1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 TD from UK and Ireland


Some great examples for only £3000


There was a small leak in the boot.

Interior fan switch faulty.

General Comments:

This car is nicely nippy around town and is very economical.

If you keep it well serviced and oil topped up it runs like a dream.

Spacious and comfertable.

Loads of boot space for a family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5litre V6 from UK and Ireland


Real value to buy, but watch out for high bills if things go wrong


Alarm @ 24,000 miles.

Front Lower wishbones @ 38,000 miles.

Torque Converter @ 54,000 miles.

General Comments:

There is ample performance with reasonable fuel economy (30mpg) & good handling.

Plenty of space with comfort.

Engine noise is almost zero & road noise well suppressed.

Level of equipment & appointments high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


A brilliant car


Have a very light leak of oil (just a little drip really) Cannot see where its coming from. It drips onto the exhaust, then after a while you can smell burning. I clean the oil off after about three weeks.

I can hear a slight vibration noise coming from the console where the gear lever sits. When I touch the console it stops.

Had to have a new RED key made up, so that I could have an extra key. This cost £90. (No red key given to me when I bought the car, Privately)

General Comments:

I find this car runs superb, and handles first class.

I could not wish for a smarter interior.

The shape is second to none.

When out driving I feel proud to be associated with this fine model, and very contented.

Although very high mileage, the car performs like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland


A reliable, comfortable, pleasant car to drive


Miss-firing when cold, tip, check the viscosity of the engine oil, on the Ford Zetec engine it's crucial! I found this out the hard way. My fault, no-one else's!

L/H C.V. joint very noisy when I bought the car.

Flashing air-bag light.

General Comments:

Considering that Ford developed this car as a mile cruncher for company reps, what better car to own privately? cheap second-hand parts available at almost every breakers yard, comparatively cheap parts from most outlets, and fairly commonly available too!

Handling is more than adequate for what is quite a large car, OK. the 1.6 is a bit on the laclustre side, but here in Ireland road tax is based on engine size, and the 1.6 costs almost €350 a year to tax!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2002

28th Nov 2002, 03:44

Please be so kind and tell me what problem you experienced with your engine and oil.

I use Mobile Synthetic 5W50 that is supposed to be good, but the oil consumption jumped from 60 grams to 120 grams / 1000 km at only 40000 km on board. I drive hard sometimes, but I don't believe a 2 liter engine should suffer from that.

Send your mail please to svainternational2002@yahoo.com.


4th Jun 2004, 13:02

Hi there, I wonder if you can help. my mondeo airbag warning light keeps flashing do you know what could be wrong, thanks ctcripp@yahoo.com.

1997 Ford Mondeo Si 2.0 Zetec from UK and Ireland


Excellent driver's car powerful yet refined


Nothing as yet, car seems to be zipping along. Service at end of July.

General Comments:

This car I have got is really quick of the mark for a large car.

I find that it is free revving, and always want's more.

The seating is extremely comfortable and excellent on long journeys.

Seeing that the other car I had was a Skoda and I had that for 3 years and never had a fault with it the Mondeo now has a lot to live upto.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland


Slow moving vehicle - let 19 16v's through!


After a couple of months, the gearbox packed in, it kept jumping out of 3rd and 5th gear regularly, thus meaning straight to the dealers for replacement under warranty.

At the minute the electric sunroof leaks slightly in heavy rain - back to the dealers shortly for this.

I have not had any other problems apart from the usual replacing of pads and discs.

General Comments:

I love the grey leather interior and all the other interior gadgets. It is so comfortable and cosy.

However I am very disappointed with the top end performance. About a week ago I was flat out at 120 MPH, when this Renault 19 16v absolutely tore past me. I just could not catch it at all. For a 2.5 V6 engine this is very poor.

This is not the first time I have had my doubts about its performance. It seems to lack grunt when driving at speed. I bought the car hopefully for some power, but how wrong could I be!!.

Maybe I have a goosed engine or these cars could be overrated by other people.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2002

2nd Mar 2002, 11:23

Renault 19 16v's are animals though, very complex but often underrated!

22nd Aug 2002, 13:12

I Own a Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5 V6. There must be something wrong with your engine, as this car packs a hell of a punch. I have reached speeds of 142mph and it still wants to go. It also has loads of power for overtaking from speeds of 60 to 110mph. It seems to me you should have your engine checked.