1986 Ford Falcon XF 4.1 from Australia and New Zealand


Nice cheap quick car!


A blown battery cable (accidently placed on top of a vacuum hose, melting the plastic and shorting out - my fault).

And a bad water leak through the air vents (after I washed it for the first time, about 3 inches of water was found on the driver's side) - not fixed yet.

General Comments:

After being lowered 2 1/2 inches with wider wheels, smaller SAAS sports steering wheel and power steering, this car handles like a dream as opposed to my last 81 XD.

And with an after-market air con fitted, it's ice cold in the cabin for when I'm hunting VL's on a hot Queensland summer day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

7th Feb 2002, 23:55

How much did the after market air con cost and where from?

10th Feb 2002, 03:14

Well I didn't install it, but my old man is an air con mechanic and he reckon no way more than the 600 the guy who owned it previously reckoned, ask around all the air con mechanics and ask for the cheapest way to get the newest gas (r134a I think).

1986 Ford Falcon XF 1.6 from Australia and New Zealand


It is a monster


I threw the air conditioner out, but other than that, nothing.

General Comments:

It's a monster and it is the best car that I have ever owned, and if I had to buy another car, it would be an XF. They're reliable and they can stand anything.

It handles like a gem and absolutely canes.

With a full body kit this XF ute could kick any Holden.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2001

2nd Nov 2001, 22:01

1.6 litre Falcon?

And it canes?

What are you on?

27th Oct 2003, 21:10

Do they even have 1.6 ltr XF's?

26th Jan 2004, 21:56

3.9 4.0 and 4.1 is all they have. at least that's all they have in the XF range. Little Ford Lasers are 1.6 litre :)

25th Mar 2004, 03:21

XFs only came out in 3.3Lt and 4.1Lt.

1st Jun 2004, 07:18

Let me get this straight, it will go faster with a full body kit. Riiiice I mean riiiight.

19th May 2005, 18:01

With a 1.6, I seriously doubt an XF would even move! My XF has the 4.1 with a 3 speed manual on the column, and that has troubles getting off the mark in a hurry! And a body kit don't do anything to the speed! Even though I am a ford supporter, I think a holden would beat this thing in 1st gear!

1986 Ford Falcon XF 4.1 EFI from Australia and New Zealand


A high performance bargain


Not much has gone wrong with the car.

As with all XD-XF Falcons, the door handles break, but they are cheap to fix and not very hard to put in (once you have had some practice).

So far, I have blown 2 diffs in it, but they were both my fault (burnouts).

The electronic fuel, temp, oil pressure and volts gauges don't always work. It's like they aren't contacting power all the time, but if you tap them, they normally come on.

The rear demister hasn't worked since I brought the car.

General Comments:

It is pretty fast for a 6 cylinder. I can leave standard VB-VL V8 Commodores. I dragged a VN SS once, and I was level with him to 100, but I backed off then.

The front was lowered about 3 inches when I got it, and it rides really rough, but handles wild on smooth roads.

You can fit stereo's into it a lot easier than earlier-model Falcons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2001

16th May 2002, 06:21

Yes, I have to agree good car, but very weak door handles. I have spent heaps on door handles and if anybody could show me how to repair the broken ones I have a fair few of them, (mainly Passenger front door). Is there a more permanent fix besides spending a fortune on door handles.