7th May 2008, 02:10

I have been the proud owner of a 2004 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer since the day I drove it off the lot brand new. I was recently in a collision, front offset impact, when another driver failed to yield and I had about 2 seconds to react while traveling 40 mph. I had not had one problem with the vehicle. It drove very nice, loved the heated seats, and it towed a trailer like a dream and I'm a beginner at towing. I originally started this search to see if anyone had head gasket problems as the insurance company has totaled my car with over $14,000 dollars damage estimate and discounted their offer based on coolant in the oil that they say was the result of either a blown head gasket or cracked block. I certainly haven't found that to be a problem on any sites I've researched and I have been a fanatic about all recommended service and maintenance every 3,000 miles. The car has 44,878 miles now.

7th May 2008, 15:34

Yeah, I don't believe that front suspension thing, either. I'm sure he's telling the truth, but I think he got taken for a ride by an inspection station that knew he was over a barrel if he wanted his inspection passed.

Regarding the fuel gauge, I've heard of some that are inconsistent and stay on half forever and then drop fast.

The other things are pretty minor, although I can understand the annoyance on a new vehicle. Of course, fogged up turn signal covers can be wiped out and re-tightened without a lot of drama. The other minor little things could also be fixed -- some shorted component in the electric seats, the intermittent window, etc.

26th May 2008, 21:51

I am a proud owner of a 2004 Ford Explorer Sport Trac XLT. I'm on 60,000 miles right now, it seems my shocks could be replaced, the cruise control pressure switch had to be replaced, and the cheap center console with the bag (I just ripped it out due to the arm rest break, and put a floor mat on top of where the console used to be.)

Other than that, it's been pretty much a dream. I'm the original owner and those are the only problems I have had.

13th Oct 2008, 17:37

Proud owner of a 2004 Sport Trac. 66600 miles and the only problem I've encountered is when the steering wheel is turned to extreme left side. It makes a popping noise.

I Love my Sport Trac.

1st Nov 2008, 21:43

91,000 miles; the only thing I had go wrong is I just blew both head gaskets. Did a test on it and said number three and six are misfires at 1000rpm. Well I drove it 500 more miles, and now I have two blow head gaskets. I still love the truck and plan on rebuilding the motor.

14th Dec 2008, 11:52

I own a 2005 Sport Trac that is now being serviced at the dealership. It all started when my radiator fluid started leaking out crazy. At first I was pretty worried, but then in shock when not only that was leaking but also other components that involved the heater core (which is located right in front of the console). So now they have to take the whole dashboard apart to get it fixed. I'm really worried about the bill that might come out to be a couple thousand dollars, according to the mechanic. I don't know what to do, especially with these times with money and what not. My advice, is to make careful decisions when buying a Ford.

23rd Mar 2009, 02:39

I am an owner of a 2004 Explorer Sport Trac XLT Premium and had a problem with the gas gauge too shortly after I bought it, but the dealer fixed it and haven't had a problem since. The one thing I hated was that the steering wheel emblem had to be replaced within a couple months. The chrome around the Ford emblem was coming off. Only other problem I have had is the darn heated seats in the summer turning on and that the left passenger window asembly had to be replaced, which took a over a week to get parts at the time. No one had the parts and they had to be specially ordered.

I only have 26+k miles on it, but suddenly now making noises that seems to be in the suspension area that you notice when pulling into the driveway turning the wheel and then getting out.

Still looks better than the new one in my opinion.

19th Feb 2010, 15:35

I own a 2004 Explorer Sport Trac Adrenalin. This is the nicest vehicle I have ever owned. Tows like a champ, accelerates swiftly for the size of the truck with a V6, and great off road performance.

I have 174,189 miles and never had major problems. Simple tune ups and oil changes is it. Still drives like new.

I would recommend this truck to anyone. Perfect for trips, work, or just to show off the rugged good looks.

13th Sep 2010, 09:46

Hi, I own a 2004 Sport Trac. When I got it, it had 27.000 km on it. Guess what, it now has 535.000 km on it.

Oil changes made a big difference. Started using synthetic 3 years ago, and for the past year putting in Lucas stabilizer.

The only thing major was the transmission. Worked, but no reverse, but what can be expected, traveling a half million km.

My father always said change your oil regularly. You know what, he was right all along. Sure the small stuff got worn. To me my Sport Trac was worth it. And I'm sure it will take me another 100.000 at least.

When it gives up, I'm going to get another up to date Sport Trac for sure.

Thank you.

14th Sep 2010, 09:47

Hi, it's me again. Forgot to convert 535.000 kms. In miles it's 332.433. Thanks again.

14th Oct 2010, 18:42

I have a 2004 Ford Explorer Sport Trac Adrenalin.

I love my truck, I haven't had any major problems. The only thing is the seat warmer switch on the passenger side wouldn't shut off problem in the summer! The sound system is great and does very well with towing.

27th Dec 2010, 09:40

I have a 2004 Sport Trac, and I like the way it drives. Had a 2000 Explorer before, that had a half million miles when I sold it. The interior is almost identical, so there was no getting familiar with the interior components.

The only issues I have had are, the front end was pulling, the dealership said they aligned it and found out that was B.S. It turns out that the front ends need a kit installed once the factory alignment goes out. The kit runs about $120.00, had it installed, and helped out that problem.

I now have encountered the coolant leak that appears to be the T-stat housing, hope that's all for that.

The console with the bag, I learned from the Explorer, is that you don't lean on the front of it, where it is weak, lean on the back where it is stronger. That arm rest costs about $170.00 to replace, good luck finding one in a salvage yard.

6th Jan 2013, 18:20

I have a 2004 Sport Trac. At 82000 the piston shattered and cracked the block, anti freeze in the oil, possible head gasket, no warning. 5k to replace the engine.