1993 Ford Festiva Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1993 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Outstanding value in a small package

Faults:

Changed the alternator once, no big deal... died alongside the road, my wife brought me a new one. Took me about 45 minutes to swap it using the tool kit I carried in the car.

Changed the rear wheel bearings twice, second time necessary 'cause I didn't torque them correctly the first time. My fault!

Everything else (plugs, wires, brakes, timing belt) changed at (or way after) recommended intervals.

General Comments:

Not a car for the person who wants to leave rubber marks on the asphalt, but otherwise this is the greatest car!

I've put over 100K on it since I bought it and I've put very little into it. I drive a 126 miles round trip to work and this little buggy keeps up with the highway traffic without a complaint.

Interior is very spartan, but what do you expect from a car that was less than $5K brand new? It still rides comfortably up front. My wife complains that driving it bothers her legs, but she's 5'10" and has long legs. It doesn't bother me a bit. My sons complain if they have to ride in the back seat, but they're both 6'3".

I plan on getting at least one more year out of this buggy, which would take me up to 200K. I know a half dozen people who have gotten 200K+ out of their Festivas, so I shouldn't have a problem.

Big disappointment... 1993 was the last year they made these, so unless I can find another one with reasonable mileage on it, I'll have to find a different make/model. I don't know how I can do any better.

If you're looking for good, reliable, cheap transportation and can lay your hands on one of these... go for it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2001

18th Jul 2001, 10:22

I hear ya buddy, its a very good car, but as far as the no rubber on the asphalt, I've left some pretty good tracks with my '93!

1993 Ford Festiva from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 kilometres
Most recent distance307000 kilometres
Previous carGM Chevette

Summary:

Very reliable, miserly on gas (55mpg), but parts are far too expensive

Faults:

Wheel bearings.

Rear hatch lock.

Engine self destructed (wore out).

General Comments:

Very high gas mileage (55mpg).

Quite reliable.

Very expensive parts - twice any other import, ie. cardboard cover for the rear hatch = $600.00, cylinder lock for the rear hatch = $125.00 and headlamp = $400.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

3rd Dec 2003, 11:37

I am confused as to what you are talking about. I had my 1993 Festiva from 1995 until 2002. It was THE cheapest to maintain car I had ever owned, and I have have owned Mercedes, BMWs, Toyotas, and Hondas. I was constantly amazed at how inexpensive repair bills were for any type of repair.

15th Oct 2006, 05:01

I find it quite odd as well. Perhaps the poster lacks comparison shopping and/or bargain hunting acumen. However I will agree those highly coveted cardboard hatch covers are exorbitantly priced!

9th Aug 2013, 00:18

Car parts for my 1993 Festiva with the automatic transmission were not hard to find and not very expensive. The motor has 244,000 and still runs strong, but some motor work was done to it before I got it.

1993 Ford Festiva L 1.3 liter four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 liter four cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance142600 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Get more bang for your buck (in the small car world)

Faults:

Needed a new clutch, but that's standard maintenance because the old one just wore out.

Seems very prone to problems with the ignition and spark plugs wires and the rotor.

General Comments:

This is a great litte car, I love it so much! It's so inexpensive to own and run, and the performance and acceleration of it outmatches anything in its class.

The engine is simply amazing. It just keeps going and going and going... I drive 52 miles per day, and this car keeps up great. Simply amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2000

25th Aug 2002, 19:06

I just got the car I always wanted ('93 Festiva Sport).I do my own maintainance and I really appreciate the simplicity. You can actually get at the oil filter either from above or below. The plugs are as easy to remove as any car I have ever seen. The car (witch) we had before this one was a '94 Taurus. We had it two years and it need a new engine and we replaced the transmission twice. The complexity was unreal. I said I would never own another Ford. The Festiva, of course, is a Ford in name only. I am looking forward to owning this car for many years and I'm happy to see that there are so many satisfied owners out there. The best part is that my teenage son refuses to be seen in it-not cool.That's just fine with me because he was the nit who wrecked the Taurus.

8th Jul 2005, 00:02

I love my Festiva. It can be parked anywhere, never uses oil and gas mileage is 42 mpg. I did have to replace the transaxle, but it wasn't too expensive. It has one small rusted spot, but it always shines like new after a wax job.

The tires are inexpensive to replace. The original factory battery had to be replaced when it was 12 years old. I gotta love it.

1993 Ford Festiva GL 1.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97657 miles
Most recent distance111512 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Very dependable inexpensive transportation even with lots of miles on them!

Faults:

When I got the car in Feb of 2000, it had been neglected. I replaced all of the fluids and actually got 3 more mpg out of it!

The rear wheel bearings have been replaced and otherwise it's just regular oil changes.

Did the brakes too when I first got it.

General Comments:

I owned the "88 when they were first out. It got me through college cheaply! I curse the day I sold it (seems that college can actually make you stupid). You really pay the price in mpg with the automatic. Though very reliable, my '93 only gets 30mpg as compared to the 42mpg I recall getting with the 5 speed.

Great dependable little cars though...... it figures that Ford would stop making them!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews