2000 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2000 Ford Mondeo 5 door Ghia X (Mark 2) 2.0L petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

I hope this is a rogue or this the last Ford I will buy!

Faults:

Rear air bag module was replaced.

Rubber pads placed on the inside of the hatch door to stop knocking sounds when driving.

Replaced the sunroof switch panel housing as a rattle was coming from it, however, it still rattles!

The steering wheel symmetry was bad and is not resolved.

The fuel consumption is very poor and is not resolved.

The handbrake needed adjustment after the car rolled into a wall!

When the A/C is off, the ducts are not closed off and it blows potentially dangerous hot air on to your legs - not resolved.

General Comments:

When I first saw the "new" Mondeo at the Birmingham NEC in late 2000, I was impressed with the aesthetics and build quality. The former opinion remains, however, having driven Mondeos for 6 years, I am most disappointed with the many rattles and problems I have been experiencing since day 1. To add insult to injury my regular servicing department appears not to offer answers to the problems that are acknowledged and frankly I am fed up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

22nd Aug 2001, 00:39

Hm! Working for a Midlands Police Force, we have several of these new smart looking looking V6s. So we are not the only persons with concerns about the handbrake! The only problem is that our licences are endorsed even if the altercation (!) with a wall (etc) is not our fault - yes our vehicle (s) have rolled too and we know its an intrinsic design fault. We are supposed to leave the car in 1st when parked - do us a favour!!!

3rd Sep 2001, 14:23

< We are supposed to leave the car in 1st when parked >

Yes, this would be an acceptable requirement on a 20 year old banger; but NOT on a brand new £20,000 Mondeo. What can be so hard about producing a working handbrake?

10th Feb 2003, 03:21

I have a '97 Mondeo.

When I pull the handbrake I feel like a monkey. The position is wrong. The design is wrong and the brake is dangerous inefficient unless you pull it to the chin. The dealer told me that is nothing wrong with the rear brakes or the handle. Conclusion?!

2000 Ford Mondeo ST200 2.5 V6 24v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 24v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Proper Rapid

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Tuned up Duratec pumping 205 brake.

I had the car for 4000 miles and decided to make some changes.

Vortech Supercharger kit.

Jan-Speed rear exhaust.

New chip.

New air filter.

The result...

Over 300bhp and it absolutely flies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

9th Jul 2001, 05:36

Don't you think that Ford knew what they were doing when the ST200 was created? It REALLY annoys me when people mess with something best left alone. The value is destroyed and it makes untouched examples even rarer to find. Isn't 202 BHP enough for you?

30th Jul 2001, 06:32

How do you keep the front wheels on the ground?

4th Sep 2001, 01:02

What kind of 0-60 times does your car do?

9th Dec 2001, 13:14

What are you talking about?! 202bhp is nice and powerful, but some people including myself like very powerful cars. In this day an age, with a Mondeo 'untouched example' has no relevance. For something like a 1986 Sierra RS Cosworth or XR4i yes, Mondeo no.

What sort of power are you getting? 0-60 and top speeds?

28th Nov 2002, 01:46

Tell me about crankshaft bearings at this power!

Send at svainternational@yahoo.com.

7th Jul 2004, 18:03

I too have looked at getting a supercharger kit for my ST24.

Vortech do the kit, supplied at £1900ish.

The reason for not fitting turbo's is simple; there isn't any room. They just won't fit.

Hope this helps.

2000 Ford Mondeo Verona 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carBMW 318i

Summary:

Excellent value

Faults:

Nothing (at 3 months old).

General Comments:

Great value for money (only £9500 new!), one of the last of 'old' shape Mondeos. Having previously driven a 1998 BMW 318i I can assure you that this wasn't the 'come down' it could have been. Only thing I'd say is that the Mondeo does have a tendency to steam up inside!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

18th May 2001, 14:25

I would agree with the comment on steaming up. This seems to occur more when the air conditioning has just been turned off, during wet weather.

27th Sep 2001, 18:31

The steaming-up is a problem for me too. I find the heater is almost useless in resolving the problem.

29th Oct 2001, 11:45

These run out Mondeos were great value. My Brother in law works for Ford, so we get a staff discount and had a new Mondeo on the road for 7400ukp!!!

13th Jan 2002, 06:54

Update - This car is now one year old and has done 9000 miles. Only fault is that the rear (high level) brake light fell off last month! The dealer kindly screwed it back into place. Still excellent value.

23rd May 2004, 01:06

At 28,000 miles it is now time to part company. The boot seems to have sprung a leak and the air conditioning has packed up : (Have traded it in for £4000 against a new BMW 5 Series :)

C Ya Old mate.

2000 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5L Duratec from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5L Duratec Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65 kilometres
Most recent distance6650 kilometres
Previous carKia Sportage

Summary:

Where is the cruise control?

Faults:

The aircon is a bloody joke. The first time it lasted 3 weeks, and now at 10 weeks old the dealer is having their 3rd go at fixing it.

Also the stiching in the seats is coming out.

General Comments:

Very good on the safety side of things.

A shame about the aircon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd December, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews