1988 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1988 Ford Fiesta festival 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Banger, but fun for a day

Faults:

Everything.

Never starts well.

Gear box bad as hell.

I admit I thrash it. but what the hell it should take it.

Red lining it in first at 20miles per hour is so good. I just love it. It seems worn out, but that's not a problem parts available cheap.

Worth ago even if it goes straight to the scrap heap after.

Crappy really, but I like it.

General Comments:

The above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2003

1988 Ford Fiesta L 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A Nice Cheap Runaround!

Faults:

First problem 3 days after I got the car was the thermostat went, £3 to replace.

A few weeks later the starter motor went, £20 from scrap yard.

Then I developed an over-heating problem, new Rad £15, Flush £3. Sorted.

Then the Alternator went, £20.

General Comments:

This was my first car and generally I was pleased with it.

I paid £150 for it with 6 months MOT and TAX, so it was a cheap run around.

Overly for the age of the car I was not worried with having to replace the parts because they were cheap and easily available.

I'm am quite a tall person and found the seat gave me a backache if I drove it for long periods.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2003

1988 Ford Fiesta S 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Cheap, fun car which gives a pretty smooth ride

Faults:

Nothing as yet, but it will need some work for the MOT.

General Comments:

A great little car; which was a nice step up from the very old mark one Fiesta 1.1L I had previously, which meant that at first this car was a luxury with not being noisy, pretty comfortable and not rattling at high speeds (70mph+). Also nice to have a decent stereo that still works, because I do kinda like my music!

The car is very much standard as I'm not hugely into cars, but this was nice to have, handling is OK, and speed and acceleration compared to my old Mk. 1 1.1L is very nice indeed; and makes for much nicer motorway driving.

I got the car at around 50,000 miles as it was garaged for many years, and for the price, which was free (yes free!) it has proved to be excellent and relatively good to run cost wise. All round good performer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 Carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Carb Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

Loads of feedback from all controls and excellent driving position

Faults:

The heater matrix was blocked, but I'm sure it could have been cheaply and easily fixed or replaced.

The engine mounts broke and the subsequent pressure on the exhaust downpipes caused them to break. This was fixed cheaply and easily. New down pipes £50 and engine mountings fitted for £25.

The drivers door rusted badly causing the window mechanism to break. Rust was generally everywhere.

Just before I got rid of it the thermostatic fan stopped working and ran continuously.

Fix or repair daily, but cheap as chips.

General Comments:

Great car. Steering and handling are brilliant.

Loads of feedback from tight steering rack and rock solid suspension.

Feels like your going much faster than you really are.

Brings the fun back into driving.

Adequate power to have fun on twisty A roads.

Simple mechanics make it a joy to take to pieces. They don't make cars this exciting to drive any more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

1988 Ford Fiesta Popular Plus 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles

Summary:

Built for function rather than fun

Faults:

Apart from the usual wear and tear...nothing!

Of course a bit of T.L.C contributed to this. We never "ragged" it or neglected it.

General Comments:

This is an A to B car, and as long as you treat it that way, you should have no problems what so ever.

As a car it is adequate. The drive isn't amazing, and it is lacking in versatility, but it is reasonably comfortable and goes with little fuss.

This car is a cheap as chips to run too.

Don't forget that this cars' design dates back to the mid 1970's!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 CHV from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 CHV Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A great fast little car

Faults:

My brakes became worn very quickly. The car wouldn't move until it had warmed up fully in the mornings. The headlights chip very easily when the car is driven on the motorway. The tyres wear very quickly and aren't very effective in wet conditions. Every time I drove through any large puddles the car would stop accelerating.

General Comments:

The car is very quick and reliable, but I wouldn't recommend driving it fast when the road is wet, this car doesn't like water at all! I have done 125 MPH and drive it everyday on the motorway and had no breakdowns or problems yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

19th Sep 2002, 06:16

Max speed for the XR2 is 113MPH not 125.

20th Feb 2003, 14:48

Actually 125mph is possible in an XR2, I have been this fast in one!!!

A 1.3s fiesta is capable of around 115mph, one of my friends had one which did 115mph with a k&n air filter fitted.

29th Apr 2003, 04:17

I've got a XR2 and it's a wicked car.

29th May 2004, 10:35

I'm only 19 and am unable to get insurance for any classical 'hot hatch' with my parent's insurance company, but I've been insured for my Mondeo 2.5, which can do 140MPH+. Which insurance companies will insure young drivers for this type of car?

18th Jul 2004, 05:16

An XR2 will only do 110 mph. It is a fun car, holds the road well and is a perfectly decent car, but it is not a fast car. 125 mph is just not possible unless your speedo is not correct or the car has been modified.

19th Jul 2004, 05:40

Another case of the wildly over-reading speedo. Generally, speedos are only accurate until around 85 - 90 MPH, and thereafter over-read more and more the faster you go. Good for talking crap over a bottle of Buckfast, but you really should think twice before writing these figures in an on-line review site where people who actually know about cars are likely to see it. And as for the 1.3 Fiesta doing 115 MPH with a K+N filter, go and read a book about tuning engines sonny, and you'll see that you'd need a lot more than a filter change to do that kind of speed in that car.

22nd May 2005, 17:09

I have a fiesta xr2 and it does 135+ mph, but it has 2 twin 40mm dellorto carburettors, a Kent cam, custom 4 branch manifold and performance leads and plugs, and my clock has been calibrated not so long ago.

Maybe a standard xr2 will do 115mph, but I ain't found a big enough hill yet to do it ha ha ha.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews