2006 Ford Five Hundred SE from North America - Comments

12th Oct 2008, 23:14

All of this has come in response to my original post about the problems on my 06 500. Sure a couple of people said the review was a lie - I feel sorry for them that they have such distrust in humanity.

To all of you who own good 500's, congratulations, and I am happy for you.

As for mine, my 3rd brake machine job was covered by the dealership after much shouting. The car had 44000 km at that time! WAY too premature for multiple brake replacements and services.

My motor continues to tick as well, with Ford "stumped" on what it could be.

Ford's customer service line proved to be a waste of my time.

In 6 months, my lease is up and she will be going back to Ford. I will be hosting a party to celebrate the end of this relationship.

That's the update. I am truly sorry to hear that others are having similar luck to what I am having. I thought we were in an economy where customers were treated well, but Ford has chosen to forget that.

29th Oct 2008, 10:58

October 29, 2008.

I have a Ford 500 Year 2006 with 30,000 miles. Just got it inspected today, only to learn that the brake pads are worn! Unfortunately, my warranty ran out about 10 days ago. We only use this for long distance driving. I'm shocked.

I was told by the Ford Dealership that there was a recall on the brake pads. I never got a notice. They stated they would be "nice enough" to not charge me for labor. I paid $138.00 through the Ford Dealership for the pads. I feel I should get my money back.

What can I do now? I feel they are lying to me, because they will not give me the old parts back. They stated they need to return them for warranty reasons. I will be trading it in for a Chevrolet or Foreign car, as I'm sure this problem will continue. Any suggestions?

29th Oct 2008, 15:06

Needing new brakes at 30,000 miles is not out of the ordinary. You'll find that on any car. Stuff wears out and you have to replace it, that's the nature of cars. They don't last forever.

29th Oct 2008, 20:23

Goodness! You needed to replace brake pads at 30,000 miles?

Brake pads wear out!

28th Nov 2008, 20:18

Owner of a 2006 Ford Five Hundred:

I have 26,900 miles and need a rear brake job for the second time. As a ASE mechanic I have not encountered this problem with other Ford products. I try to ask questions for getting this problem fixed. The dealership and Ford Customer Service have not been helpful toward this problem. I will try using premium ceramic pads with new rotors to slow the premature wearing of the pads. Any suggestions would be helpful.

26th Dec 2008, 19:36

I have a 2005 Ford 500, I bought it used with about 25000 miles. on it. It now has over 80,000 miles.

It has had most of the problems previously noted. Under warranty repairs were, the center dashboard storage cover and rear brakes when I purchased the car. Also "after-wards"was the recall on the door locks freezing in the open position, the battery went bad, and trunk latch would not stay closed, and was replaced.

The cars are equipped with Bosch brakes and the design of the brake caliper never releases pressure from the brake rotor, as does the less engineered or more common style of caliper. After purchase, it needed rear brakes again at about 38,000 miles. This time it was on me, so I went to N.A.P.A. and got the best pads they had for the car, there was no pulsing in the brake pedal so I did not turn the rotors for fear that a new heat cycle could warp them.

As stated previously the car now has over 80,000 miles. on it and I have had no new brake problems, at last inspection done by myself about four weeks ago the pads are still good with at least 40% material left and still no pulse or thumping in the brakes.

The problem that I have now is hard starting when car is cold. Cranking 10 or 20 seconds and pumping the gas pedal like mad is the only way to get it to start. at first I thought "water in fuel",but after a 1\2 bottle of dry gas and a tank full of B.P. premium gas the problem is still there. It's a pretty new problem so I haven't had a chance to start throwing parts at it yet, any thoughts will be appreciated.

All in all, it has been a very good car though. After three different 3000mi. vacation trips, most of the time at speeds over 75 mph, I have no complaints that I would call serious. Oh also I use only Pennzoil 5w-30, or 40 100% synthetic motor oil and change the oil about every 18,000 or 20,000 miles, I'm not really concerned if it goes over a little since I use a high quality oil, and also I have no engine knocks or pinging, even when starting at 0 Deg.F.

4th Feb 2009, 15:27

I have 2005 Ford 500, love the car. Dealer is terrible. The dealers still operate in an outdated way, even though American cars are far behind imports in sales.

I had the air conditioner repaired under warranty, as well as rear brakes and the bubbling dash box lid. The dash box lid will not bubble again as it was replaced with solid plastic instead of vinyl covering.

The 2nd time I had air conditioner repaired, it was only freon, but the dealer charged me $140.00 as the car was out of warranty.

Concerning the rear brakes; I was sent a information card about the brakes from Ford and went to dealer and had no problem getting them repaired. No problems with rear brakes since.

I have 41,000 miles on the car now.

1st Mar 2009, 07:01

Hi guys:

I have Ford 500. Living up in Canada, with cold weather, my 500 makes grinding noises coming from front when I make turn. (only when we go below -10c). Anyone had this problem?

7th May 2009, 16:41

Has anyone found out why water collects in the rear doors and how to solve the problem? That is the only problem I have with the 2006 Ford 500.

25th May 2009, 20:46

This is a response to the water problem with the rear doors on the 2006 500. I had the same problem and the dealership fixed it for about 200 dollars. According to the service person many models had this problem. This problem is only covered under the factory warranty three years, 36,000 miles.

The price they wanted to charge me originally was 600 dollars to fix it.

15th Jun 2009, 16:38

Concerning the water collecting in the rear doors. It's happening to me in the rear door driver's side. I knew something had to be wrong with that! I don' know how to fix it but I wanted to put it out there that his must be another issue with the car. I am also experiencing grinding of brakes and squealing too. I just purchased the car in January 09.

18th Jul 2009, 13:23

2006 Ford 500 front lights do not work. Mechanic stated connectors were melted, causing bulbs to blow. Advised new connectors to be fused in and replace bulbs. Anybody ever hear of this?