2000 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 9 of 45

2000 Ford Focus ZX3 Zeec from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Zeec Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Could'a been a Contender..

Faults:

Excessive recalls.

Windshield Water leak.

Front Suspension, Spring corrosion and breakage.

Wiring harness for rear hatch worn and broken.

General Comments:

Comfy, Quick if not for the reliability issues I would give it a 10...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

7th Apr 2006, 12:18

Welcome to the "I bought a 2000 Ford Focus and all I got was this lousy reliability" club. I myself own the 2000 Focus Sedan... currently I'm experiencing excessive vibration from the front wheels. Let's hope it's just the alignment.

9th Dec 2009, 17:18

The vibration may be the wheel bearings. Jack the front of the car up and place one hand at 12 and one hand at six on the tire. Then try pushing and pulling it. If you get even 1/8 of an inch of play you need to replace the wheel bearings. Also make sure the car is in neutral when performing this test.

15th May 2011, 11:26

I am looking to buy a used vehicle, and the two cars that I cannot decide between are a 2000 Ford Focus and a 2000 Hyundai Elantra. I've read most of the reviews on this site and another site about the two vehicles, and the way it sounds, it made me change my mind totally. I was leaning more towards the Focus, but now reading all of these comments, I am seriously thinking of the Elantra. Please let me know if there is any other information or concerns I should need to know about either vehicle... and your opinion as to which way I should go. Thanks everybody!!!

Indecisive in Canada.

2000 Ford Focus SE WAGON from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance195000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A waste of money

Faults:

Ignition locked up twice and was repaired at my cost. It now locks up 2 to 3 times per day, but had to resort to hitting the key to make it turn and start the vehicle!

Brakes require replacing at least twice a year and wear abnormally fast. Noisy.

Cruise control spring dropped out onto the pedals just after warranty ran out. Dealer would not repair and suggested it would be extremely expensive to do so.

Heater fan packed it in this week.

Cooling system problems that cannot be identified by a mechanic.

Excessive tire wear. No identified source.

Within first four months of ownership, electrical system shorted out and left me stranded.

General Comments:

The car handles well... when it runs. Other than that I regret ever buying the car. I was previously a GM and Volkswagon owner for years. I was sold on the hype and publications.

Even if I did try to sell it, I doubt I would find a buyer in this region who would be interested in a fair purchase price as the Ford Focus is a four letter word around here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2006

7th Apr 2006, 12:20

About the only thing you can do is get about $3,500 trade in for it. I wouldn't try selling it privately.

2000 Ford Focus SE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Get rid of it while you still can!

Faults:

OK, let's start with recalls. I have had 6 recalls to date. This is a pain, due to the lack of loaner car.

Then, I've had to have the ignition replaced twice. Luckily the first time was under warranty, but the second time it cost my $275.

Now, my wheel cylinders went. So they need replaced as well as the bearings, and brake shoes. $1500

I have to replace tires every year or so.

I have 86,000 miles on this car, and have put at least $6000 in repairs.

Bye bye Focus!!!

General Comments:

Lemon!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

2000 Ford Focus LX 2.0 liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Lots of Potential, To be a money pit

Faults:

Only at 72,000 miles the transmission really went out, a whole gear shot out of the casing, which set me back about 600 bucks.

General Comments:

The car had a some pretty good grab when I first got it, off a used car lot. The performance marks has a lot to do with the after market upgrades I have put in and on it. The car origonally had about 40 miles per galon, but with the upgrades it is about 37 or 35 give or take. It is a smooth ride is you know what you are doing with a manual, it is really easy to stall however, the clutch it very light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

6th Apr 2006, 16:26

Not really fair to blame the gearbox failure on the car when you've hotted up the engine now is it?

5th Sep 2006, 12:35

Forget "Potential", it is a money pit!!! It's not a coincidence that all of us, Ford Focus/Lemon owners are having the same problems with the car. Can't really blame that on maintenance neglect, but only to a faulty, poor manufactured car that the dealer avoids to take responsibility for.

28th Sep 2006, 16:53

Geeze, you've gotta love all this jumping on the "Hate Ford!" bandwagon. I OWN a 2000 Ford Focus SE. It is NOT the worst American car. It's got its problems, but they're not overwhelming. Otherwise I wouldn't be still driving mine.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 152 reviews