1997 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland


Wouldn't buy another as I was badly let down by Ford's service


After my 80K service, the fuel consumption immediately got worse - from 380-400 miles per tankful to somewhere around 320. Also within days my speedo and fuel gauge started cutting out intermittently. The garage denied both had anything to do with them, but after I found they had fitted a tyre on the wrong way I'm not sure I believe them! (Polar Ford - Stevenage UK). 3000 miles later and several visits to Ford dealers and the problem with my dials STILL cannot be found!!! Most annoying - for me and my wallet!!!

General Comments:

Poor Ford dealer had a lack of interest in a problem seemingly caused by them in 1st place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

17th Feb 2001, 00:49

My Mondeo has also had tyres fitted incorrectly repeatedly. Again, this was at Ford garages.

27th Feb 2001, 04:33

I've also got a Mondeo 1.8 LX with alloys on it. It's a very nice car, but three of the directional tyres have been put on the wrong way! Ford need to get their act together.

25th Mar 2001, 03:26

I have had the same level of service from Gowrings of Newbury (Ford Dealer) with my ST24.

They fitted 2 front tyres the wrong way round and then insisted it made no difference to tyre wear!!

Also have had them change plugs for me but they forgot to do the back two!!

Maybe this is because they are hard to get too, watch for this if having service done!!

22nd Dec 2002, 06:26

I have an st24 and booked it in to my local ford garage in Uxbridge for what I considered to be routine work. This included a service and to sort out a problem of engine pinking at 3000rpm. I was shocked to find that when I got the car back only the front three plugs had been changed, it still had the old oil filter with new oil added and to top it off the pinking still remains. Needless to say that particular garage will not be seeing my car again!

29th Dec 2002, 09:46

Our Mondeo has survived well, but the Ford dealer that it was purchased from was less than impressive.

After it's first service, they appraoched with a bill of over £700. We only had essentials fixed, bringing it to £400.

The rest was done at a local garage for under £100.

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Does everything reasonably well


Front tires wear very quickly.

General Comments:

The car handles better than any I have ever driven in this class.

For an automatic it is very quick, with a 0-60 time of less than ten seconds.

Fuel consumption is good too.

However the interior could have been improved from the previous model generation.

The seats are not very supportive when cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

1997 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Great value V6 monster


The car sometimes stalls when cold, but then restarts fine, it's going back next week.

The CD Auto changer is playing up.

New exhaust needed £277 for the back and mid section.

New tyres, Avon ZZ1 205/50/ZR16, £85 each.

General Comments:

I'm averaging 15 mpg, probably due to my driving style, I got 25 mpg on a long run.

I find the car slides across the road if a bend is taken too fast, almost as if the suspension is too hard.

Easily keeps up with BMW 325's and 535's as I tend to go BMW thrashing.

When the traction control kicks in the accelerator pedal pushes your foot back, this was a bit of a shock when it first happened.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2001

11th Mar 2001, 07:30

I'm glad someone else has had the same thing happen, Twice now when going into a roundabout I have nearly lost the back end. I wouldn't say as a rule I was going that fast, but maybe you get to used to its good handling and take it for granted!

3rd Jun 2001, 13:39

I have also had a rather scary time on a roundabout where I thought I was driving a rear wheel drive car the way back end came round, I agree that the suspension seems to be the key to this.