1990 Ford Mustang Reviews

1990 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance300000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

After 24 years of ownership, it is part of the family

Faults:

Two clutch replacements and two transmission rebuilds.

Driver's seat back broke from repeated acceleration and high RPM shifts.

General Comments:

Extremely dependable; have changed the oil every 3000 miles since new.

The valve covers have never been off!

Have added under drive pulleys, ram air, headers and high performance exhaust. The last time at the drag strip was this past Sunday.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2014

1990 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Distance when acquired3700 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Future classic

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Just bought my 4th Mustang. This one is a 1990 LX with a 5.0. Love it. It only has 3700 miles and is in perfect condition. Bid from an estate sale. Paid more than I should have, but it's a perfect example of Mustang history.

Previously had a 67 289, a 79 2.8 V-6 (sucked) and an 88 4 cyl. Not quite up to the standards of the new ones, but we'll see how many of those have less than 4,000 miles in 21 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2011

25th Apr 2011, 22:07

Sounds really nice. I had a '90 5.0 and it had 17K miles on it when I bought it. I sold it with 42K miles and it still looked brand new. I can only imagine how nice yours is. Trouble is, I wouldn't even want to drive one with that low number of miles on it! Have fun with it... and take care of it. There are few really nice ones left.

1990 Ford Mustang LX 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Summary:

Well worth buying

General Comments:

I've had this car for over 11 years and have never had to do any major repairs. Nothing other than regular maintenance stuff. It has been my most reliable car. Parts are easy to acquire and reasonably priced, and pretty much anyone can figure out the mechanics of this Ford.

The only one issue I have is: the trunk is ridiculously small. It is VERY shallow - can't put a box of anything in the trunk!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2007

1990 Ford Mustang GT 5.0L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

The Mustang Convertible is my favorite car ever!

Faults:

Headlights flashing on and off; had to replace headlight switch.

The passenger side lockdown for the convertible top broke.

General Comments:

Very fast car, handles great.

Would have liked to have the same steering wheel as the 1987 GT Convertible, but tilt steering was not available on the 1990.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2007

1990 Ford Mustang LX 2.3L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200230 miles
Most recent distance200956 miles

Summary:

Good, solid, reliable car for not a lot of money

Faults:

When the car was purchased, the outside door handle on the driver's side was broken off, $15 from Salvage yard.

The Passenger side rear-view mirror was missing, $15 from salvage yard.

The car has a sunroof, but the hinges are broken, so you can't open it while driving. I'm assuming this is an aftermarket accessory, so it doesn't really matter much.

I suspect there's a slight leak in the heater core, as I can smell coolant when I first start the heater. I will have to look into that.

Minor rust on fenders near wheel-wells, but that is to be expected from just about any 14 year old car.

General Comments:

I purchased this car from a salvage yard to be a fixer-upper for $300, but I found the only things wrong with it were minor cosmetic items.

All in all, it's only cost me about $30 in repairs, and I find that it gets better fuel mileage than I could have hoped for, in the range of 23MPG city, 27MPG Highway.

For a $300 car that has over 200,000 miles on it, it's a very reliable car, and very enjoyable to drive. The car grips the road around turns, and stays stable at the higher Interstate speeds.

Despite the rust, the majority of the paint is still in good condition. A few minor dings here and there, but that's to be expected.

I am very pleased with my purchase. I was never much of a Ford person before, mainly because I've had a few lemons, but this little Mustang has turned out to be a very good investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2004

19th Dec 2004, 18:06

I was thinking this was a great review until I saw the distance when bought, and current distance. How about giving your 200,000 mile Ford more than a week before calling it 'very reliable'? Granted, for $300 if the car can even make it to the interstate it's something to be said... but 'very reliable' is pushing it.

29th Jul 2009, 01:21

I've had my Mustang 2.3L for one year with 130k miles on it and it is a very reliable car. It's an old car, so it needs daily care (like checking the fluids). But other than that, it is a great car for the money. And by the way I haven't seen any 20 year old Japanese cars on the road. It is my daily driver, sometimes I abuse it, whenever I have a chance and enjoy it everyday. Ford is the best for smart conscious people!!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews