1997 Ford Explorer XLT from North America


Great, reliable car that gave us almost no problems


A/C needed recharging at 96,000 miles.

Radiator hose needed replacement around 80,000 miles.

Intermittent mode on wipers quit working around 95,000 miles.

General Comments:

Had my husband not been involved in an accident that totaled out this car, I would have driven it into the ground. I call her old faithful. We purchased this car when it was 3 yrs. old with 36000 miles, a lease turn in. Drove it for 6 years and put 60,000 more miles on it with no troubles other than routine maintenance like oil changes and brake pads, plus the 3 things mentioned above. It was a comfortable drive, very sturdy, and most importantly it did its job in protecting my husband during a terrible accident. He walked away with an airbag burn and a separated shoulder, and the paramedics said he easily could have died. The one downside was it drives more like a truck than a car, and I never felt comfortable driving higher speeds on the highway (over 70mph).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2005

1997 Ford Explorer XL V6 from North America


I will buy another one!


Other than scheduled maintenance we have only had to do one repair.

We had to replace the brakes and rotors because the previous owner ran them down. $1100.00.

General Comments:

My wife and I are very happy with this truck. We have had it for two years and go off road frequently.

We live in Alaska, with heavy winters, and lots of off road opportunities.

The ride is smooth, although not as quiet as we would like.

As SUV go we get good gas mileage about 16 miles per gallon in town and great on the highway about 25 miles per gallon.

My wife thinks the power is fine, but I find it a little lacking. The optional V8 would have fixed that.

In our opinion this is a great family SUV, fun and dependable. We plan to replace this one with a new Explorer in a few years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2004

14th Dec 2004, 16:19

My wife and I are considering purchasing a 97 Explorer, and were wondering if you had experienced the same problem as others with the A/C part that fails in the dash. Something with the plane door that allows heat in during normal operation. Thank You.

1997 Ford Explorer XL 4.0 from North America


This vehicle is also a real gas hog


Since I bought the Ford Explorer the check engine light has come on for no reason. I disconnect the battery so the check engine light will go off and the computer re-sets itself. The dealer says we can put it on a scope and start changing sensors until we get the right one. I like the vehicle, but the check engine light coming on all the time is aggravating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2004

5th Jul 2004, 11:50

We also have a 1997 Ford Explorer XLT with 86,000 miles on it and our Check Engine Light has come on. We can't find anything wrong with the car, just the light coming on.

19th Jul 2004, 00:08

I to have one that the light comes on all the time. My father-in-law owns a shop and taped over the light for me.

30th Apr 2005, 04:02

I have a 97 explorer in which the engine light is on all the time. It has an erractic idle speed in the morning and is worse when it is cold. The engine codes have been diagnosed and suggest both banks are running lean.

After much research, I have traced the issue to upper and lower intact manifold seals. Hope this helps.

9th May 2005, 14:28

With reference to the engine light, there is a good possibility that the lower intake manifold seals are leaking. I would also recommend checking for EGR valve faults (accompanied by erratic running from a cold start)

Learned this after many garage bills and reading bad reviews!

1997 Ford Explorer XLT AWD 5.0 V8 from North America


I love it


Entire heater core had to be replaced about one month after I got it. Not cheap.

Check engine light is on most of the time, since about 2 weeks after I got the vehicle, but there are no problems.

Factory stereo sub-woofer quit after about a month and a half, but I bought a much better one recently anyways.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my Explorer. The only thing I can say bad about it, is that it gets horrible gas mileage, seeing as how it is a V8 and all wheel drive. With rising gas prices, I will soon need to get a car with better mileage, and will severely miss my wonderful Explorer.

The leather interior is very comfortable.

My Explorer is very quick, and powerful.

It also has a lot of interior space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2004