2000 Ford F150 XLT 5.4L V8 from North America


The most powerful and reliable truck I've seen


So far the only problem I have had was a blown fuse, which of course will happen with any vehicle; not much of a problem, a 2 minute $2 fix.

General Comments:

This truck has more power and comfort than any vehicle I have ever driven.

It feels more like a race car then a pick up truck.

It has surpassed any expectations I ever had for a truck.

It hauls, tows, and runs like a champ.

After I owned a Blazer, and had it in shop at least once a month. I decided to give Ford a shot, and I wish I would have done that along time ago. I would recommend this truck to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

2000 Ford F150 5.4 from North America




Front end alignment out from factory. Dealer charged $500 to fix.

Doors breaking in half at lower window level. Dealer says it's too late to address.

Uncontrollable throttle response at take off.

5 flats to date.

Oil leaks on engine, ticking lifters?

Bench seat is ungodly uncomfortable, due to the dip you sit in being 6" off center of the steering wheel.

Stereo no longer has any lighting to show station.

General Comments:

Terrible ride; worse than my 1 ton diesel.

Tranny can't make up mind what gear to stay in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th August, 2006

2000 Ford F150 XLT from North America


The truck does get good gas millage over all


I just bought the truck and found out the Flywheel is missing or burnt teeth for about 3" t0 4" on the flywheel. The starter will have to be replace to. I never owned a vehicle with a bad flywheel ever. Is this a common problem on 2000 Ford F-150 and other Ford made product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2006

18th Mar 2006, 14:35

Do your research before buying a used car. Sounds like you got screwed over.

2nd Sep 2007, 11:42

It sounds like you got screwed over. Next time make sure to carefully look over the vehicle and get a car fax report. Also as far as the gas mileage goes its great when compared to other trucks from then same era.

2000 Ford F150 XLT Off-Road 5.4 Litre from North America




I had a leaky manifold gasket within the first 3 months, but it was taken care of immediately, with a loaner car from the dealer.

General Comments:

This vehicle is a die hard truck. I put 220,000 miles on it carrying over 3,500 lbs in tools and parts for work. I had it generally maintained every 5,000 miles and had very little problems with the vehicle overall. The only problem after 5 years was I had to add, not replace, a set of springs, which is understandable. The only reason I am getting rid of it is to go with a smaller car for personal use, instead of work purpose.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

11th Nov 2009, 17:45

My truck is a 2000 F-150 4x4 ext. cab with the 5.4 V-8. This truck has known nothing but abuse since the day it was purchased new. It has 240,000 miles on it, and the only thing that has ever been repaired was the alternator at 210,000 miles. The transmission fluid has never been changed. I change the oil and filter about every 15,000 to 20,000 miles (whether it needs it or not). Needless to say, the maintenance, or lack of, is less than sufficient for a long life expectancy. Still, the "old girl" still performs as she always has, completely trouble free just as I have come to expect from the Ford Motor Company. Ford builds trucks, others build pickups!

2000 Ford F150 XLT 8 cylinder. from North America


Lots of Power; Great Truck


The only problem I've ever had with this truck is the passenger side window motor is going out.

General Comments:

I love my truck sooo much. Lots of towing power. Lots of cabin space and great handling. Would buy another one!:)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2005

2000 Ford F150 XLT 4.6 liter from North America


I still love my Ford.


Everytime it rains it fouls out a couple of the spark plugs.

General Comments:

Do not let a mechanic tell you that you need to replace the coils on your ford before you try just replacing a plug or two. Almost any parts store will check them for free.

It cost me $400.00 to find that out!!!

When you change your spark plugs put a little plug grease on the threads if your having this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2004