1990 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1990 Ford Fiesta 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired68500 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

Old but economical

Faults:

Very poor tyre grip and handling on the road in wet conditions.

Engine tappets rattled for the last 18 months despite regular servicing.

The handbrake cable snapped twice in 2 years.

Constant slow oil leak since early 2000.

Rust appeared by the wheelarch on the passenger side.

General Comments:

The car seemed quite reliable early on but then things started going wrong regularly, and I found myself paying out about £800 a year in repairs alone.

The 1.1L engine kept on going and started well even on cold mornings but the tappets sounded terrible when I sold it.

It was quite a nice looking, comfortable car and would be a decent car for students and young people who just want a cheap runabout.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

12th Jan 2002, 12:39

Alright mate.

I've got a mk 3 fiesta. I bought it for £3000. I've gone through all the leaks and wear and tear that was already there when I got it.

9 months and £2500+ (continuing) I've replaced the parts. OK.

1990 Ford Fiesta S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance83500 miles
Previous carFord Sierra Ghia

Summary:

Descent performance, cheap and cheerful

Faults:

The ABS light started flashing, caused by worn belts.

Valve stem seals, tappets, oil pump and big end shells wore out.

Door and boot locks are a pain (the rods keep dropping off).

Otherwise it has been fine!!!

General Comments:

Mk 3 Fiesta's need a lot of TLC, more than a baby!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

1990 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Falling apart!

Faults:

In 7 months I have had a new starter motor, exhaust, clutch, battery, suspension cap, and recently a multi-function switch for the windscreen wipes.

And for some reason on all the Mark 3 Ford Fiestas, the door panels come out at the top.

General Comments:

Parts are cheap (secondhand), and DIY is easy. Not very comfortable when long distance travelling, more suited as just a runaround.

Overall a nippy car when it's going OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2001

27th Nov 2004, 19:10

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the Fiesta is only supposed to be a runaround car?

1990 Ford Fiesta S 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

A nippy runabout that can hold its own on a motorway

Faults:

It is hopeless in wet weather, whenever you stop at a junction it will cut out.

The rear panel by the fuel cap has had to be replaced due to rust, after a £500 respray last year.

Road holding had deteriorated over the last 6 months. First I thought it was the tracking but that was fine. Then the suspension was checked by a main dealer and that was fine, but I am still having problems with handling when the car is on anything less than a perfectly smooth surface.

General Comments:

Apart from the above, it hasn't got bad performance although when pushed it will struggle to 30 mpg. I can keep up with 205 GTi's and beat Nova SR's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2000

22nd Feb 2001, 11:25

You couldn't come close to a 205 in that car.

11th Sep 2001, 04:24

A 205 GTi would seriously leave you in your Fiesta!.. Are you talking about 1.1 205's?

10th Jan 2002, 14:27

Hi.

When your car cuts out at junctions, mine did that, I have a Fiesta Si. Interestingly enough, it hasn't done it now in the cold any more, I had a mate round and he spent 3 hours for £15 labour to flush all the anti-freeze out as it had gone brown, it took 10 attempts to clean it all out until we saw just pure water coming out. Even with the engine on too.

Now with 2 bottles of anti freeze in there it does not have cutting out anymore!!

Tim.

Ps I'm on the 1995 review with the hundreds spent on my Si.

1990 Ford Fiesta Popular Plus 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Great first car but drinks petrol with your foot down

Faults:

Engine mounts went causing antifreeze hose to burn through and leak... Faulty mounts not spotted by Ford Dealer, they just fitted a new hose and the same thing happened!!!

Battery went after being stuck in massive traffic jam for 3 hours at a stand still in minus 5 temperature... I'll forgive the car this one.

Seems to drink both oil and petrol alarmingly.

No electrics of any note, so nothing else to go wrong :)

Other things were due to age.... exhaust, front tyres worn, brake pads etc...... if you buy make sure it's got plenty of new parts!!!!! I've done 24k miles in 2 years mostly on the M-way and it's still going strong.

General Comments:

Only 4 forward gears but could be described as a bonus, no need to change down to get some extra speed. Point and press from 30-95!!!. Does 80 happily but very thirsty... 95 less happily... 70 is very pleasant indeed.

Can't beat it around town.... fun beating anything below 1.4 from the lights especially Corsas and Micras. RS Turbo without the engine? Possibly not.... but I love it.

0-50 in 10 seconds, 0-60 in 3 hours. Only feels out of place pulling out onto fast moving roads with no run up. Great first car...... but now I long for something faster and more sexy...... Saxo VTR methinks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2000

10th Jan 2001, 06:29

I've just got a 1990 Popular plus 1.1L. There's nothing wrong with it and it starts first time every time. It is a special edition one so it has 5 gears and loads of extras. However, I agree that it has no acceleration, but it hasn't been done up - yet.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews