2000 Ford Focus Zetec 2.0 ESP 2.0i 16v from UK and Ireland


Best looking car on the road


Nothing has gone with car since I bought it.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick from 0-75mph and then starts to slow down.

130BHP for a Ford Focus, fantastic!!

Beats most boy racers and chavs in there modded VTRs and Novas. I leave them in my dust with a big smile on my face.

The car has sports suspension and handles great on those empty country roads. I actually scare most of my mates, when they get in the car because they cannot believe the quickness on the car. I love the sport seats, they hug you and make you feel safe. I have a heavy right foot, so if it gets thrashed round the town areas you will be lucky to get 200 miles out of one tank, but if you go steady your looking at 370 miles, which is good for a 2.0i 16v.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

4th Feb 2007, 05:22

Underated car. much quickier than I thought. any one who doubts it must try one.

13th Feb 2007, 14:30

To the guy that said the 106 GTi and VTS are the same; look on whatcar.com. The VTS is well over a second faster than the GTi 0-60.

19th Feb 2007, 10:24

The focus is quick and you don't expect it to be and the handling is one of the best I really mean that!

2000 Ford Focus LX from North America


Focus- worst car I've ever had!


Water leaking inside car on passenger floorboard soaking carpet.

Noise in A/C blower motor.

Very bad smell inside car.

Exhaust output tube completely broken off.

Trunk stopped shutting, needed new trunk lock.

Brakes wear out fast.

Gas mileage not as good as it is supposed to be.

General Comments:

This is by far the worst car I have ever owned and I have owned over 50 cars so far. I can't get the foul smell out. I have pulled out the carpet and insulation pad, which were absolutely soaked due to a bad seal in the compressor/cowl, I have been told by the dealer. This is very common, and there is a technical service bulletin out on this along with a long list of other common problems. The heater/ac fan/blower has water in in and makes an awful noise. The water in in the blower due to the faulty comp/cowl problem. The foul smell is most likely the soaked carpet for a long time. There are so many problems with this car. Every time I think I have fixed one thing, something else goes wrong related to the previous problems. I can't seem to get it back in good shape. It looks great and that is the only thing it has going for it. I will definitely never buy another Focus and based on Fords attitude to thousands of very unhappy Focus customers, and their refusal to fix the long list of Focus problems, I doubt I will ever buy another Ford product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

2000 Ford Focus SE from North America


The car is poor quality for the money spent


The car has electrical problems. Lights flicker and dim. I lose total power at times. Dealer and other mechanics can't seem to diagnose the problem. Has anyone else experienced this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

15th Apr 2005, 11:29

Recently, I have had problems with my Ford Focus and no one can seem to figure out the problem. The engine revs from 1000 to 2000 rpm every 8 seconds. Outside of being unsafe, this problem is consuming fuel at a rapid pace.

24th Aug 2006, 15:31

I have had problems with my 2000 Ford Focus since the day I bought it. It stalls while driving, causing you to pull over and turn the car off. It will restart after letting it set for a few minutes. I have had problems with the gas. I can have the gas pedal completely floored and it does not accelerate. I have had problems with the gas gauge. It can read 1/8 of tank of gas and not start or it will stall when it reads an 1/8 tank of gas. I have taken it to a mechanic and he said that he could not find the problem. The car still stalls and is happening more frequently and the problem is still not found. This car has been the worst car I have ever had.