1998 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 13 of 17

1998 Ford Mondeo Ghia 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance62753 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Fantastic value

Faults:

Nothing other than a broken seat hinge caused by my dad driving like Colin McRae on a country road

Bumper cracked under small impact less than 2mph

Seat height adjust motor stopped due to loose conection.

General Comments:

This car is a fantastic performer.

However if you drive it hard it goes through fuel like a drunk through booze.

There is not enough head room in the rear for a 5ft 11ins male.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

1998 Ford Mondeo verona 1.8i Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8i Zetec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

A lot of car for the money

Faults:

Recalled by ford for a rear brake valve change, gratis of course!!!

Replaced front wish bones as they are prone to splitting on these models.

Replaced the track rod end once also.

Other than that nothing at all!!!

General Comments:

The thing does handle like its on rails for such a big car.

Responsive yet smooth and not overly noisy too.

The stereo could be better and the interior more sporty like the exterior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2002

17th Jun 2006, 14:38

Wonderful car, handles like a dream.

1998 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance670000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Excelllent, Value, cheap to run and good performance

Faults:

Just Servicing, I am happy as Larry with my Mondeo and the mileage is high.

Need rear wheel bearing, suspension disc and pads. To be expected on high milleage car. Friend who does servicing recons apart from that its perfect. Drives like new. Been told to replace propeller on water pump as if that goes serious overheating problems. Resulting in engine damage.

General Comments:

I don't understand why people are complaining about running costs. My 2544cc does about 30-32mpg. If I drive hard it pretty well stays at 28mpg average at the lowest. I think for a largeish engine this is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2002

19th Dec 2003, 03:22

How do you manage that fuel consumption? The very best I can do on motorway is 32mpg. If it only gets used for the school run and shopping, it can be as low as 20mpg. And it's not as if I live in the middle of town - we're in the countryside on the outskirts of Reading.

Simon.

1998 Ford Mondeo Aircon 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Summary:

I believe that driving the Power Steering Pump, off the Injector Pump is a very bad idea

Faults:

Injector Pump Shaft Broke at 82,000 Miles,... a disaster!!!

General Comments:

I really liked this car until it stopped on the roadside. The Injector Pump Shaft had broken and will cost approximately 2,500 to 3,000 Euro to Replace.

I was amazed to find that Ford had designed the car, so that the power steering pump is driven by a pulley on the Injector Pump. After making inquiries it appears that injector pump shafts have given trouble due to the additional pressure of having to drive the power steering pump.

Ford Ireland and the Ford Main Dealer where the car was purchased, were no help at all. I will NEVER buy another Ford!!!

I would like to know if the new model Mondeo is designed the same way? Has anybody else had a similar problem with a Ford Mondeo Turbo Diesel?? If so let me know at :- tomward@eircom.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

20th Oct 2002, 13:30

Just a note to let you know that Ford Ireland Ltd. and I have brought this matter to satisfactory conclusion.

22nd Oct 2007, 06:00

Weird - mine's done 140,000 miles and has never had any fuel pump trouble.

I want to get rid of this car, but it's just so utterly reliable I can't justify it. The most serious thing that has ever gone wrong with it is when the reversing light switch packed up.

1998 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A high performance luxury bargain

Faults:

Only three very minor faults in one year of ownership.

The rear offside passenger door speaker distorted at any volume, which was cured for the sum of sixteen pounds.

The reostat control for the heater fan was burnt out.

The washer bottle hose dislodged itself from it's connection.

General Comments:

All in all this is cracking ford and I am really pleased with the way it drives.

With the half leather and beautiful interior it's more like a luxury saloon than a pocket rocket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 64 reviews