1988 Ford Fiesta Reviews

1988 Ford Fiesta 1.4 from Sweden

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Expensive experience for me at least

Faults:

A rear wheel bearing seized when driving without warning.

Very heavy on fuel, and 2 different mechanics had no answer as to why (no leaky fuel lines, leaky fuel tank, dodgy brakes and exhaust was good: lambda 1.01 at idle and 1.05 at 3000 RPM, and the rest like any other car).

General Comments:

The thirstiest car I have ever owned, it took between 1,1 litres/10km to 1,4 litres/10km.

This car only had 2 previous owners (if I remember correctly) and was in absolute showroom condition and very low mileage.

Great side mirrors with a good view.

Pretty comfortable seats.

74 HP, so pretty nice acceleration, since it is a light car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st November, 2012

2nd Nov 2012, 13:04

1988 Fiestas don't have lambda sensors...

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 from Serbia

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carYugo Skala

Summary:

Good one

Faults:

What haven't gone wrong? :-) But it is an old car, so it is not so dramatic...

General Comments:

The Ford Fiesta XR2 is good car, for Serbian roads especially. It is hard and unbreakable... goes 160 kmph on LPG, what else do I need...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2010

1988 Ford Fiesta Van 1.1L from UK and Ireland

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.1L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A marvellous little vehicle, which does all I ask of it, and which requires very little in return

Faults:

For the MOT, all that was required was a small amount of welding to one of the chassis rails.

Front end of exhaust broke at manifold joint.

Sills need welding for next MOT.

General Comments:

For the price I paid for my 1988 Fiesta Van, I didn't expect too much from it. However, when I bought it, I drove it 180 miles home with no problems whatsoever.

The MOT was about to expire though, hence the small amount of work required as mentioned above.

I use the van every day for my work, and it has never let me down.

It is very economical on petrol, easy and cheap to service, and extremely reliable. It is also very solid for a van of its age and although not immaculate, is it very reasonable cosmetically.

I have owned several Fiestas in the past, including the 1988 Fiesta 1.1L van reviewed previously on this site. (I would still have this van today had it not been stolen and classed as an insurance write off... it took me 18 months to find this latest van to replace it).

In my experience, Fiestas are excellent little cars (my wife also has one,and it too is a cracking little car) and are only a problem if neglected or abused. Find a (reasonably) good one to start with, service it properly, deal with any bodywork issues promptly, and it will serve you well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2007

1988 Ford Fiesta Festival 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired11300 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Lovely car, great fun round the bends!

Faults:

The car needed a new exhaust when I got it and some welding, since then just tires and window mechanism, that's all, apart from the few odd patches of surface rust (must less than my old fiesta which was a year newer)

General Comments:

The car was pretty quick for a 1.1 and it went round the corners even quicker.

I replaced the standard ford Carb with a weber Carb and K&N air filter which did improve the performance.

The interior was typical 80s ford and pretty cramped in the back, but seats were comfortable.

The standard steering wheel was horrible so I replaced mine with one from an xr2 which was much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2005

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Previous carRenault 5

Summary:

Good fun car to drive

Faults:

The alternator went.

It needed new bushes for its M.O.T.

The clutch is just starting to go.

General Comments:

This car might be a bit dated now, but it's still a 1.6 and it's great fun to drive.

My car was cheap to buy, reliable and has never broken down. It's a bargain!

The insurance was rather high, but I thought it was worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2004

1988 Ford Fiesta LE from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Faults:

Tonight when I was driving, it was raining really hard. My car died and I tried to start it. It would not even turn over, but the lights inside the car still turned on.

General Comments:

What could be wrong? The battery, the starter?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 07:14

The problem could be wetness on the distributor and HT leads. I had 2 mk2 fiestas (an '84' and an '87), and I remember those parts were quite exposed on those old fiestas. I had to replace my leads a number of times when they got a drowning.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews