2001 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 6 of 13

2001 Ford Mondeo zetec 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Most recent distance52000 miles

Summary:

A most rewarding car that I have ever driven..supurb

General Comments:

This car is the most exciting car I have driven.

It gives a smooth performance at any speed with smooth gear sliding and excellent braking.

Occasionaly it does take a good 5 seconds to start as this does concern me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2005

2001 Ford Mondeo VERONA 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Don't Know
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Spoilt by faults and Fords attitude

Faults:

Hand brake recall first 12months.

C/V Joint nearside replaced gator full of water, but no splits 36,000 miles.

C/V Joint driver-side replaced gator full of water, but no splits 45,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

2001 Ford Mondeo ZETEC 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Gargantuan, powerful and simply brilliant

Faults:

The Mondeo seats attract dirt very quickly and can look well used.

The alloy wheels on the Zetec model are not the best in the world, probably due to the balances being on the outside of the wheel rather than the inside.

General Comments:

The Mondeo is very fast off of the mark and can compete with most cars for a top speed.

My model does 125mph with ease and could probably go faster.

It is a very comfortable ride and it holds corners very well.

The build quality is excellent and is strong from a safety aspect, plus the 6 airbags around the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th March, 2005

25th Apr 2006, 06:38

A girl in a mondeo at 125mph - no problem, you should see my wife.

It's a lovely, economical efficient family car that rates well with any other make in the same class.

3rd May 2006, 10:26

My God.

I've driven Mondeo 1.8i as a policeman, they're absolute rubbish, we've had to replace 2 engines in 3 years. They're dog slow and incapable of "power". The 2.0i models are much better, amazing how 200cc can make such a difference. Traffic units have the 3.0 V6, wonderful machine. How can you validate buying a 1.8i when you could enjoy the extra power of a 2.0?

24th Jan 2007, 07:52

I recently aquired a 2.0 Zetec Automatic on a 51 plate, and after years of driving a similar Nissan I am pleased at getting 40+ on a run, well done Ford.

10th Apr 2007, 09:05

After reading several comments, I feel I should add a few words. I own a 2.0 Zetec, and can say, from the heart, that for a 2 litre it is hatefully slow.

This replaced a Calibra 16v, which I wish I still had! The Mondeo won't do more than 120, with a 3 mile run up! Fifth gear is too long, it accelerates like a 1.3 from a standstill, it drinks fuel and the engine sounds awful.

It's that slow I almost get overtaken by wildlife!

Ford say this car should do 125, so how you got a 1.8 to do 125 is fantastic, please tell me how it's done!

As an ex Calibra driver, I feel anybody that can rate a mondeo must have only driven very very dull cars, like a Nissan Sunny for instance, as this is the only way a mondeo could be considered fast.

The old Calibra could beat ST24's and keep up with ST200's, and was capable of 148mph on the same 3 miles stretch of road.

Do yourself a favour, sell your mondeo and buy a real car, I know I will be, and I've not had it a month!

2001 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles

Summary:

Superb!!

Faults:

Air conditioning fault when purchased new. Resolved very swiftly by a second main dealer.

Rear brakes had binded twice due to design fault of brake pads.

Steering column replaced due to play in colum.

Finish on door handles could be better.

General Comments:

All in all a very reliable car that chewed up the mileage with ease.

Ford got it right with this model.

Far superior to old design.

Very good towing car pulls a large caravan with ease even when loaded with 5 people and a dog.

Interior very comfy. I could travel hundreds of miles in this car without feeling fatigued at all.

The handling on this car is superb considering it is a LX model.

The engine pulled liked a train in every gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews