2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 18 of 45

2000 Ford Focus SE Zetec from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Zetec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Faults:

Have had numerous recalls repaired including the fuel pump twice.

Ignition switch also replaced.

Brakes went first time at 16K and again around 23K.

Suspension problems even after recall repairs.

Now my motor mounts need replacing as the car has much noise and vibrations.

Just replaced cooling fan resister.

Car performs well, but occasionally slips gears.

Handles well on the highway and loves to go fast!

Great roomy trunk & interior. Comfortable ride.

Love the look and performance, but worried about future repairs.

I don't believe I will purchase another Ford product.

Honda's are much more reliable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd November, 2004

2000 Ford Focus SE 2.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

The worst car I ever owned

Faults:

Tire life of 20,000 miles or less

New brakes and rotors replace 20,000 or less

New fuel pump at 45,000 miles

Rack and pining system (whole power steering unit)

Engine mounts at 80,000 miles

Front axle replace at 80,000 miles

Several of the engine sensors replace

The usual key ignition problem

A dead transmission at 98000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the worst car I ever bought.

I spent more money on repairs on this car, then the last six car I has owned.

Don't let the miles fool you. Most of the miles were done the flyway in So Cal, so why the brakes jobs and the tires?

Every time I went to get parts for the engine, the parts didn't fit the engine, and that included part bought directly from the Ford dealer.

Now the car is dead in front of my house.

I just bought a new foreign car, and when I asked the dealer, what should I do with this car, his one word was Donated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st September, 2004

12th Nov 2004, 20:56

Is the 2000 Focus not covered under the 100,000 mile powertrain warranty? If so, you could have the tranny replaced.

15th Jan 2007, 22:06

My sister has one. A 2006, it has been in the shop 10 times in eight months. The transmission is terrible, they've replaced it twice without any noticeable improvement. Fit and finish resembled a car, but together by grade 1 students. The car rattles more than I'd expect to hear from a car with 10 times the mileage, this car (and I use that term loosely) has 12000km's on it!

2000 Ford Focus LX 2.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance45150 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

I like the car, hate the cheap parts installed

Faults:

Ignition switch replaced 25,000 miles.

Ignition switch replaced 45,150 miles.

Front end alignment 450 miles.

Rear brakes squeal starting at 13 miles and they continue to do so.

Gas fill door broke at 44,850 miles.

Passenger side mirror fell off at 28,456 mile.

On right hand turns engine dies.

General Comments:

Economy after 36,00 miles is 32 city and 38 highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2004

2000 Ford Focus LX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres

Summary:

Good car for urban driving, but not for high mileage

Faults:

Wears hard on tires. Same story with the brakes.

I find the car to be quite sensitive. Mysterious noises are a common problem with my car.

General Comments:

I can't complain too much about this car. As a first time car owner and with very basic knowledge of vehicle repairs, this car has not caused too much trouble.

A good choice for the urban commuter. I would not recommend putting high mileage on this car.

Do your research on this car before purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th September, 2004

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 KONA 2.4L Zetech from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Zetech Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112 miles
Most recent distance58140 miles

Summary:

FORD FOCUS ZX3 "KONA's" came with a matching bike.

Faults:

I have had three wrecks in this car. So every part that needed fixed may not have been the fault of FORD. I have found that other focus owners, like myself, are disappointed with its engine. I own a KONA version of the FORD FOCUS ZX3. The dark green color is what I own, not the silver\black color. The paint chips very easily. Plus, having a custom color paint from FORD makes it very expensive to have repainted.

General Comments:

I am some what happy with the way the car handles. It's surprising to discover how well the car can grip and accelerate. The thing I truly like the most about my KONA, is that it comes with its own bike. Very few people even knows that little fact. Most FORD FOCUS KONA ZX3's that I have seen have been with empty bike racks. I've talked to other KONA owners, and to my surprise, they knew nothing about a bike.

I'm here to inform you, the consumer, to ask about your bikes that are to come with your newly bought 2000 FORD FOCUS ZX3 "KONA" edition. The bike matches the paint color and is built by FORD. Its value is up there too. My bike is appraised at $1200 to $1500 American dollars. I live in OHIO. So the price range may vary from state to state or country to country.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2004

10th Sep 2004, 08:25

I am the original writer of the above "KONA" section. I recently discovered that only the year 2000 model, "KONA's" came with a bike. So if you own a newer year model and are wondering why you did not receive a bike it is because your car doesn't get one. Thank you for your time.

8th Jun 2006, 15:28

I own a Ford Focus Kona and also have the bike. My Focus is a 2000. I am curious to know how many were made and how many bikes were made. I will say that I have been more than pleased with my Focus. We had to have some repairs, but nothing out of the ordinary. Does any one know how to get the mountain bike appraised? if so e-mail me at smokehouse6@excite.com.

20th Jun 2010, 11:47

I just turned 16 about a week ago. I'm still looking for a car, and I have found a green 2000 Ford Focus ZX3 Kona Edition. I haven't looked at it, but I'm hoping that it won't look like a granny car, and I can fix it up a lot. No one in my town has one, maybe some old people, so I'm scared to get this older car. Is it even sporty like? Can I make it sporty teenager like?

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews