1998 Ford Ka Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1998 Ford Ka 2 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Viva HC

Summary:

If you fit in, it could be the only car you need

Faults:

Faulty connection between the stereo and the speakers.

Fixed under warranty after some haggling!

General Comments:

Handles well, but is still comfortable - but could do with more power and a higher fifth gear, it can be a bit noisy at high speed.

Seat might be a bit too high for tall drivers, even when on its lowest setting.

The engine can sound a bit gruff, but hasn't missed a beat so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

1998 Ford Ka 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

Water leaks into the car from the threshold on both sides, also a slight leakage in the boot. Ford have told me that the leaks are because I park my KA on a slope. I never had this problem with any other make of car.

General Comments:

I will never buy ford again, especially a KA. It is obviously a design fault that no one wants to know about. I wish I had kept my Corsa!!!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2000

11th Sep 2001, 11:18

I thoroughly agree, this is a terrible, unreliable, poorly built embarrasment to Ford.

6th Apr 2003, 09:32

I found the ford ka a decent reliable car. I have never had a problem with my ka and I think it is a brilliant choice for a first car. It is cheap to run and very spacious inside despite how it looks from the outside.

1998 Ford Ka 1 1.3 EFi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 EFi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles

Faults:

Nothing so far!

General Comments:

Great little car, but could do with more power.

PAS essential for a great driving experience. Always makes me smile when I'm driving!

Engine very noisy and the dash rattles.

Becomes uncomfortable on longer journeys because of the tiny amount of leg room! But fine for those under 6'.

Engine struggles with more than one person in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2000

1998 Ford Ka 1 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15300 miles

Summary:

Low cost, low maintenance, high performance Ka!

Faults:

The only problem that I have had was after about 15 months of ownership. The brakes began to feel a little slack and didn't seem as responsive as normal. This was easily rectified with a free brake check at my local Ford dealer. I have had no problem since.

General Comments:

I love my Ford Ka which I got when I was 18 years old on Ford's Options scheme. When my 2 year deal ended, I borrowed the money that I needed to buy my Ka. I borrowed a little extra too, so I could equip it with a CD player and over-sized alloys to add to its black bodywork, spoiler, aluminium gear knob & sporty harness pads.

The car is great for around town AND motorway driving and is so easy to park. I recommend the Ka to anyone who wants a cheap and reliable, tidy little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2000

1998 Ford Ka 1 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance48995 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa 12v

Summary:

Good town car, gets pricey with air con and other comfort goodies though

Faults:

My car is used as a driving school car from 8am to 7pm, 5 days a week. I use it for domestic and pleasure use after those times, and of course all weekend.

I've had the car 18 months and have covered over 48,000 miles with no problems at all. I've had to replace the battery and both front tyres, due to excessive wear, but no more than I'd expect considering what I use the car for. However I am experiencing detonation, bad plugs? We'll see...

General Comments:

Good all round car, happiest zipping around town although more than able to storm the motorway with the rest.

Front seats could be more supportive, both the backrest and the base, as sitting in the Ka all day, every day highlights the very small seats. This causes back ache and aching legs.

Remembering though my Ka has not seen a dealership and receives only routine servicing every 10k from myself, I cannot fault it.... lets hope it stays that way for another 50k...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2000

11th Jun 2003, 05:53

The engine detonation you mention isn't uncommon. to be honest the 1.3 engine in the Ka is a disaster and it seems that at some time or another every ka, from 9K to 110K, will get camshaft trouble.

Plugs are a likelihood, apparently leaving them for more than 10K at a time means you run the risk of them rusting in, which is a costly job to have repaired involving drilling them out and then alloy welding the threads!

23rd Dec 2003, 16:14

Interesting comment about seats causing backache. My Father is on his second KA (base model). He loves them. I have to say I love driving it from time to time. It's like a go-kart. The main problem are the seats. Even on short journeys I find the seats very hard and the seat back is rock hard and pushes into the small of your back. I would hate to live with it on a daily basis.

Having said that there is plenty of room for a tall driver (I'm 6' 4"). It's good fun. Looks good from the front, but ugly from the back. Very good value. The base model totally lacks any equipment you would expect from modern cars, but there's less to go wrong and it's easy enough to live with.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 26 reviews