1988 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1988 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53400 miles
Most recent distance90250 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Superb little car

Faults:

Chassis rails rotted.

Both sills rotted.

Boot floor rotted.

Brake master cylinder leak.

Rear wheel cylinder burst.

Exhaust fell off.

Throttle cable snapped.

General Comments:

I bought this Fiesta as a 1.1 for £700 in February 2000 after I blew the engine on my first Fiesta.

It was in very good condition for its age and had a very low mileage of only 53000, although I have pushed it up to 90000 in just under 2 years.

Seeing as I have done a lot of miles in such a relatively short time, the car has never really let me down majorly, just minor bits and bobs here and there which I fixed myself.

The one downfall was the corrosion, which seems to be a problem for all Fiestas, and in the same spots. Mine has now been welded (by myself) in every mark 2 rot spot.

I decided to replace the 1.1 4-speed lump for a 1.3 5-speed from an Escort I picked up for £20, as all my driving is on dual carriageways and motorways, but I am only 19 so wanted to keep insurance costs low.

The car is extremely comfortable on any type of journey and the velour trim is very hard wearing. I often do 150 mile trips in this car and it doesn't bat an eyelid and I never get uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

An expensive bit of fun

Faults:

The tappets stick once in a while.

The starter motor went in it.

The handbrake did not work.

Shocks needed to be replaced.

Rear wheele bearings needed to be replaced.

She was misfiring as there was a leak at the air inlet manifold.

Back door starting to rust like mad.

General Comments:

The big engine combined with the light weight makes it very fast.

It handles very well in the dry, but in the rain she tends to slip and slide.

Those semi bucket seats are comfortable, but no match to a set of Cobra buckets and a set of racing harnesses for extra safty during those wet drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

26th Nov 2003, 03:29

The cvh engine is great until 120,000 miles then you need to have it completely rebuilt which some companies will do for under £600 which I think is pretty damn good for a brand new engine!

XR2 great car, but thanks to a general lack of mechanical sympathy they usually end up pretty knackered!

Middle class lady owners you got a love em! they don't rant the crap out of them and they always get them serviced at ford dealers. best ones to buy!! :)

1988 Ford Fiesta Firefly 1.1 unleaded petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.1 unleaded petrol Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous car1987 Ford Fiesta Popular Plus

Summary:

Can take a lot of abuse

Faults:

Rev counter stopped working.

Battery died.

Radio speakers stopped working.

Rust bucket.

Front inside wings rusted and fell apart.

General Comments:

Heap of junk if anything. Bought it for £500 and spent loads of money on it. Sold it for £20.

Eats petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th December, 2000

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance63456 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Fun to drive

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, but I did practically rebuild the thing from scratch so this category is irrelevant.

General Comments:

The XR2 mkII is a laugh, I have tried the mkI and found it to be quicker but not very comfortable. The markI is nice but it's a bit boring to drive. So in contrast I would say for comfort, reliability and pure balls out fun the mkII does it for me every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2000

24th Jan 2001, 11:45

How extensive was the rebuild? How much did it cost? I am trying to rebuild an '84 XR2 engine and am having difficulty locating parts. E-mail me if you can help.

elemental-auto@talk21.com

1988 Ford Fiesta XR2 1.6 CVH from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 CVH Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta Ghia

Summary:

A great small car!

Faults:

Fuel pump, gearbox mount and a few oil leaks.

General Comments:

With a K&N air filter, bore exhaust, upgrade cam and a tune up, this car can keep up with most cars on the roads!

A great little car! Harsh when driving in the wet (go slow)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews