1996 Ford Explorer Reviews - Page 4 of 11

1996 Ford Explorer XLT 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

One-of-a-Kind!

Faults:

Installed new Transmission at 150,000 miles.

Installed new Sensors.

Check Engine light comes on, then turns off by itself.

Ride not too smooth... but what do you expect it's a truck.

Gas guzzler... but it is a V8.

General Comments:

Very reliable vehicle. Has never left me stranded.

Great strength for hauling jet ski, boat, etc.

Multi-use vehicle.

Lots of room.

Looks really nice when cleaned up.

Feels safe to be driving in.

Truck 13-years old... but runs really good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2008

1996 Ford Explorer XLT 4wd 4 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance178000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Very reliable - It only let me sit one time due to the fuel pump going out. Other than that, an excellent SUV.

General Comments:

Awesome SUV - Just sorry I got rid of it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2008

1996 Ford Explorer XLT 5.0L V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired310000 kilometres
Most recent distance390000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Montana

General Comments:

Fast SUV.

Hard to get it stuck in the snow; drove it through 3 feet of snow and it plowed through it like a tank. It is good in the mud too.

The engine will not die as long as you change the oil every 3000 km, and the other fluids at 50000km. It will last forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2008

1996 Ford Explorer eddie Bauer AWD 5 litre from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Quick, comfortable, high ownership costs

Faults:

Lower ball joints at 90000 miles.

All brakes, at 94000 miles.

Rear axle seals and emergency brake at 99000 miles.

Third brake light, tires,O2 sensor at 114000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this truck. I think the Eddie Bauer package is the way to go, nice features, leather, climate control, great JBL stereo.

It has all wheel drive, which is totally seamless in its operation, and the legendary 302 V8, which is a good match for this vehicle.

The gas mileage, however, is dismal, averaging 15.5 MPG, not much better than my dump trucks.

I think this truck is fairly high maintenance, as the miles add up, expect to spend money to keep it in shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2008

1996 Ford Explorer XLT AWD 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Been great to me

Faults:

Upper control arms/ball joints replaced at 90,000 $500.

Heater core at 110,000. Stunk that they had to take out entire dash to replace a $50 dollar part. Total $500.

Check engine light has been on for 50,000 miles with no ill effects on performance. Had it checked once and replaced an 02 sensor. Came back on a week later and have ignored ever since. New gas cap did not remedy either.

Cam synchronizer at 90,000 Don't remember how much it was.

Freon recharge at 140,000 $100.

General Comments:

I bought this vehicle for $6,000 dollars and 80,000 miles on it. With 152,000 on it now, I would say above average in reliability.

All of the things that have gone wrong are not unexpected in a high mileage car. The engine and tranny still run like new. Perfect shifts and strong acceleration.

Gas mileage is about 12 city and 18 highway. Has been a good truck for me.

AWD is great for Michigan winters. Hope to get another year out of her.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2008

1996 Ford Explorer Edie Bauer 5.lL from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.lL Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance251000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

At 131,040 miles the transfer case was replaced.

At 198,203 replaced all front wheel bearings and front control arms.

At 210,998 replaced the steering rack.

At 227,418 Replaced the fuel pump.

I always change the oil at 3000 miles. And change all other fluids at 50,000 miles.

Uses 1/2 qt oil between changes, and has doe that since first recieved.

I have had the drivers seat recovered.

No rattles.

General Comments:

I have been taking care of it and just can't kill it.

This car has at least another 100k left in it.

The ride is a little stiff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2008

1996 Ford Explorer 4.0L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.7 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Nice ride, but 12mpg is not worth it

Faults:

I haven't had this thing for more than a month yet, but a fuel injector already seized up on me and a spark plug fowled.

General Comments:

It handles OK and it great on the highway.

Have to get rid of it as it only gets 12mpg (no joke)

Transmission is showing signs of wear

Nice interior and rides very nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th November, 2007

11th Dec 2007, 01:18

My 4 runner only got 12 mpg and to make matters worse only had half the power of the explorer.

11th Dec 2007, 10:04

Your explorer might need a tuneup. I know some people who have a 95 and get around 20 or so highway. It is a V-6.

5th Mar 2009, 23:06

Theres something wrong with this truck to get 12 mpg. I have a 96 V8 and I can go 215 miles with half, and about 400 miles with a full tank. Maybe you have bad catalytic or oxygen sensor, or your trans is bad, which is typical on V6 Explorers.

By the way, I drive highway though, no back roads or too many hills.

7th Dec 2009, 14:59

I went from 16.3 to 20 mpg by inflating the tires to 35 psi, and using 5 w 30 full synthetic, and switching to a k and n air filter.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 41 reviews