1994 Ford Granada scorpio 2.9 V6 12v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent car in every way. Truly!

Faults:

De-ice thermostat

Warped disks

Very Small amount of rust in arches.

General Comments:

This car was truly outstanding in every way, I know there maybe many that do not believe me, but its true!

The car was exceptionally smooth and quiet. Not incredibly fast, but very good considering the size of the car. Very well equipped and everything worked perfectly. Body in excellent condition except for very small amount of rust in arches. Easily and cheaply sorted by local body shop. Even though the Scorpio I owned after was more modern and did hold the road better it was nowhere near as reliable or as easy to work on. It truly is a shame I smashed it up or I would still have it now. Only small niggle would be the stupidly huge fuel consumption. 20mpg average 28mpg if driven real steady on a run! However cheap parts and servicing offset considerably. I do think however I did have an exceptional example as there was receipts for thousands of pounds from the previous owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

1994 Ford Granada Scorpio V6 2.9i, 24 valve Cosworth. from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fast, but unrefined

Faults:

No major faults with the engine or transmision just the interior was quite poorly made with leather door inserts becoming detached.

General Comments:

I had this as a company car and did about 20,000 miles a year in it. It saw lots of motorway use where it is best suited to, It was one of the fastest executives of its era with 0-60 in about 8.3 seconds and it could manage 140. Unfortunately it only came with automatic transmission so the full potential of the engine was never discovered in a road car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 2004

1994 Ford Granada Scorpio 2.0 Twin Cam Injection from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Please keep these leviathans on the road

Faults:

Doesn't want to change into 4th gear.

Drivers side heated seat not working.

Electric mirror switch needed replacing.

Air conditioning fails to operate even though it has been re-charged and a new switch fitted - (this was identified as the fault when traced back through the electrics, both switches I have purchased cost £65!!!).

Minor leak from head gasket at back of engine.

General Comments:

Smooth ride and agile for a big car.

Very quick, seems quicker than other Granada's I have driven, even V6 models.

Will spin the back wheels for ages on a damp road, watch-out boy racers.

Leather interior is pure luxury.

Sound system is amazing, CD and Radio/Tape decks, looks like the cockpit from a 747.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2004

22nd Jul 2004, 09:56

Aircon problem - sounds like the de-icing thermostat may have gone - located under the windscreen wipers at the o/s end of the evaporator plenum.

I can be contacted at afrance@breathemail.net.

Anthony.

1994 Ford Granada scorpio cosworth 2.9 24v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

High performance super luxury cruiser

Faults:

I've only recently purchased the car an M-reg, it came with a few niggly defects most of which have already been sorted out. Mechanically it is superb. A few dashboard bulbs need (ed) replacing, paintwork needs a good T-cut, interior bonnet catch has broken etc, etc.

General Comments:

This has got to be the fastest, smoothest and most comfortable luxury tank ever!!! The car is huge and spacious. The seats are electrically operated front and rear and heated too. Front seats are 10 way adjustable!! It's got loads of toys; electric sunroof, windows, mirrors, cruise control, ABS, CD/Radio/tape player with automatic volume control, Power steering, Automatic etc, etc, the list goes on and on. The brakes are mega!! And the performance well... How about 0-60 in 8.3 seconds for an auto AND the size and weight of an Elephant is simply amazing. To be honest nothing really happens below about 3500 rpm and then... rip-roaring, g-force, push-you-back-in-your-seat, hold-on-tight, change of underpants stuff!! The car will get you to 100 mph in next to no time at all. My only criticism is the fuel economy which, unless you've got a feather-foot, is pretty poor!! Around about 16mpg on average around town. I'm probably going to have to look for something more economical as I really can't afford to run it. At least I can now say "I've had the COSWORTH experience!!""

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

18th May 2004, 13:05

Brilliant review, couldn't have said it better myself. Just 3 days ago I bought a Scorpio Cosworth and I have to say I've been grinning inanely ever since. As you said, the luxury and specification is massive, and the engine is a gem!

15th Aug 2006, 15:22

How did you achieve 0-60 in less than five seconds? What modifications were made to the engine and gearbox?

21st Oct 2006, 14:12

He clearly says 0-60 in 8.3 seconds, not under 5.

25th Oct 2006, 10:14

Had my P reg Cozzie for 3 weeks now - getting about 20mpg round town, and nearly 30 on a run if I can resist putting my foot down.

I get about 8 seconds or so to 60, and the exhaust noise once the second set of intakes opens up at around 3500 rpm is just sweet.

£1400 for a luxury barge with only 40K on the clock - can't get much better than that!

29th Mar 2008, 15:39

7,4 sec. 0-60mph. 1991 Scorpio Cosworth Giha Executive. Removed catalysators and mounted a k&n-filter.

24th Oct 2009, 11:48

What is the top speed anyone has had out of their Granny Cosworth?

I've got 170 on the clock and got it up to 150mph and lost my bottle (on a track of course).