2000 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 6 of 9

2000 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Pretty good all round car

Faults:

Alloy wheels needed to be replaced due to corrosion around the valve bodies when the car had done 30,000 miles after about 30 months. Ford paid 70% of the cost, but I still had to pay £165, which I think is extremely poor. I do not think it is unreasonable to expect the wheels to last the lifetime of the car. Having looked a t a number of Ford cars with the same 5-spoke alloy wheels there are a lot of drivers who must have the same problem of having to inflate the tyres on a weekly basis.

General Comments:

I have had no reply to a letter to the Ford head office.

My second Mondeo, a reasonable car with plenty of space, pretty good fuel economy (33 +mpg).

Expensive main dealer service costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

2000 Ford Mondeo Ghia 5 door hatchback 2L petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2L petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A reliable, good-looking and speedy motor

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

An excellent car. No mechanical or electrical faults experienced.

My only niggle is driver seat comfort - I get backache after 50 miles. (Previous Mondeo, Sierras seemed more comfortable in this respect.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

2000 Ford Mondeo zetec-s 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A smooth powerful tourer

Faults:

Air conditioning unit. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

This is the third that I have owned. The other two being Si variants. The Value for money that I have had from each has been outstanding. Each was bought with the intention of covering 25000 miles year, and each done this with easy.

Current Car

Very comfortable. Very reliable. Very smooth possible to find that your going far faster than you thought. ST24 Rally Sport Appearance Pack smartens the drab exterior considerably.

Motorway MPG a little heavy 32-33. Sure I'll have another probably a new shape TDC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

2000 Ford Mondeo ST200 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Wolf in sheeps clothing!!

Faults:

Drivers door central locking motor failed (under warranty).

Free Safety recall - Hand brake replaced.

General Comments:

The handling on this car is very good especially as it does not compromise on comfort.

Good driving posture and very modern cabin make it a pleasure to drive.

The only thing that lets it down is the Ford dealer (what a pity!!)

Easy to Mod..

Superchip, Exhaust, Free flow filter give it a very nice growl!!

Still a head turner and a very rare sight on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2002

24th Apr 2006, 14:01

Sure is a wolf in sheeps clothing mate, good review!!!

25th Jun 2006, 04:03

You must have got a good ST200. I have had lot's of thing go wrong, which cost me a lot to put right. Only good thing was the power it had, and it does look good. Yes, it does turn heads when you are on the road

2000 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Build niggles spoil a good package

Faults:

High level brake light fell off of mounting after 4,000 miles. Replaced at 10,000 and 20,000 miles service. Fell off within 500 miles of replacement.

CV (Constant Velocity) joint failed at 15,000 miles.

Air conditioning failed at 22,000 miles.

CV joint failed again at 30,000 miles.

Now due for 30,000 mile service - and I have given up on getting the high level light fixed properly!

General Comments:

For a mid engined family saloon, the Zetec Mondeo is a good package.

Excellent chassis and suspension setup give great feedback to the driver. Power steering does not affect the direct involvement of the driver.

There is enough in the way of creature comforts and gadgets, without being overwhelmed with buttons.

The high level brake light has been irritating, particularly when it detached at night. Swinging around inside the car, flashing on and off as I hit the pedals. Very irritating.

However, the main falling down point for me has been the poor build quality of the CV joint. A car that can be pushed through the corners should be engineered to be able to cope with the strain of doing just that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

16th Jul 2005, 13:21

I have a Zetec-S 2001 (Mark 2). Bought secondhand at 46k seemingly in excellent order. At 50k CV joints both replaced due to wear, along with two front springs as one had just broke, previously had new anti-roll bar bushes to cure handling problems. Was not expecting suspension work for a long time, but after reading above review maybe we'll be in the garage again shortly? Admittedly the car is driven hard, but how do Ford expect their customers who buy sporting models to drive?

24th Apr 2006, 08:10

There is a known fault with CV joints on some late mk2 Mondeos. It's caused by a build error where the rubber gaiters were fitted incorrectly at the factory. Water and grit gets in and the grease gets out leading to premature failure.

Replacing the joint, gaiter and clips (don't reuse any of the old parts!) and fitting the new gaiter carefully and correctly will resolve the problem.

My 2000 Mondeo's CV joints were clicking and popping when I bought it. It cost me UKP 80 for two quality aftermarket CV joint kits, and an afternoon of work. The car has since done 30,000 miles without further problem. The seller dropped 250 quid for it as well! Bargain!

Not a big job to do either. About an hour per side to get the driveshaft out, and about 20 minutes per side to swap the joint, grease it and fit the new gaiter and clips. Nice bit of engineering the Mondeo too - everything comes apart and slots back together nice and easy. Much better than earlier Fords, and overall a lovely car to work on.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews