1993 Ford Festiva 1.3L from North America

Summary:

Fun, little, really cheap, reliable

Faults:

Radiator fan stops, but able to run the car half the summer.

Rear brakes don't work well.

Windshield washer pump died.

General Comments:

This is my second Festiva.

Not so comfortable, but a perfect little cheap student city-car. Not really stable on high-way, but so slim it can be parked anywhere in the city.

Cost me 800$, replacement pieces cost nothing, gas costs nothing, insurance costs nothing, and you won't find any car so simple and cheap to repair around!!!.

Manual trans-axle make it fun to drive up to 50km/h because the car is very light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2006

1993 Ford Festiva I'm guessing LX. 1.3 Liter Mazda Engine from North America

Summary:

Ford was wrong to stop producing the Festiva

Faults:

The Thermostat went at 129,210 miles, but that is to be expected on a twelve year old vehicle.

The rear Windshield Wiper works, but gets stuck. They never seemed to function properly on any Ford Festiva anyways.

The doors sag a little, but it doesn't phase me one bit and I will most likely have a Mechanic tighten them down.

The Drivers Side Door Window is off track some, but I don't really care.

General Comments:

The car drives extremely well and doesn't leak any Oil!

She starts up every time!

The Transmission shifts perfectly!

The Brakes stop on a dime!

It's quite a speedy little vehicle, but I don't expect her to beat a Mustang.

There is minimal rust on it and the undercarriage is in near mint condition!

I find the interior comfortable with plenty of leg and head room.

The heat works great if you set the Climate Controls on Defrost.

I know I will be saving a lot of money on gas!

I bought my Festiva on eBay.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2005

1st Nov 2005, 07:04

Ya guessed wrong, there was no LX model in 93, only a L and GL.

Giving a car you just got a 10/10 rating in everything is ridiculous.

Thanks for the "speedy" comment, however, that was hilarious.

1st Nov 2005, 19:30

Well, I wasn't sure because there are no emblems on my 1993 Ford Festiva which is a good thing because I plan on adding Kia and Mazda emblems anyways. I rated everything a 10 on the car because it has just been a fun and reliable vehicle to drive, despite what may be wrong with it. You have no right to criticize my review because you decide to drive your SUV all over God's Creation. Do not expect me to wipe your tears when gas goes up to $4.00 a gallon next year. I will simply drive my Festiva by the Gas Station and laugh at you hysterically. I will not even offer to drive you to the Grocery Store when your $30,000 SUV is sitting in your yard next summer collecting Foliage.

1993 Ford Festiva 1.3 Carb. from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Excellent, Reliable & Cheap!

Faults:

Have only had a few minor problems with the Festiva over the years. These include the hi-beam wearing out, the CV joints wearing out due to improper maintenance and a few minor interior items.

The CV joints needed replacing at about 140,000km and the clutch is coming up for replacement.

The hi-beam stalk wore out and was replaced. However, this was done incorrectly and another stalk needed to be installed.

The fuel door has also come off the top hinge, which disables it from being remotely released.

The minor interior items that have been replaced due to general wear include: the driver's sun visor, floor mats, rear light covers (cosmetic, due to fading) and the rear parcel shelf.

The seats are in good condition considering that the car was used to transport children around for 10 years and the interior appears to be reasonably durable.

General Comments:

This car is zippy and very economical. Although it won't win in street races, it is a very affordable and decent first car. (I have dragged a Barina and won!)

The fuel consumption of this car is very low (6.4L / 100km) and is ideal for somebody concerned about the expense of a car.

The maintenance costs of this car have been very low and mechanics have informed me that the WA Festiva is one of the most reliable cars they have ever serviced.

I would highly recommend this car to anyone seeking an economical runabout because of the range of features the car offers for such a low price.

Do not be fooled by the small appearance of the car, it is quite roomy for both front and rear passengers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

16th Apr 2005, 22:27

Your comments on the ford festiva are the same as I have experienced. My shocks have gone in the rear and I have to try and get new rear light lenses and the lights do not facilitate replacing just the orange lens ouch. I am glad to read that I am not the only one experiencing such concerns. My CV joints have gone as well Ouch and the make is not too readily available.

Allan.

10th Jun 2005, 21:56

I got replacement tail lights from a wrecking yard and it has made the car look newer. They took a while to change, but it was definitely worth it.

The wheel bearings made a howling noise when they were coming up to be replaced.

30th Aug 2005, 03:18

Just an update, the howling wasn't from the wheel bearings, it was from the bump guard at the front of the rear passenger door becoming unstuck and howling in the wind.

I want the face on my original post changed to a yellow smiley face! I didn't choose the white face...