotors, new hoses, etc.

General Comments:

I purchased my 1994 XL new in 1994 and just traded it in.

145,000 in-town miles when traded in.

Used synthetic oil with changes about every 5000 miles.

My husband backed into the door with his truck, and except for that one small dent, it still looked brand new inside and out.

I wanted another Explorer, but the new ones are just so much bigger than the older ones, and did not want to try my luck on an Escape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

1994 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 from North America


A high-upkeep vehicle


Shocks and struts both gone before 100,000 miles (Before I obtained the vehicle).

Ticking noises coming from under the hood; Can't seem to find problem.

Pistons started mis-firing around 128,000 miles leading to blown engine. Replacement block very expensive.

Rebuilt transmission at approx. 129,500 miles.

General Comments:

Plenty of space for college student to transport stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

18th Jul 2004, 22:34

A ticking or tapping under the hood is normal, says the owners manual. My explorer started to tick at about 80,000 miles and stopped and I just started to hear it again and it has 150,000 miles on it now. I think that it is the type of gas or gas station used. Only high test for me 90+ in my 94 explorer.

15th Sep 2005, 09:03

Your complaints of the "ticking" noise under the hood are caused from fouled and/or damaged valve stem seals. This is a commonailty with Ford's 4.0. Their AEOD tranny has many problems. But hey, Ford's are cheap, you can find a junk tranny for 200 and rebuild it yourself for 150 or at a shop for 550.

17th Jan 2006, 22:53

The tranny in these is actually the A4LD, although you're right, it was a real piece of crap since introduced in 1986 on the bronco II and ranger.

1994 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer Ltd 4.0L V6 from North America


Very good vehicle, I plan to keep it for a while


This vehicle has been very dependable overall. The repair incidence has been minimal. Of course, the usual maintenance, one tuneup, an that's about it. Oh yes, the CD player died and I had an aftermarket unit put in. That is the only 'breakdown' I can recall.

General Comments:

This is a solid vehicle. Paint quality very good, no quality or age related problems. The interior remains attractive and has held up well.

It does not have the performance that the Chev Blazer had, but then it has never given me a fraction of the repair/drivability problems that the Blazer did. No comparison in build quality, the Chev was poor all around.

It doesn't get as good fuel mileage as I would hope or expect @ 15-20mpg, with the average closer to 17, but it's a rather heavy vehicle.

A little more road noise than I would like, but it has over 100K miles on it.

Burns no oil even at this mileage (I'm pretty finicky about regular maintenance). My sisters each have had an Explorer of the same vintage, and they both put well over 200K miles on them. I hope to do the same, and at this point see no reason why.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2003

1994 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0 V6 from North America


A great truck


I had to replace the mass air sensor and the throttle body. Other than routine maintenance no problems.

General Comments:

I really love this Explorer and would recommend one to anyone who needs room and a reliably truck.

I pull a 1969 16 foot camper with my Explorer and do not have any problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

1994 Ford Explorer XLT 4.0Liter V6 from North America


Reliable, but below par integrity......


Water Pump at 90K.

Door Hinge at 90K.

Volume button on stock tape deck broke at 95K, got replacement from junkyard, front stock speakers also tick.

Inside passenger door handle broke off completely.

The electronic control panel on the driver's door sometimes does not work.

Passenger side electric window motor broke.

Dash has cracks in it at 70K, the black paint around the gauge cluster is peeling at 70K.

The engine pings with all fuels except high test, even with high test it pings when at certain rpm's.

The heat in the car does not get warm for at least 20 minutes of driving in the winter.

Rotors replaced at 90K, Calipers replaced at 95K.

Front bushings replaced at 75K.

General Comments:

The truck is comfortable to ride in, other than the bouncy ride and the weak a/c and heat, but it has much wind noise makes it seem much more like a truck than a car.

The truck rides much as would be expected of a bouncy pickup, and during cornering it gets fairly tilted.

Other than the wear spots, the exterior, including paint, is holding up very nicely, and is a good looking truck.

The engine has enough pep, but needs a lot of gas to get up hills, and passing is not a fast matter.

Gas mileage is decent, 20mpg avg, but truck only runs to highest potential with most expensive fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002