1996 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1996 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance58500 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

My car turns heads and dusts any Camaro

Faults:

When I first got the car the whole transmission went out and had to be replaced. The dealer replaced it with a new 98' tranny under the warranty that we got, bumper to bumper 75,000 miles.

Since then I've had to perform only routine maintenance as per the owners manual.

General Comments:

This car is awesome.

If you are very tall, over 6'2" tall your legs will want more room, but other that that it's an awesome car.

I've added a lot of bolt-ons that have added about 60 hp+ without a supercharger. I added all of them myself without a problem and I'm no professional mechanic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

28th Mar 2001, 00:23

Dusts any camaro??? are you only comparing against a V-6?

1st May 2001, 18:57

Everybody knows a stock mustang will NOT beat a stock Camaro in the same class. A Z28 will whip any GT and an SS will beat a Cobra. That's all there is to it. If you look in any car magazine it will tell you this (excluding any Ford enthusiast mag).

1996 Ford Mustang LX 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78500 kilometres
Most recent distance83500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord LX

Summary:

For a V6, my car not only looks fast, but is fast!!!

Faults:

On hard acceleration to pass 3 transport trucks, I blew out the block heater (due to improper installation by the previous owner).

I also suspect the hose from the heater may have cracked at the same time, since I have a slow leak of coolant. Other than this, nothing!!

General Comments:

Upgraded to 16 inch GT rims (225/50 on the front, and 245/50 on the rear).

K&N filter, dual exhaust.

Also installed fog lights, head light covers, and a Cobra wing.

JVC stereo head unit with 12 disc changer in trunk, and 2 ten inch Sony X-plode subs with a ported Bandpass Box.

Plan to remove the air silencer, add better speakers, plugs, and a supercharger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2000

15th Jan 2001, 15:10

You should have just bought a Cobra.

10th Mar 2001, 11:39

Certainly would have been cheaper and a lot faster with the Cobra. A supercharger on the V6? Unless you've got some forged aluminum pistons and a new radiator lined up, I'm worried about the life expectancy of the motor. Then your transmission and then your differential. Mustangs, Camaros and Firebirds should only be offered with V8s - I stand by that. I never understood why anyone would spend so much money for a V6 "sports car" that lacks the acceleration required to be merely a ponycar.

12th Aug 2001, 13:21

Hey man, thanks for the motivation, I have a 94 V6 auto and it feels really slow. When I read things like this, I get motivated and I feel like there is hope. Don't misread me here, I love the car and I got it lookin pimp with two red stripes and tint and all the other custom crap I have done.

23rd Jun 2003, 00:32

Can someone help me out I just bought a 96 3.8 v-6 I want to do some mods, but I'm sure if I should cause the motor has high miles like 123,000 or something like that. I want to start with a supercharger. thank you.

1996 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 low output from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 low output Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Faults:

Due to all the problems with this car it has spent more time in the shop than I have spent driving it. It has been in the shop multiple times for transmission problems, it has a weak clutch and a weaker transmission.

The service that the factory warranty provides is a joke, it has so many stipulations that if you drive it it voids the warranty and you have to pay to fix it.

The computer has also went out a couple of times (or that is what they said to squeeze more money out of me?). And 3 02 sensors.

If you want a car with good performance that is cheap, shop for a different car.

General Comments:

If you want a 94-98 body style Mustang, go with a 95. I had one before a driver too old to see the stop sign took it from me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th November, 2000

31st Dec 2000, 22:06

You are pretty much on the mark with your comments regarding your Mustang. I too own one of these over priced mechanical problem children. We too have experienced many mechanical problems with this car, and additionally have experienced accessory problems as well, ie: replaced convertible top, several trim pieces, and much more.

Have sustained first gear clutch pack failure at approx. 24K miles, and is now showing signs of shuddering when shifting into OD (65K miles).

My biggest problem though has been with the white leather seats. Dealer replaced the driver's seat at approx. 30K miles for leather cracking and general deterioration. Personally would have preferred all the seats be replaced at that time, but the dealer said NO. Now at 65K miles I have seats that look like trash and FORD won't back me up. My next call is to the State Attorney as I feel this is an unresolved warranty problem.

11th Jul 2003, 06:33

I have had my 96 GT for 2 years now and I've had no problems with it until someone tried to steal it (2 times now in one year). Now the engine light came on, it seems as if who ever tried to steal it mess things up for me. But it was my favorite car, the speed and the look was wonderful. Any suggestions on a better car let me know.

1st Jan 2008, 00:20

Only problem I ever had with my 96 GT was the stupid plastic junky intake manifold cracked and coolant spewed everywhere, leaving me stranded. I love this car. It has paved the way for two other Mustangs for me. I love American rear-drive V-8s. Can't beat them.

1996 Ford Mustang Base 3.8 V6 manual from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

While under hard acceleration from a rolling start (approaching a red light that turned green) w/defroster on the heater bypass hose from the t.stat housing ripped open about 4 - 6" spewing coolant all over a hot engine. Not a pretty picture.

Also I've had to have paint repairs due to peeling paint at/behind rear license plate cutout and under the hood on the lf fender lip/edge.

General Comments:

Easy to upgrade, installed Mach 460 speakers in front doors, Mark VIII CD radio in place of cassette and Probe digital EQ in cubby below radio...KICKS

***

Installed Dual exhaust, 3.27 rear gears, K-N air filter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 1999

16th Mar 2001, 09:36

These cars are rather easy to upgrade! I am installing a K&N air filter in my car today and have previously added under pulleys and ram air! Piece of cake!

1996 Ford Mustang Cobra 4.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 4.6L
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Oil level warning indicator stayed on and was replaced. CD Player died and was replaced. All repairs were under warranty.

The only really annoying problem is with the tires. They leak air slowly and its not noticable. The tires look fine, but could go flat without warning due to very low air pressure. If you keep checking the air pressure every couple of months, you will prevent any potential problems.

General Comments:

This is basically a good "horse power for your dollar" kind of car. It gives similar or better performance than sports cars that cost almost double the price.

It would be even better if it had a higher ratio rear gear (4.10) and a stiffer suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 1999

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 24 reviews