2000 Ford F150 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2000 Ford F150 XLT Off-Road 5.4 Litre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.4 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

AWESOME

Faults:

I had a leaky manifold gasket within the first 3 months, but it was taken care of immediately, with a loaner car from the dealer.

General Comments:

This vehicle is a die hard truck. I put 220,000 miles on it carrying over 3,500 lbs in tools and parts for work. I had it generally maintained every 5,000 miles and had very little problems with the vehicle overall. The only problem after 5 years was I had to add, not replace, a set of springs, which is understandable. The only reason I am getting rid of it is to go with a smaller car for personal use, instead of work purpose.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

11th Nov 2009, 17:45

My truck is a 2000 F-150 4x4 ext. cab with the 5.4 V-8. This truck has known nothing but abuse since the day it was purchased new. It has 240,000 miles on it, and the only thing that has ever been repaired was the alternator at 210,000 miles. The transmission fluid has never been changed. I change the oil and filter about every 15,000 to 20,000 miles (whether it needs it or not). Needless to say, the maintenance, or lack of, is less than sufficient for a long life expectancy. Still, the "old girl" still performs as she always has, completely trouble free just as I have come to expect from the Ford Motor Company. Ford builds trucks, others build pickups!

2000 Ford F150 XLT 8 cylinder. from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Lots of Power; Great Truck

Faults:

The only problem I've ever had with this truck is the passenger side window motor is going out.

General Comments:

I love my truck sooo much. Lots of towing power. Lots of cabin space and great handling. Would buy another one!:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

2000 Ford F150 XLT 4.6 liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

I still love my Ford.

Faults:

Everytime it rains it fouls out a couple of the spark plugs.

General Comments:

Do not let a mechanic tell you that you need to replace the coils on your ford before you try just replacing a plug or two. Almost any parts store will check them for free.

It cost me $400.00 to find that out!!!

When you change your spark plugs put a little plug grease on the threads if your having this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

2000 Ford F150 XLT V8 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

It's a great truck to keep around with some minor problems

Faults:

1. Trouble with starter not catching all the time. Seems random.

2. When it's cold out and I start my truck sometimes the left blinker comes on with the only way to turn it off is to turn the hazards on and off.

3.Transmission seems to have started slipping around 80,000 miles.

4. CD player doesn't want to play Cd's. Seems like it won't pick up the disk.

General Comments:

How ever with these problems this has been a very sound truck.

It pulls a trailer like a dream.

It gets muddy with the rest of them with out a problem to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

3rd Mar 2004, 11:25

Sounds like you starter is going, you may want to have that looked at. You see the starter and flywheel mate toghether on spokes and if one of the "teeth" is broken on one of these wheels that could be causing you problem. If you starter makes a high pitch whine when it doesn't catch that is probably it.

2000 Ford F150 XLT 5.4L Triton V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.4L Triton V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75800 miles

Summary:

A warrior

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the truck since we purchased it. The vehicle has been excellent in every situation we've had to call upon it.

General Comments:

We use our truck as a police vehicle since our town has lots of culverts and drainage areas through the city streets. The truck is quick on takeoff, very visible, very reliable, and excellent as a quick pursuit unit in our small town. We currently also use a 2002 Chevrolet Impala 9C1 and will be trading in on another F150 shortly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2003

24th Apr 2008, 03:28

That is right, the f-150 is reliable and this truck of mine gives good gas mileage.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 21 reviews