1998 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 9 of 17

1998 Ford Mondeo TD Ghia 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles

Summary:

A luxurious family car

Faults:

Diesel Injection Pump fault. The fuel was terribly leaking. Heavy black smoke and sluggish driving. Replaced with a pump from a salvage for £130.Not Bad as the new pump costed around £1200.

Pre-Combustion chamber worn out. Reconditioned and got it fitted for a cost of £500.

A crack in the rear bumper for an impact well below 2mph.

General Comments:

Good luxury car for that kind of money.

Suspension is good, but bit stiff sometimes.

No starting problem at all.

Very effective air-conditioning system.

Zooms and floats on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

1998 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Luxury cruiser with more toys than a child's bedroom

Faults:

The lit drivers sun visor broke, costing nearly 100 pounds for a new one.

Other than that, only wear and tear items.

When sold, it appeared that the drivers heated seat was beginning to fail and the gear linkage adjuster was broken.

General Comments:

A very comfortable car with multi adjustable electric drivers seat and leather all round.

This car is just right for fans of gadgets: play with the multi-function computer, heated seats and electric everything for hours on end..

Performance was good enough, especially considering this model was the large estate version. Needless to say, being an estate the loadspace was vast.

Economy was reasonably good, returning 31mpg in mixed driving with a gentle right foot - most of the time!

The dealer was rubbish though, even managing to severe the brake wear indicator cable when changing the brake pads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

18th Jan 2004, 01:26

I fully agree with the above comments. I love all the toys that my Ghia x has come with. However, I have only had it a couple of weeks so time will only tell. My dealer seem OK. Has just replaced the off-side wing mirror as the electric didn't work. The boot was leaking so he replaced both rear light clusters as he tells me that he could see the gap the water was coming in through, and a common problem anyway. I had the MK1 Mondy, but this is the bizz. I love driving this car!

17th Nov 2004, 17:13

98R Ghia X as well, and my passenger visor flap was in the glovebox when I bought it! Can't have been used much I wouldn't have thought, dodgy part by sounds of problems people are having.

Then again its hardly been an issue to me! Things could be worse...

15th Jan 2005, 09:20

I've just bought one about 5min ago. 41000 miles full dealer history all keys full mot and tax what a car it like new. I paid 2495 with part x of 1200 for a p reg escort. ill report later on how it is, but the good news is the visor isn't broken, he he.

12th Sep 2006, 14:50

I have a '97 P reg Ghia X and the passenger sun visor cover flops around due to a broken spring. I had a '93 Mk1 Ghia before, with the sliding cover and 2 (YES...TWO) light settings! Far superior to the arrangement on my current car. Why the hell did Ford change it?!

3rd Feb 2009, 10:16

I guess Ford changed it because it was cheaper.

Having owned several MK1 and MK2 Mondeos, I would say that there were several cost cutting moves on the MK2, i.e. door handle lights, driver's boot release, boot seatback release, vanity mirrors, seat materials, etc. The early MK2 Ghias didn't even have alloys or air-con!!

Such a shame, as the MK2 is so much better looking and had much better gear change on the manuals. Plus, all the MK1s are pretty much scrapyard material now, with the odd exception.

1998 Ford Mondeo Ghia 2.0 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Very Reliable Family Hatch

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car!

General Comments:

This car is an excellent family hatch. It performs well even at low revs and returns low to mid 30's MPG.

There's loads of adjustment on the seats and I have found this to be by far the most comfortable car in its class for long distance driving.

It has never missed a beat and always starts on the button.

It's always worth changing the oil regularly - the Zetec engine requires special oil, but is not expensive. I change it every 6000 mls to keep it smooth and quiet.

It's worth investing in the ghia as the extra luxuries are well worth while - it's nice to be able to control the rear windows and decide whether or not to let the kids operate them!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 64 reviews