1990 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1990 Ford Mustang LX 302 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 302 HO Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95360 miles
Most recent distance105972 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

This car will blow you away, a must for speed craving people

Faults:

Alternator.

Battery problems.

Battery wires get crust on them.

General Comments:

I have made some modifications, first of all the car is an LX Convertible, but the previous owner converted it into a GT by adding the ground effects.

I've added a K&N filtercharter, swapped the transmission from AOD to a T-5, added a King Cobra clutch kit, 3:55 gears, Cobra intake (a must), and a mild cam. Some NOS is on the way, hopefully a supercharger as well.

This car was quick when I got it, but since then it's got only quicker. Nice reliable car, wouldn't get rid of it for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

8th Apr 2001, 11:44

It sounds like you have a nice machine! I have done a lot of the same things and have a question. Did the King Cobra clutch gave you a very hard pedal feel??? dveloz1@hotmail.com.

19th Jun 2003, 23:17

I have a 1990 LX convertible and was wondering what improvements I could make to increase it's speed without spending much money.

Nickf93003@hotmail.com.

1990 Ford Mustang GT 302 HO 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 302 HO 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carPontiac Trans Am

Summary:

5.0: Best Mustang of all time

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is in great shape. The engine still has full power, and is extremely fun. Beats anything of its kind, and loves to eat imports!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

1990 Ford Mustang GT 302 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 302 HO Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired183000 kilometres
Most recent distance193000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

True American muscle

Faults:

I need to change the factory ball joint, plug wires, and battery connectors.

General Comments:

Great car! I have had nothing but fun with this car, it has lots of power with excellent fuel economy.

This car turns a lot of heads. The only down side is it attracts police like a donut shop. On the other hand it also attracts the women too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2000

1990 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

I like to fly low!

Faults:

The only things that I could say have gone wrong with my Stang is that I can not keep traction on the tires. Too much HP I guess? Ha ha ha!

General Comments:

My car has black sporting windows, tinted headlight covers and rides on 17 inch chrome cobra rims. Under the hood a few mods have been done - stage two nitrous kit cammed with a GT 40 intake (I highly encourage this purchase), K&N air filter and noise from the cat back exhaust. I highly recommend the HP enthusastic fan to purchase a Ford Mustang 5.0 87-93, the 94 on up is nothing but a joke!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

4th Jun 2001, 20:18

Hey,

I am a recent GT purchaser. I have been looking all over for the 4 lug Cobra R rims. If you have any suggestions, I would be most grateful.

Thanks a lot and I hope I enjoy mine as much as you.

Greg.

12th May 2002, 03:41

I have a better idea for rims: go for 5-bolt front hubs and 5-bolt axles. Then you can use the 5-bolt Cobra rims, plus the added strength doesn't hurt either, when you start upping the HP (From a '90 5.0 LX owner).

19th Mar 2008, 12:14

I will agree that a 94-98 is a joke, but definitely not the 99+ Mustangs. They have improved their 0-60 time over half a second over the old 5.0 liter 'Stangs from back in the day. The 5.0 from 1987-1992 only had 225hp (the 93's had 215hp), and the 99-04 Mustangs have 260hp thanks to the new PI heads. Nice try, though.

24th Jun 2008, 15:24

Actually the '93 was re-rated at 205 hp but was in reality the same as the 87-92 Mustang's 225 hp. They went to 215 in 94-98 with the 4.6L engine. The older 5.0 was a better engine then the 4.6 and was tough as nails. They had to discontinue them, however, due to the excessive emmissions with the 5-speed transmission.

1990 Ford Mustang LX 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort GT

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

Lifters, front wheel bearings, wear and tear on the top, transmission is slipping.

General Comments:

Fun car, fast car, no automatics allowed.....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2000

1990 Ford Mustang LX 5.0L - 302ci from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0L - 302ci Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous car- -

Summary:

High performance sports car for cheap cost, buy it! Very popular!

Faults:

I have replaced the struts, fuel pump, tires, air filter (high performance one, my choice), that is all.

General Comments:

I have added a lot of accessories to my car, such as high performance parts which is extra stuff you don't need unless you want it.

It is so reliable, I haven't had it break down on me or anything at all.

It's a great car if you don't like to pay gas money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2000

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 31 reviews