1999 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1999 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 liter V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42514 miles
Most recent distance47586 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Not worth a penny

Faults:

My transmission is jerking into gear pretty hard, and my motor feel like it looses more and more power everyday. my stereo just stopped working the other day. the dealership replaced it, but they also rewired everything in my car and it still doesn't work. nobody can figure it out.

General Comments:

It's an alright car to have for semi performance. but for gas, insuance, and reliability the car sucks. I wish I had bought that type-r.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2006

26th May 2006, 21:43

1: Let a professional wire the car for a stereo next time.

2: Check your transmission fluid.

3: Check your oil.

4: Stop racing people.

5: Stop being a wannabe ricer.

26th May 2006, 22:34

Maybe if you changed the fluid and filter in the transmission maybe it wouldn't try burning itself up.

12th Sep 2006, 09:48

Sir I think that if you want to race then get a race car, but of course your going to have problems when you mess up your engine like that.

1999 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 SOCH from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOCH Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50500 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

I love my Mustang

Faults:

Fog lights burn out every 10,000 miles.

Plastic coolant intake cracked at 105,000. Replaced with aluminum version.

Water pumped started leaking at 100,000.

Passenger timing chain plastic guide rails wore out at 105,000.

Seat belts retention springs wore out at about 70,000.

Seat release for rear passengers broke off at about 70,000. Glued them back on.

Clutch quadrant broke at 90,000. This was probably due to a heavier clutch. Replaced with Steeda clutch quadrant.

AC compressor clutch wore out at 110,000. Broke compressor ring while replacing, replaced entire compressor.

Rear break wear out piston froze at 52,000.

Fuel pump died at 110,000.

General Comments:

Over all I love this car. The engine has survived everything I have done to it. I have dragged raced it in the 1/8th and 1/4 mile 15 times totaling over 100 runs. I drive it like I stole it almost every day. And at 120,000 with a 100 shot of NOS, I can still run a 12.2 in the 1/4 mile. This is the best car I have ever owned and I am not going to trade it in. I am going to keep it as a drag car.

It could be better and that is why I have made so many modifications, but I bought it for a little over 13,000 and it was a great buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

2nd Sep 2006, 06:29

Well sir, if you drag race a car and put a car under all that pressure, well you are going to have problems. A Mustang is not a car to be used in that kind of manner, and if you do use it like that, you need to expect problems. And plus a car is not perfect, things happen to it.

1999 Ford Mustang Coupe 3.8L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired76530 miles
Most recent distance76580 miles

Summary:

Nice car

Faults:

Needed engine sensor @ 76k miles $200.

Needed shocks readjusted due to previous owner being a dumbass and installing them so the wheels hit the body of the car. $500.

General Comments:

I love it, but hate the last owner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

1999 Ford Mustang V8 3.6L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 3.6L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carMerkur XR4Ti

Summary:

Find one that drives great from the start and you'll be happy

Faults:

Shockingly, and I'm knocking on wood while I'm writing this, but nothing has gone wrong with this car sans the typical maintenance items such as replacing the brakes and perhaps a rotor or two.

General Comments:

I needed a new car and stopped by a Ford dealership to see what was available. This was more an impulse buy as my Merkur at the time which I loved, was simply causing me too many headaches. Merkurs are more project cars, albeit somewhat cheap project cars, but I was at the point in my life where I just didn't want to deal with any extraneous 'projects' at the moment.

I originally was going to get another car altogether, but apparently what I was test driving was just "Sold" so I looked around and saw the 1999 Anniversary Mustangs. I thought for grins I would see what they could do. I owned a '65 Mustang when I was a kid and at times was scared to death of it due to it's horrid handling and awful seat ergonomics, but something for some reason told me to test drive one of these.

I picked the green one. It was horrible. Terrible sounding, sluggish feel to it, rocky boat like suspension. I turned around pretty quick during the test drive and went back to the dealership. I was kind of bummed as I actually enjoyed the ergonomics of the drivers seat. It felt like a cockpit with a tighter fit then previous cars I've had that fell into this category (Trans-Am, Iroc-Z).

As we got out of the car, the salesman said, "Well, there is this other white one here - same make and model - that is if you're still interested".

I had nothing to do that day - what the heck.

100% difference in every aspect of the ride. Apparently that green Mustang I drove must of not been checked out yet as this white one drove like my old Trans Am. The speed for a 6 cylinder was impressive and the suspension was excellent. I was literally blown away by how it drove and immediately purchased it.

To this day it still drives like a dream. The only thing I can really comment on is that compared to some other cars, the brakes are not as "touchy". Some people like that. With this car you have to push down a little more, nothing major and it could be due to the ABS which also works great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2005

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 27 reviews