1991 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1991 Ford F150 LX 4.9 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 4.9 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired270000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Great truck. Every REDNECK should own one

Faults:

Basically all sensors were gone eg. MAP sensor, O2 sensor, TPS.

General Comments:

Awesome truck. Lots of people complain, but regular maintenance is a must, but since I've done the restoration eg. 3/4 ton springs front and back, headers, Flowmaster dual exhaust, 34 inch Super Swampers, front and back lockers, and ECM upgrade, she will go through anything.

Had to pull out a 2001 Dodge, and did it like it was a bull dog pulling out a kitten.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2006

1991 Ford F150 XLT 302 5 speed from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 302 5 speed Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired316000 kilometres
Most recent distance321000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Sonata

Summary:

Fords have class this truck is no different

Faults:

Driver bucket seat is worn out.

Leaks oil.

Rear fuel pump quit

Idle air control valve died just unplug.

General Comments:

I love my truck.302 5 speed goes like stink. Nice rumble.Body is still very good and interior excellent. Seats suck, toilet paper need to beef up suspension on drivers seat. Like having a console between my bucket seats. Everything works.I replaced fuel pump, shocks, exhaust my plan is to totally redue this truck 321000km and you would never know it. Its the only truck I will ever own unless I win the lottery and can afford a new Ford like the one Stone Cold Steve Austin drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

1991 Ford F150 XLT 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 302 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

I love my truck, just wish it would work

Faults:

The 302 that came in the truck blew out cylinder #8 at 78,000 miles.

The 2nd 302 engine blew out cylinder #8 for the 2nd time.

The windshield has also had to be replaced twice. Crack starts on passenger side and just works it way across.

General Comments:

The body is great.

The paint is beautiful.

The interior is very roomy and comfortable.

This is a great 4x4 out in the desert.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

20th Oct 2005, 13:36

I think you need to maintain it. Otherwise I don't know how you blew our cyl # 8 twice.

12th Feb 2006, 20:03

My ford has 300k on it and still runs fine it is called oil change.

22nd Jul 2012, 23:21

Wow, my 1980 Ford Ltd and 1990 Crown Vic have the same windshield problem. I wonder what causes it?

1991 Ford F150 xlt lariat 5.0 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A dependable truck with a nice motor

Faults:

The gas tank is rusted out and I need to replace it. Other than that no real problems.

General Comments:

My truck is very quick for being a 4 wheel drive truck. It will put a little import in it's place.

The truck loves to rev and it picks up quick. I've been across 3 foot ponds without getting stuck plenty of times.

Overall it's fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

1991 Ford F150 Custom 4.9L 5 speed from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.9L 5 speed Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44400 miles
Most recent distance91400 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Workhorse, nothing fancy

Faults:

Couple alternators.

New belt.

Oil pan gasket.

Overhaul transfer case, leaks.

Got hailed out, did major repaint and repair, some rust was fixed.

Steering gear replaced.

Brakes done, front rotors replaced.

Issue with egr system, used famous restrictor plate to fix it.

Replaced crappy auto-hubs with warn manuals.

General Comments:

I like old Ford pickups, this one has treated me pretty good, some repairs done, but your looking at 91000 miles and 12 years of use.

I also pull a smaller pop-up camper with it which does use some things up. The only downfall is the crappy bench seat. And it is a little underpowered when the camper is hooked up.

Otherwise it still is built and looks like a pickup is supposed to look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

1991 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 Straight 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9 Straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance197394 miles

Summary:

The essence of reliability

Faults:

After getting the truck when I was 16 from my dad, I drove it like any 16-year-old would, like I stole it! But since it was mine, I put in a gas tank, fuel pump, axle bearing, axle shaft, a couple sets of spark plugs, wires, distributor cap, and rotor (basic tune-up), transmission shift-fork due to power-shifting, engine oil pan, shocks, u-joints, ball joints, and a thermostat.

The body, being exposed to northern Indiana weather, has rusted through in several spots. The interior is faded, but is in good overall repair.

General Comments:

This truck has been so abused by me and my father. I have taken it off-road several times, raced too many times, and have generally pushed the maintenance intervals. My father had the clutch smoking several times backing up wagons and trailers into our barn, but it hasn't burnt out yet. I can't keep a set of tires on it more than 20,000 miles because I just love hearing a tire beg for mercy and just press on the gas even harder. I've pulled a steel, two-horse trailer several thousand miles locally and it has done it without a problem.

I think the only thing that would make this truck perfect in my eye is if it were only 4 wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

22nd Apr 2009, 19:37

I'm 15 and about to get my first F150, just like yours. And I'm going to the local vo-tech to learn how to work on cars. So I'll be able to do everything that you did to yours.

My dad's friend was selling it, but nobody would buy it, and he doesn't want to just junk it, so he's giving it to me for free. But he has to find a new one first before he can give it to me.

There's a few things wrong with it, like a leaky oil pan gasket and it needs an exhaust, but nothing major. So just keep driving like you stole it, and keep on truckin.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews