1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


A quick reliable bargain


Nothing, other than a minor problem with the central locking which has yet to be fixed.

General Comments:

Given the cars size it handles and performs very well.

It just gets on with the job at hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2002

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland


It's great fun to drive!!!


Front tires needed replacing twice.

Wind-screen wash has broken.

General Comments:

The car turns like a train, Accelerates really well and is quite fast.

The boot is big.

The seats are very comfortable.

It's got quite a lot of space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2002

9th Mar 2004, 18:44

Turns like a train? Don't you mean handles like on rails. My mate has one and it really does defy the laws of physics at times.

1997 Ford Mondeo Ghia 2.0i from UK and Ireland


Good value family car with good performance hidden under an unassuming image


I've only had the car since June so its still early days.

It was in excellent condition when I got it. However with 2 boys (aged 2&6) it never takes long to get that 'trashed' look inside!

The only thing has been rattling rear speakers which appear to have resolved itself.

Someone stole the aerial when on holiday but it makes no difference to FM reception and have not replaced it yet.

General Comments:

Compared to my previous car this is like a limo. It is very comfortable and quiet on the road.

We travel on motor-ways a lot on holiday and it eats up the miles effortlessly so everyone is less stressed. Its so much less noisy on the motorway than the old Volvo. A car obviously designed for motorway travel. It cruises at 85-90 MPH without any trouble.

The boot is pretty big and enough for most family trips. We went on a camping holiday for a week and the boot managed to take most stuff although there is also plenty of space between seats and at feet etc. Even with this extra stuff inside my two sons were comfortable enough in the back.

I have been surprised at the petrol consumption. Our last car was a 1400cc and really ate up the petrol about town. This car is certainly heavier around town but no worse than the Volvo on the motorway or on smaller roads.

The air con is useful although you really need to use it to demist the windscreen.

Seating is comfortable and the height adjustable drivers seat means you can get an excellent driving position.

Off the motorway on smaller roads the car handles very well on corners and has bags of acceleration when you need it - although it sounds a bit gruff when you do. Otherwise the engine ticks over very quietly.

Full electric windows and mirrors is useful and the extras like front fog lights are welcome. However can someone tell me why you need more than 5 different time settings on the intermittent wiper setting?

There could be more storage in the cabin but it is adequate.

The car is pretty unspectacular and to be frank, boring, to look at but my model looks very sleek and uncomplicated which is a good thing as far as I'm concerned - a bit of a wolf in sheeps clothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

11th Sep 2001, 06:43

I find the 5 wiper time delay settings great. The Sierra 2.0 GLX had a variable control which worked fine also. Both above types allow you to match the wiper delay to the rate of rain fall - the wipers are not wiping a nearly dry screen.

The Base Escort has only 1 speed intermittent and many times the rain is too light for single continuous, but too heavy for the single intermittent. Then when stopped at traffic lights, the single intermittent is then too fast.

1997 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand


Not the best


Both front doors damaged by the Ford dealer.

Performance was pathetic.

Auto box clunky.

General Comments:

Local Ford Ddaler damaged both front doors due to negligence.

Continual problems with no-go, dealer had the car 5 times, once for 3 days, got it back and it stopped dead at traffic lights for no reason straight afterwards. Things got heated after that!

Attitude of local Ford dealers are terrible and I'm not the only one to say that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

18th May 2001, 06:02

Ford dealers are idiots, and it's about time they admitted that their warranty's are not worth the paper they're written on. I got a warranty off Ford for a year and I've had to spend £1200 out of my own pocket. Ford dealers should hold their heads in shame.

28th May 2001, 17:27

There is one particular Ford dealer in Auckland NZ, (the one in the Central City), my advice is to keep away from them at all costs!.

Incompetent would be a compliment for that lot.