1991 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1991 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 Straight 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9 Straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Built Ford Tough

Faults:

Fuel pump went out at 100,000 miles.

I had to repair the rear fender wells, due to rusting.

One full tune up, including plugs, wires, cap and rotor.

Had to repaint the entire truck, because the factory primer was cheap, and started pealing.

General Comments:

Overall this truck has been very good to me, for all the years I have had it its well worth the money.

Although this isn't even close to luxury machine, it makes a great work truck for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

1991 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 Straight 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9 Straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Build Ford Tough

Faults:

I've put new spark plug wires and spark plugs, cap, and rotor on it but that was after 105,000 miles.

I had to put a new back gas tank, the other one rusted out.

The transmission fluid and filter were changed.

General Comments:

Great truck, with very little work to be put in it.

Nothing has really went wrong besides some minor stuff that happens in every vechile.

Gas mileage is very good, about 23 on highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2003

28th Jun 2004, 15:06

I have a 1991 ford f-150 and all I have replaced was the gas tank rear wires plugs transmission filter and regular maintanance.

1991 Ford F150 Custom 300ci ,4.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 300ci ,4.9L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 kilometres
Most recent distance182000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Great all around truck

Faults:

I replaced a fuel relay put in a new set of spark plugs, wires,cap and rotor button. I kept the oil changed every 3000 km.

Had to put in a new bushing for the door catch latch.

General Comments:

I love my ford truck. I haul everything from wood to a stock car and it never let me down yet. The 300 has lots of low end power, but doesn't like passing other cars. I got four new winter tires and it drives like a dream, but a little rough with the stiff springs in the rear. It's good on gas on the highway, but hard when towing or in the city. Overall I love my ford truck and sad to see they don't build them like it anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2003

1991 Ford F150 XLT Lariot 5.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles

Summary:

Great in mud

Faults:

I have had to replace the front gas tank on it which isn't cheap. I have also had the front left spring fall out on me, scary. Brakes have gone out on it twice. Had to get new four-wheel drive universal joints. And I had to get new door locks, and key cylinder. And just to add, I had to replace the differential gears which bit a hole in my wallet.

General Comments:

The beast of a truck loves the mud, and has plenty of horsepower to get itself around town. And it likes to intimidate other trucks. Sounds pretty cool with or without the muffler on it. If you want a mudder or street rod style truck this is the truck for you, if you have the money to pay for the repairs after beating it up:) Other than that it is a very dependable, gas eating, durable truck that I will miss once I sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

1991 Ford F150 Custom Stright 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Stright 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I look forward to owning the truck for 20 years!

Faults:

I have replaced the alternator three times, heater coil, starter, AC System and rebuilt the suspension and steering system. Transmission serviced three times, cooling system serviced twice. Three major tune ups and of course a few hoses and a belt along the way.

General Comments:

A very tough truck and has handled the miles very well. The paint job still looks new and the truck looks good along side newer models.

For a custom the ride is very smooth and quiet.

Steering has always been a problem with a pull to the left.

Engine is powerful enough for a small camper, boat or light trailer. I would not recommend for the extra tough such as horse trailers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2002

1991 Ford F150 XLT Lariat 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 302 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord 1974 F100

Summary:

Great truck for work, very dependable

Faults:

Engine went at 140k, replaced with 302 HO and now runs fine.

Numerous problems with emissions equipment going bad and causing problems, O2 sensor, exhaust parts, etc.

Parts cost a lot sometimes.

General Comments:

Extremely comfortable bench seat, a lot of room.

Fairly powerful, once I put in a 302 HO.

Pulls trailers up to 6500lb without breaking into a sweat. Anything over that and youll know it.

Best lookin truck on the road, to me at least.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2001

1991 Ford F150 Custom 4.9 L Straight Six from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.9 L Straight Six Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger '84

Summary:

Reliable workhorse

Faults:

Minor emision components had failed that caused the truck to run bad.

The cab corners had to be repainted this last year due to rust.

The thermostat, alternator and transmission pan gasket were replaced.

The rear springs are starting to show wear, but that's probably my own fault (I keep a Jayco pop-up camper that weighs 1000 lbs in the bed year round and run it over some of the roughest roads in Alaska).

Routine maintenance, brakes, shocks, replaced once.

General Comments:

Overall the truck has been pretty reliable, much more so then my previous Ford Ranger. It's too bad Ford has discontinued the 300 C.I. six cylinder.

It has a lot of low end pulling power up the hills with my camper on the back and it's pretty easy on gas, even with the four wheel drive. Parts for it are not that expensive.

The automatic transmission with over-drive has worked fine with two fluid changes since new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews