1996 Ford Mustang GT Convertible 4.6 litre from North America


GT Convertible: well worth the money


Passenger side power mirror inoperable (existing when purchased)

Relay for signals/hazards needed to be replaced ($13)

General Comments:

Overall, this is an excellent car for the money. This vehicle is a one-owner, southern mustang that has been well taken care of, so little problems exist. And the car, in itself, is in excellent condition. No major problems exist, except for what's been noted.

The performance is somewhat lackluster due to the weight & length of the vehicle, however the feel and the sound make up for it.

The smaller size of the gas tank and the fact that it's a V8 assumes a gas guzzler car although the car gets about 18 mpg in city/highway driving.

The 94-98 mustang V8 cars are worth the purchase if one can locate a car that's been well taken care of. And like any used vehicle purchase, always reference resources when available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005

1996 Ford Mustang Coupe 3.8 Liter from North America


Great for everyday driving - not racing


Transmission - Leaked fluid until I finally ran it dry. I wasnt aware of the problem until it began to make noises. After adding fluid, it lasted another month, and finally quit.

Odometer - Odometer and Tripmeter stopped functioning, but Speedometer and Tach still function. Could be expensive to replace?

Interior Problems - Parking brake handle is crooked, and caused the rubber seal to tear. Rattles at 95+ mph.

Exhaust - 1st Bank headers developed a hole and had to be welded/repaired. Also, above the CAT, the air condition drips on the exhaust pipe, causing another hole to form. Both fixed for $100.00.

General Comments:

Overall, the car isn't bad for a V6. I find that it has more power on the top end, especially in 4th gear on the interstate.

I have considered getting a CHIP to bypass the speed limiter, but I'm nervous because the car drifts a lot around 110 mph.

Next car will be a Ford Crown Vic (P71)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

9th Aug 2006, 20:51

"speed limiter"? I've taken my '96 up to 240kmh+ (149mph) on an upgrade, vainly trying to keep up with some "crotch rockets". I hate to think where the limiter kicks in. This is no German autobahn cruiser!

28th May 2007, 16:51

Why are you driving 95 MPH?

1996 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America


A beast with a touch of goodness!


Well what can I say about this car? It's a wonderful car. What a beast. I've never had any problems whatsoever with the car. Of course I take car of it changing the oil, filters, anti-freeze and etc.

General Comments:

The car contributes too many good things such as:

The car has 4.6 engine. Really Fast!

The car has a standard transmission. Makes it even Faster!

The car is good looking and attracts everybody's attention in the street.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

16th Jul 2004, 15:30

Um, OK, "really fast" Fast is a relative term. The 1996 Mustang GT came stock with 4.6 215HP motor. The car weighed 3450 lbs. This does not equal a fast car, sorry. But, it's always going to be a classic in its own right.

18th Sep 2004, 02:15

I have to agree. 215 horsepower is pretty pants from a 4.6 ltr engine. That's what you`d expect from a smaller Japanese 4 pot that is not only more efficient, but lighter and in a lighter car.

1996 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 Liter V8 from North America


Give it a 75 shot and you'll hang with Cobra's


Car is an absolute champion.

I race constantly, dropping the clutch.

At around 2800 revs - this car is the.

Best. All the Camaro's and Firebirds.

Get totally written off with this sort.

Of reckless disregard.

General Comments:

The car isn't quite as fast as I'd like it to be. Sure, its fast. I can take on most people with all motor engines and win. Cars with turbo's, such as the subaru WRX's tend to be me by about a car length on the quarter mile, but lower end sports cars like the Mitsubishi Eclipse (1997), owned by a mechanic and running 15 pounds of boost get a real good run for their money.

The best thing about this car is the reputation. People generally respect the mustang breed, "ooh you have a Mustang!?" Hard core import racers think it's a peice of crap, but that's because they get sick of seeing the tail lights as I pull in front of them after a thorogh sloughtering at the lights.

This car does not handle well. It has taken me a quite a few months to learn to maneuvre a rear wheel driven vehicle with a 4.6L liter motor in the front and very few pounds in the back.

Watch out for snow! I was really lucky a few nights ago when the car randomly went sideways as I was driving on a straight, in fourth gear at about 45 mph - putting along a 4500 revs.

If you like to do doughnuts, this is an awesome car. When you drop the clutch, you lose traction completely and are free to do whatever you want.

Unfortunately, the platform is quite old and the maneuverability isn't that great. Drifting and quick e-brake turns are a little hard, the handbrake is for parking in this car, nothing else.

Driving the manual is much like driving a truck. The clutch is nothing like that of a japanese vehicle. There is a very fine friction point, not a gradual release.

The first mod you should do is get either a Tri-AX or Pro 5.0 Shifter. There is a long throw with this vehicles shifter - that's OK though, I'm doing fine at the moment as its not really an issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003