1991 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1991 Ford Probe GT turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

I'm sure in its day it was a good car, but I would not recommend buying one to anyone.

Faults:

Transmission blew out first week we had it. Cost $3100.00 to repair.

Car is now waiting on the following things to be replaced: Steering Rack Assembly, Exhaust Manifold & Front Flex Pipe, Valve Cover Gaskets, Coolant Line to Turbo, Upper & Lower Radiator Hoses, Timing Belt & Front Seals, and Front Struts. Lowest estimate we have is $2535.42!

General Comments:

This was my teenage daughter's 16th birthday present from her grandparents.

It has turned out to be a nightmare!

It has been in the shop more than it has been on the road.

As cute as it is, it has been a major disappointment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

3rd Mar 2003, 08:33

Possibly, the reason you have had so many problems with your car, is the previous owner, and not the car itself. Perhaps the previous owner did not take care of the car, and thus you are paying the reparations of their mistakes. If you stick with the car, and choose to fix it, take care of it, and problems will be far and few between.

1st Oct 2005, 14:25

To whoever reads this. I have a 1989 Ford probe turbo. Given the age of the car it is not unusual to have so many things go wrong with it. With your repair bill totaling so far over $2000 it would have been cheaper to replace entire items such as the transmission (used from junk yard). Most cars are reliable to within 10 years, once you pass that mark be prepared to pay for part replacement. Or... learn to do the work yourself and avoid the labor fees.

1991 Ford Probe LX 2.2L injection from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L injection Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carToyotta Corolla

Summary:

High maintenance

Faults:

Rear end of car makes a horrible clunking noise... not good!

Car stalls when I'm in drive, I have to put in neutral and push on the pedal to keep it running.

General Comments:

Inside of the car is very nice, and I like the body style, speed not too bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

26th May 2004, 23:37

Do some maintenance on the car and it won't stall. Change the plugs, wires (if applicable), fuel and air filters. It shouldn't stall. If it does, you could have injector problem (s). Or the idle air control (IAC) valve is toasted and isn't keeping the idle high enough.

1991 Ford Probe GL 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95021 miles
Most recent distance103686 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Not quiet the power of a sleeper, but don't just let this one go by

Faults:

Engine threw a rod at 102,000 miles.

Headliner is loose as of purchased date.

General Comments:

Flooring this car will really prove something to those who are skeptical. This 4-cylinder, 12 valve, 2.2 liter, automatic has plenty of pep and will go.

The body of this car is simple and forms together like a piece of modern art.

The cabin, although small, has all the room you need to remain comfortable.

All controls are placed perfectly, so that they all can bee reached easily from the driver's seat.

The gages are simple, and right in front of your face, so there is no confusion on what is what.

Leg room in the back may be hard to find, but if done right, it can easily hold 5.

Don't let anyone tell you a 2-door hatch back has no cargo space. With the back seats folding down, one can easily fit a 7 piece drum kit, along with a couple of guitars and microphone stands.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2003

1991 Ford Probe GL 2.2L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired146061 miles
Most recent distance147052 miles

Summary:

A great car all around

Faults:

The exhaust pipe needed changing. The cooling system had a leaky gasket, but that was easy to fix. When I first bought it the stereo was shot, but that was simple to replace.

General Comments:

The car runs great it has always started the first try. There is no problems with power it's quick on the gas and hardly uses any either. It is a very good starter car for anybody just learning to drive, and for what I got it for easy on the wallet too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

1991 Ford Probe GL 2.2 nonturbo from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 nonturbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles

Summary:

An inexpensive performance machine

Faults:

Haven't had to do any work on it, but I have put performance into it. I.e. Put M.S.D ignition in it, 8.5 m.m. wires and of course plugs.

General Comments:

This car is a very dependable. I have yet to find a flaw with it. No Honda can take it here. It could use some better seats though. My butt starts to hurt after long periods of driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 40 reviews