1988 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1988 Ford Fiesta Popular 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Crap, buy a Nova

Faults:

Exhaust broke in half, rust everywhere, oil leaks, speedometer was reading 15 mph less than it was going, needed new clutch, whining gearbox needed changing and the headlights flicker.

General Comments:

Rust bucket, rubbish, rubbish, rubbish.

Bounces down the road, very uncomfortable, spent more than the car's worth on repairs.

Takes about 27 seconds to get to 60 mph, gearbox still whines even though it's only 4000 miles old.

Do not buy one, get a Nova instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

1st Jan 2001, 17:29

Yes, Nova's are good and tend to be rust proof, but they cost the earth to insure for a young driver as they tend to push em hard, ie. more accidents.

18th Feb 2001, 20:20

Rust proof Nova? The majority of Novas I have looked at are full of rust in all the same places, even a J-registered model.

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 replica RS 1600i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission RS 1600i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carRenault 19 GTS

Summary:

A hot hatch rocket box with go-kart handling ,drive one hard, you'll love it

Faults:

Well it started life as a 1.1 Finesse and then that blew up so I dropped in an RS 1600i engine but put it on twin Webers with K&N filter and four inch straight through exhaust. A new gearbox came shortly after, as did vented and grooved brake discs, calipers and master cylinder from an XR3i . Needed four plates welding on the chassis two weeks later followed by stiffened engine mounts as the original mounts collapsed a week later, the heater matrix blew and sent all the electrics to cock, forcing a partial rewire and complete heater system replacement. Completed transformation with body kit and 5 spokes from 1998 Escort LX.

General Comments:

It's loud and I love it............ I have since put in the interior minus dash to complete the final change. It's quicker than a standard XR2, and since it's debadged it is definitely a wolf in sheep's clothing!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2000

7th Jan 2001, 06:14

I also had an underpowered Ford Fiesta 1.1 until I dropped a XR2 CVH into it, but I'm having a bit of bother with the engine mountings. Did you use the CVH engine mounting or the old 1.1 mounting (with hard rubbers)?

The CVH mounting won't fit the bottom of the bulkhead as good as I would like. So I'm a bit stuck at the minute. I've still got it on the road and it has been for the past 6 months, but it keeps coming loose.

Hope you can give me some tips,

Cheers,

Andy.

7th Mar 2001, 17:24

I just dropped the entire front running gear of an XR2 and anti roll bars and bushes.

9th Mar 2001, 00:16

Hey, - I have an XR2 and I've put 2 engines into it - I blew 2 up in less then 8 hours - hey what can I say, I liked the power!!!

I bought an XR3i, the chassis was rusted beyond repair but the engine had only done 80k so I put the engine into my XR2. The only problem I have is the injection system - it won't fit on - the brake servos in the way, can you tell me how you overcame this problem - e-mail me your answer.

R4VER@btinternet.com

Thanks.

Paul.

1988 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles

Summary:

I vow never to buy another Fiesta as long as I live!

Faults:

Rust on sills, rear bumper kept falling off, engine valves had to be re-aligned.

The following items had to be replaced: drive shaft, clutch, starter motor, rear offside wheel (buckled!?). When it went, it went well.

General Comments:

This was my first car and I fell in love with it the first time I saw it. However, after only two weeks things started to go wrong (I broke down in the middle carriageway of M6 motorway in a traffic jam!) I spent the next 18 months pouring money into it until after spending a fortune getting it fully serviced and repaired, the starter motor went. I dumped it after that as a lost cause.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2000

17th Jun 2001, 09:12

I don't think you are being fair. I have a 1988 fiesta ghia which I have caned for 25000 miles and the engine has never let me down. The car is virtually rust free and looks really nice for a 13 year old car.

17th Jan 2002, 11:22

Although my '87 ghia Fiesta has done 120.000 miles and has the odd little fault, I believe it to be the best value and nippy little hatchback I have owned.

1st Jul 2002, 04:20

Although I have driven other newer cars, the 1988 1.4 Ford Fiesta Ghia is my first car. A year ago, at 17, I bought it for £250 in mint condition with only 60,000 miles on the clock. It's fast and exciting and although has had some minor problems, it's a great little car. I wouldn't swop it for a nova if you paid me!

3rd May 2007, 04:55

I am thinking of buying a 1999 1.3 fiesta, but the brakes are not too good. Is this a common fault? The car itself is in perfect condition.

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

In 4 Years, battery, valve stem guides (hence cloud of smoke when started), 1 cylinder packed up at 116,000 miles (leaking oil in 1 cylinder, firing on 3).

General Comments:

Very reliable, always started first straight away in the whole 4 years. Nice fun car to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 1999

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I took ages to find one that wasn't rusted out, but I suppose it is a 10 year old car.

Classic hot hatch heaven for me and they still look pretty good 10 years on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Alternator.

Gearbox will need replacement shortly.

General Comments:

If you can find a rust free example then it is a good quick car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 1998

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews