2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 12 of 45

2000 Ford Focus LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Twice as satisfying as a VW

Faults:

Driver's remote centrol locking failed.

Windscreen wiper judders.

Tiny amount of rust on one rear door.

General Comments:

Cheap as chips to buy and run.

Nearly as economical as most diesels.

Handles well for a family car.

Bulletproof reliability.

Dealers polite, helpful. If only they were cheap.

If you're prepared to put up with the "cheaper" feel of the interior and just how common these cars are - they really are common sense vehicles to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2006

2000 Ford Focus LX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Only worth it if you can buy it super cheap to begin with and can afford the maintenance

Faults:

Factory Defective Brake calipers. They stuck, wearing my brakes dangerously thin in a very short amount of time. I was ignored by the (Ford) dealership until I got up in the managers face and physically showed him the caliper. This happened at about 10,000 miles.

Engine gauge malfunctioned several times between 10,000 and 15,000 miles.

The ignition switch has been replaced 5 times. 1) January 2003 2) August 2003 3) March 2004 4) September 2004 5) September 2005. It would stick and not turn.

Fuel Pump blew- 60,000 miles.

All 4 Tires have been replaced 2x.

Trunk does not shut properly. Trunk lock gasket fell off, leaving the metal susceptible to rust.

Bad smell through a/c vents. Ford dealership won't determine problem.

Something has been wrong with one of the front wheels since day 1. It's made a low ticking noise, that isn't the usual ticking problems.

The car squeaks like it's being beat when it accelerates up hills or going 'round corners, no matter what the rate of speed.

There are several rattles that making riding in the car very noisy.

The exhaust system falls lose regularly, and has had to be re-welded to the frame on more than one occasion.

The radio has started to short out. Half the buttons no longer light up as well.

General Comments:

The stock stereo system sounds good.

Initially, the car handles and drove nicely for a little started car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

19th Jun 2007, 23:36

I also own a Ford Focus and all I can really say is DO NOT BUY A FORD. I have had nothing, but problems with my Focus and the dealership never wants to know about it.

15th Jul 2007, 11:48

You have all the problems I've had so you are not a lazy owner. The foul smell you have is most likely hydrolic fluids leaking from your rear brakes self destructing. Check your hydrolic fluid level and see if it is slowly dropping. Sorry man.

2000 Ford Focus Zetec 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Excellent, the early expense has paid dividends over a long and continuing life

Faults:

In first year leak from front window resulted in water eventually getting to the front passenger foot well (yes, behind the dashboard!). Ford took the car back for 3 days under warranty and re-fitted windscreen and replaced the interior carpets. It was annoying, but these things happen and Ford (and the local dealer) did all that would be expected to resolve the problem.

Since then, nothing major has been faulty (90,000 miles, expecting it to do another 50,000 easily).

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable. I have it serviced regularly, but I'm not very good at keeping it clean and tidy. I use it for work which involves carrying awkward shapes which have marked the interior fittings in several places - although these are only cosmetic defects due to my particular use. If it was my wife's car it would be reliable and clean!

I have found it economic, getting 7.5 miles per litre of petrol. This has been consistent from when it was new to it's current 90,000 miles.

It is an Estate version. The load space is good in size and easy to access with large awkward objects. There are tie down positions with pre-cut holes in the boot carpet for access to them.

My model has no built in roof rack and uses the standard ford removable roof rack. This is good, as I don't need a roof rack too often. However, the standard 2 bar ford roof rack is a little noisy. It is fitted by bolts (8 in total) and therefore takes about 10 minutes to fit or remove. However, the roof rack can be disassembled to take up little space in the boot so it is always to hand when needed unexpectedly.

It cost £14,000 when new and is running so well I expect several more years from it yet. Therefore it has been good value for money over a long life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2005

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews