2001 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 2 of 13

2001 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDdi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDdi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Sensible

Faults:

Exhaust fell off at 66000 miles.

Alternator at 69000.

Handbrake issues including cables and lever.

Rear subframe bushes.

General Comments:

Love this car.

Returns 40 MPG around town, 50 MPG on a run.

A bit boring, but a pleasure to drive.

2.0 TDdi engine, slagged off by a lot of people, but it's a very good engine, with a 0-60 time of 9.3 seconds; this is pretty good for a 2 ton car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2008

17th May 2012, 14:34

Less than 1400kg, two tonnes LOL!!!

2001 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

One of the best cars I have owned, and I intend to keep it for a while yet

Faults:

Suspension replaced due to wear and tear.

Water pump leaked.

Heater matrix burst.

Coil pack and leads replaced due to misfire.

General Comments:

Comfortable well mannered reasonably reliable car that is a joy to drive.

Engine is smooth and had a good spread of power all through the rev range.

Auto box is smooth and easy to control using the throttle and switch on side of selector lever.

The brakes are OK, but they could be better, especially for an Automatic where engine braking is limited.

Headlights could be better, but with high efficiency bulbs has improved.

Interior is well put together and is as tough as old boots. The seats are comfortable and support the back and legs well.

The Air con works well and keeps the car cool in hot weather. It also keeps the car condensation free in the winter.

The boot is large and the hatchback allows easy access to the boot, but the wheel arches do reduce the effective width of the boot floor.

The split rear seats could be better designed, with the rear seat cushion split along with the east back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

2001 Ford Mondeo Zetec 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

A whole lot of car for the money

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A very enjoyable car to own and drive.

Big comfortable seats with plenty of legroom. A spacious cabin with a quality finish and quite a luxurious feel. All the gadgets (air con, electric windows & seats) to keep everyone comfortable.

Quiet on the road. Handles well and gives excellent performance.

For the money I paid (under £4000), I just don't think I could have got a better car from any other manufacturer. Thanks, Ford.

Even though the car was five years old when I bought it, it still looks in excellent condition and there are no signs of major faults.

Only small niggles - e.g. air con 'on' light almost impossible to see on a sunny day, slight clunky suspension over bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

2001 Ford Mondeo Trend 2.0 petrol from Netherlands

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Reliable, spacious car

Faults:

The clutch had to be replaced because it was worn out. This was only the first time it had to be replaced. According to the dealership a clutch will normally only hold for about 150.000 kilometres. This one had done 250.000!

All four doors had to be repaired (under warranty) because of corrosion.

The car had always been serviced by the local dealership. They’ve showed me the car's service history; no serious repairs had ever been necessary.

General Comments:

Even with a very high mileage, the engine runs very smoothly. Although the 2 litre engine only has 20 bhp more than the 1.8, it's much faster and smoother. It's even a bit more fuel efficient.

The handling of the car is very good. Especially when compared to the handling of the previous Mondeo model.

When using cruise control it's even quite fuel efficient.

The interior and boot space is big enough for a family, even when you're going on a holiday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2006

2001 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13500 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Good handling and Comfy, unreliable

Faults:

The car had problems starting at 15,000 miles. Took it to Ford Dealership who plugged a computer into the car to find the fault. Said that they re calibrated the engine management system. Same fault occurred again at 20,000 miles and regularly since then - never really fixed.

25,000 miles - Windscreen wipers.

30,000 miles - Rear windscreen water jet no longer working - repaired.

50,000 miles - Front suspension.

61,500 miles - Rear axle.

62,000 miles - Clutch.

General Comments:

The Mondeo is a fine and comfortable car, but is a bit unreliable at the moment never out the garage. But I am left a bit dissapointed with everything that has gone wrong with the car.

I had a Ford Focus before the Mondeo and nothing went wrong with it. I think I will go for another make of car next time.

Quite thirsty on fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2006

16th Jul 2006, 12:58

The Mondeo is a front wheel drive car with fully independent rear suspension. I would love to know where you think the rear axle is on this car, and bearing in mind it doesn't actually exist, how on earth it could have gone wrong.

Mine's done 120,000 and had none of the problems you mention. The original clutch is still holding up well too.

19th Aug 2006, 16:28

You must be the only one who thinks this as they're built like tanks. They will do 200k easy with not many faults. They were built for hard fleet use so you must have thrashed it and burnt the clutch out yourself as they seldom go.

12th Sep 2006, 08:14

I agree with the comments above.

My 2000 mk2 has racked up 120,000 miles and I have just had to change the first non-consumable part. The water pump started to weep causing coolant loss.

My gripe with this car is not its reliability or build quality (both superb) but the cost of parts. The local Ford dealer wanted just over £100 + VAT for the water pump which seemed extortionate to me. I opted for a known brand pattern part for £70 which came with all the same guarantees. Looking at the part, I can't see why it costs this much. A simple metal casting with an impeller and a pully just like every other water pump, yet twice as expensive as on any other car I've owned.

But £70 in unscheduled maintenance over 120,000 miles is still a phenomenal achievement.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews