1991 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 5 of 9

1991 Ford Probe LX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance137000 kilometres

Summary:

Extremely good car for the money

Faults:

Right Front Axle broke - Had to replace.

Timing Belt Tensioner put a knick in the timing belt - Replaced Tensioner, but did not have to replace timing belt.

Master Brake Cylinder - Brakes very soft and had to press pedal to the floor to stop - Was replaced.

Car pulls to the left quite drastically - some front end work that will have to be done.

General Comments:

Car has been fairly good. Problems have not them too bad and easy to replace.

Pretty fast for a "luxury car". Able to beat those civics.

MPG is good.

Lumbar seats are nice, but the 4 seater maybe be too small for larger people in the rear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2004

1991 Ford Probe LX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance194000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Fast and Dependable

Faults:

The Starter had to be replaced at 180,000 miles.

One CV joint (right side) had to be replaced at 192,000 miles.

General Comments:

I used to own a 1970 Nova with a hopped up 327, 3/4 race cam, headers, etc, etc... The Nova was FAST.. But I have to say, This Probe would eat it's lunch. This is the fastest car I have ever owned at 85 MPH in an 1/8 of a mile. I can't' tell you what it will do in a 1/4 cause it's only Reg. 95!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

7th Jul 2005, 22:04

There is absolutely NO WAY a Probe LX was going that fast. Or any Probe, for that matter.

19th Sep 2008, 17:08

I own a 1991 probe LX and every time I push the gas all the way down it doesn't hesitate to speed up like other cars.

1991 Ford Probe LX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

Ideal sports car

Faults:

Only problems I ever had with this car were accident related-so if the accident hadn't happened, car would have been without faults to me.

Not so great gas mileage in town. Like 23-25 miles per gallon. Road trips were better, I got around 30 miles to the gallon.

General Comments:

I loved this car! It was my baby and I treated it good. I knew this car inside and out.

In the following years, I did owned a 1994 Ford Probe GT and I actually preferred my 1991.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2004

1991 Ford Probe LX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A reliable car if you take care of it

Faults:

Exhaust flex pipe needs replaced.

Rear brake calipers were replaced.

Radiator is leaking coolant.

General Comments:

This has been the most reliable car I have ever purchased.

I now have 198,000 miles on the car.

Car is somewhat expensive to repair, but not much has ever gone wrong with it.

It's a semi-fast car, but the transmission slips when cold. But if driven easily, I do not see changing the transmission anytime soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

1991 Ford Probe GL from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles

Summary:

A good first car

Faults:

The radiator blew shortly after I bought the car. My battery also needed to be replaced.

My brakes have failed once.

My windshield wipers fell off and broke.

General Comments:

My Ford Probe was my first car. I paid about 1,000 for it.

Shortly after I bought it my radiator went. My car also had a considerable amount of rust on it as all Ford's do.

I found that it didn't have the best acceleration on it. My car could only go about 95 miles an hour.

The interior was in nice condition and still is.

Overall I would recommend this car to anyone. It's a very smooth ride and I think it is worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

1991 Ford Probe LX 3.0 liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong yet. I just got the car 3 weeks ago.

General Comments:

I had an older ford probe (1990) with the 2.2 4 cylinder with an automatic transmission and it went out with 100,000 miles on it. Other than the transmission problems, the probe is a very good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

1991 Ford Probe LX 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Probes just might grow on you...

Faults:

Power antenna doesn't want to fully extend.

Taillights leaked water into "trunk" floor. I fixed that by running a bead of silicone between the taillights and body.

Rust is beginning to peek out on the A pillars and the bottoms of the doors. Rust around the sunroof lets drips in.

Outer CV boots tore open. I had to put a speedy boot on the left side CV joint because we could NOT get the shaft to come out. So far so good with that.

Left headlight hinge stuck, the retractor motor heated up and drained the battery. I temporarily fixed it by leaving the headlights in the "up" position. An altercation with a deer gave me the opportunity to remove the fender and fix the problem by simply lubricating the hinge.

The rear window wiper only works when it wants to. The cigarette lighter circuit has a short in it, so I leave out the fuse to keep the battery from draining.

General Comments:

I bought the car from the original owner down in Flat Rock, MI where it was assembled. It was clean and cared for. It had 80,000 mi on it then. I've put 50,000 on it since.

The five-speed shifter is a bit rubbery for my liking.

I enjoy the movable "dash pod" feature, the big sunroof and the retractable headlamps.

The LX is well appointed compared to the cheaper GL, with little details like the leather wrapped steering wheel and nicer upholstry that the base model doesn't have.

The rear disc brakes don't work as efficiently as I expected. The car isn't as stable in snow or ice as I'd hoped for either. Some of the blame goes to the tires, though.

You can fit a heap of stuff in the hatch with the rear split seat folded down.

There is no room for adults in the back seat.

People say their Probes are fast. I guess mine would be too, with the V6 and all. But anyone who has been around really fast cars will tell you that Probes aren't quite in that league. They look faster than they are. That's not a bad thing. I get a kick out of their late eighties "gee whiz it's the car of the future" persona. As a testament to that, I don't think they look all that out of date today. The hood bulges that are there for shock tower clearance are a fun touch. I believe Probes had set a production car record for drag coefficient when they were introduced (correct me if I'm wrong).

I hate passive restraint seat belts, mine haven't broken yet.

Steer clear of Probes with automatics. I've heard several instances where people just gave up on their Probes due to tranny troubles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2003

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 40 reviews