1999 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1999 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A well balanced machine

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I can't stand the stupid holy wars between Chevy and Ford. If you like a Camaro or a Firebird - buy one and shut up. If you're 19 years old and want to drag race in the street, buy a Camaro.

The Mustang isn't the fastest sports car on the road - we all know that. For me, the difference is all about the way you feel when you drive a stang. I've driven a new Z28 - and it was fast as hell. For some reason, there just wasn't any pride for me in driving it. The Mustang is a balance of usable power, great looks, and an indescribable character that Chevy can't replicate on the production line.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

1999 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6 L Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired135 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

This car has problems, the dealers and Ford do not want them exposed, be careful driving it

Faults:

The exhaust makes a whining noise, the car has huge power losses and stalls out a lot under regular driving conditions.

The car also pulls to the side a lot, harder than it should while braking.

General Comments:

I have taken my Mustang in to the dealership to fix the problems listed above several times with no results. I have taken it to 2 different dealers and got the same results from both till this past friday 11/17/00. Now they say that it is a known Ford issue that the Mustang can stall out for no apparent reason and that they do not yet have a fix.

I had to take my case to the Attorny General of New Mexico just to get that answer which might I say is insane, so I'm supposed to just enjoy my stalling Mustang while they take their sweet time looking for a possible fix.

Warning to all, the Mustang is not all it seems and this is comming from a former very die hard Mustang enthusiast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

2nd Dec 2000, 12:47

The whining that you hear may be from the heater hose connect to the block. There is a restriction in them from the factory. I had to tell my dumb Ford dealer how to fix the problem. There may be a "TSB" by now.

You're right about the stall, but I only get it when the car is cold.

1999 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.6L V-8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired1135 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Get used to looking at the back of Chevy's

Faults:

Nothing major.

General Comments:

Bought my new GT and thought I had something fast. Jokes on me. This car gets smoked by every single Z28 and Transam I see. I think from now on I am switching camps and joining Chevy. Ford has done a great job of building another muscle car that gets its doors blown off in every race. Don't be fooled by other owners. Mustangs are great for some people but not me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

1st Dec 2000, 08:09

Do you know how to drive? I have a 98' Mustang GT and I can kick Camaro and Trans-Ams asses anytime.

14th Dec 2000, 15:46

You are comparing apples with oranges. Get a Cobra and then we'll see.

22nd Dec 2000, 18:51

I have a 94 Trans Am. I agree with you... kicked the living crap outta every Mustang I have ever raced. For the most part they've been 5.0L. Never have and never will be beaten by a Ford. PONTIAC FOR LIFE!!!!!!

1999 Ford Mustang 3.8 V6 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Great car for relatively little money

Faults:

Driver's seat adjustment. Nothing else.

General Comments:

Reliable car, quite economic and comfortable. No major problems. Silly that they limited it to 180 km/h, it has got enough reserve left, and in Europe it is possible to drive faster. Standard GoodYear tyres are awful. Fit Michelins or Dunlops, for much better roadholding.

Also quite silly that in Holland it is only available in red, green or black, and that the V8 is not sold here.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2000

1999 Ford Mustang from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

General Comments:

Too many controls and switches are awkwardly placed. If the car didn't come with a manual or instructions, it would take a whole day to figure out where all the buttons are! Transmission gear and gas lever are placed too far away. Making it difficult for short drivers to reach them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 1999

1999 Ford Mustang GT 4.6 SOHC V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 4.6 SOHC V8
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Brand new: coolant spill-tank hose not attached properly, paint not quite perfect, door weather seal not seated properly (had to be removed and straightened). The car has been recalled once for wiring re-routing. No running problems at 4500 mi.

General Comments:

Pros: surprisingly strong acceleration (better than the stock 5.0) rated at 14sec (1/4mi) 5.5sec 0-60mph. Superb handling (with 17" tires), superb braking. A bit low on torque under 3000rpm (relatively of course, still a V8), but above waoohh!

Cons: Slippery seats (leather), overrated premium sound system, slow gear box, ackward seat design. But a hell of car for $21000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 1999

1999 Ford Mustang LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 3.8
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

Transmission rebuilt at 180 miles (We only had it 3 days!!!) Dealer bumped the car with another and scratched the rear bumper while fixing the trans. Used touch up paint that didn't match to fix it. Did put 60 miles on the car before they gave it back. Almost as many as we did.

General Comments:

This is the second Mustang I have owned and, although I like the styling and performance, Ford quality seems to be lacking. After four years the drivers door on my 1988 Mustang fell off the car!!! I had to have the hinges welded back on!! This type of thing should never happen. Mechanical failures are one thing but body parts falling off after 4 years or transmissions needing a service after 3 days is NOT QUALITY JOB ONE!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 27 reviews