1996 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 3 of 11

1996 Ford Explorer Limited V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired129000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Great if you're looking for a suicide mission

Faults:

Whats gone wrong with this SUV? What hasn't gone wrong with this SUV is a more reasonable question.

I bought this piece of crap SUV after my 2001 Toyota Camry was totaled from behind by a kid going forty when I was at a stop. I was 19 at the time and could not get a rental car, so focused my attention on getting a reasonable car that got good reviews and wasn't too expensive.

I saw this SUV on the road, called the guy, took it for a test drive and fell in love. The inside of the car was beautiful, leather with a computer OMG perfect I thought. Wrong, I should have ran away. I liked the vehicle because it was fun to drive and had a lot more pickup than my Camry (seeing as it has a V8).

The first thing I noticed that went wrong immediately (withing 2 weeks of buying the vehicle) was the driver's side window. It will not go down. That's a pain because I live in Florida and go through tolls. A pain, but a pain I could live with.

Next the A/C stopped blowing cold air, also a pain and an intolerable pain because of the Florida heat. So we put freon in it, well turns out there's a leak in the hose somewhere.

Next, the brakes started giving, turns out the guy cut the cords that would let me know when I had faulty brakes (awesome!!!).

Now my headlights don't work, I only have my brights or my idles so if I drive at night I run the risk of blinding other drivers or them not seeing me at all. It's like a suicide mission.

3 months ago, I had to pay $900 for parts and labor for a fuel pump, fuel pump filter, and a fuel pump relay.

2 days ago my car started overheating, turns out I need a new radiator because my radiator fluid also leaks, and I need a new coolant and a temperature thingy.

Piece of crap 1996 Ford Limited Explorer.

General Comments:

Just don't buy. If I could spare one person the frustration, money, tears and sweat I have put into this Ford crap wagon, I will feel only slightly vindicated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2009

5th Mar 2009, 22:58

I think you just got a lemon. I just got a used Explorer V8, and right away I took a long ass road trip into Mexico all the way to Guadalajara and back to California, and I drove the thing every where while I was there, and had not one single problem with it. It runs very good still, and I didn't even tune it up before going LOL until I got back.

Now the V6 Explorers, those are nightmares, or daymares, depends what you're into. Too many negatives on the V6s, but the 302 from Ford is a great motor. Don't get discouraged with Ford, you just got a bad one. All makes have lemons, even Toyota and Nissan. I know the Nissan Maximas are bad cars for sure.

6th Mar 2009, 20:29

Yes, it's outrageous that this dozen-year-old vehicle that you bought used would need a repair! Give me a break!

I'm not familiar with any nightmares concerning the 4.0 L SOHC V-6 in the Explorer. I own one myself and it's been totally perfect with over 100,000 miles. However, mine is a 2002 and I will say it is worlds better than the '97 we used to have at work. It's true, the V-6 in that thing was pretty gutless.

8th Mar 2009, 15:48

Yes bro, I meant the explorers from 91 to 98 with V6 motors are the ones I don't like. Now the newer ones like yours I hear good things about. Do they make 2000 and up Explorer V8s with 2 door and manual trans? If they do man, I think I would buy one. Of course with some miles on it because I cannot afford a brand new one LOL.

11th Mar 2009, 05:07

Radiator fluid leaks? Thingy? What?

7th Apr 2010, 13:06

I think what you should have done is check those kind of things prior to purchasing a vehicle. 1996 was a long time ago in modern car standards, parts wear and break. It's a fact of life. I mean nothing says the original owner wasn't a damn fool that abused the car, but it is always wise to check and recheck things. Impulsive buys are always, ALWAYS a poor choice.

1996 Ford Explorer XLT 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carMazda 6

Summary:

If Ford made all their products this good, they would kick Toyota's ass

Faults:

When I bought it, the car had a very slight leak in the radiator, which I replaced. Also the driver's door handle mechanism needed to be lubricated. And I had to replace the alternator.

General Comments:

I never thought I would say this about a Ford, but I love my Ford Explorer. Not only that, but it's going on 13 years old. I've always had Japanese and German cars (Toyota, Mazda, Honda, Volkswagen, BMW, Mercedes, Acura, Subaru, and Audi) which have generally been good cars, but I found myself in a bit of a financial crisis, and I needed a used car and quick.

I had $3,000 and I happened upon a 96 Explorer with 133k miles that looked really clean. I bought it, and within a week of driving it I was really impressed.

After all the years this thing has been driven, it is still comfortable, starts right up every morning, is actually fun to drive, hauls all kinds of stuff if I need it to, and still looks good too.

Everything works on it; all the extra features it came with when it was new, including the 6 disk CD changer, automatic adjusting rearview mirror, power windows, mirrors, door locks, A/C, cruise, etc. No problems. Good truck.

I'd buy another Ford truck any time. And before I had this thing, I would have never given one of these things a second glance except to sneer at it or give it a dirty look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2009

18th Sep 2010, 10:45

I hope I feel the same way when I get my 1996 Explorer next week...

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 41 reviews